We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot for a quiet getaway”
Review of Island Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Island Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We wanted a place where we could get away from the stress of every day life. Island Bay Resort was the PERFECT place. Mike and Carol have done a wonderful job of making it possible to really get away from it all. We were there last weekend and I would love to go back today. We stayed in Cottage #4, Bridges. It was well laid out with everything we needed. We spent our days on the quiet beach, and though the resort was full every night we were there it seemed like we had it all to ourselves. The only time you felt like there were other people there was when we all gathered on the dock and beach to witness the amazing sunsets. Mike and Carol gave us great recommendations for eating out, and when we wanted to rent stand up paddleboards for the day, helped us to find a person to deliver them right to the beach! We also spent a lot of time out on the kayak that Mike and Carol have there for the guests to use. There are two kayaks and snorkeling equipment as well. The hammocks, cabana, and many beach chairs and adirondack chairs spread all over in little corners to give guests a quiet spot to escape.

I cannot say enough about how wonderful our time at Island Bay was, we would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to spend a few days in a little slice of heaven!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dudeswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (709)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

413 - 419 of 709 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

This resort gave us a nice quiet break from the hectic pace of everyday life. The hosts were amazing in making sure our stay in the Keys was perfect.

The sunsets were amazing at the waterfront, and the grounds were very well kept.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rambling_Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The owners did a great job creating an oasis of calm just off US1. Once you are in the resort, you feel so far away from the traffic and enter into a beautiful resort. The cottage, while not spacious, was well designed, and the space was used very efficiently. We especially enjoyed our private deck, and the waterfront views from Cottage 1 (ask for this room, it is worth it), or you can just so sit at the well appointed tiki hut, or sleep on the hammock. The bed was super comfortable. Kayaking is also available. The rooms were cleaned every day. The owners, Mike and Carol, made great recommendations for what to do and where to eat. They were really great hosts and made us feel so welcome. You can see all their attention to detail. We will definitely return to this wonderful resort for future visits. One small suggestion, ti would be nice to have packs of coffee in the room for breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JAC_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My good friend and I came to stay at the Island Bay Resort in Key Largo. We needed a mommy vacation (time away from the kids). We left our kids with their Dad's. We went in the beginning of November 2012. I have to say, this is the BEST resort I have ever stayed at!! Mike and Carol were so friendly and always answering any questions we may have. They gave us great information on where to hang out and where to eat. They are very down to earth people. The resort is spotless and very well thought out in it's design! Every detail is so perfect!! The room was immaculate and very well decorated! Mike took all the pictures you see in the rooms. They have a private little beach with lounging chairs, umbrella and tables all over. They also have kayak's to take out on the water for free and some games to play outside. We stayed there for four nights. The first two we stayed at the resort the time. The last two days we ventured out and we said to each other "we should of never left the resort". So we went back and stayed there. It is true paradise!!! I will definitely be back someday with my husband! Thank you Mike and Carol for this amazing experience!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I wanted to find a relaxing place to spend the week in between Christmas and New Years. We found just the place.The Island Bay Resort has 10 little cottages, all a little different in size, layout and decor. Each has it's own patio with table, chairs and a grill. Each cottage comes equipped with a refrigerator, stove, microwave, toaster, plates and utensils., To speak more about our cottage, it had a nice table and chairs in the kitchen area, and a king size bed, armoire, a sofa in the bedroom area and a flat screen TV . The bedroom was separated from the kitchen area but didn't have a door closing off the kitchen from the bedroom. The bathroom in cottage #10 is a very nice size.The entire cottage was spacious. The interior was very clean. The grounds were beautiful and the owners, Carol and Mike do a fantastic job at keeping those grounds clean and well kept. There is ample parking across from all the units. Island Bay has its own private beach for their guests only, with chairs and hamocks and little huts with comfortable chairs in them if you prefer to stay out of the sun. They offer kayaks, a Bocce Ball court, and a Corn Hole set on the grounds.
Upon walking into our little cottage at arrival we found 2 beach towels, two pink hibiscus flowers and a chocolate on our bed. Also music playing. We felt that all of this was a lovely touch to make you feel welcome. The owners are a married couple and have been the owners since 2000. They are very helpful. They gave us a list of all their favorite restaurants in the area. We tried many of them. In the Keys the restaurants, shops and attractions are located by Mile Markers. We will definitely return. We highly recommend Island Bay Resort.

Room Tip: There are different accommodations and it just depends on your needs. Cottage #10 and cottage #9 ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jcs45241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Island Bay Resort was the perfect place for my husband and me to spend our last vacation before the birth of our first child. The location is just south of Key Largo in Tavernier. It is a smaller sort of resort, but this then means it is quieter - which is just what we wanted. The beach was a matter of feet away from the door of our room. There were ample lounge chairs on the beach, umbrella and cabana areas, adirondack chairs on the dock. They had a single and double kayak for guests to use. There was corn hole and bocce ball. There are lockers for dive gear if you want to scuba - that way you don't have to bring your gear into your room. There was also laundry machines right outside our room so of you ran out of clean clothes, no big deal, clean ones in no time. The location is very near to several good restaurants, local grocery store, movie theater, marinas, state park. We were there over Christmas, and Mike and Carol (the owners) had printed up a list of restaurants that would be open for Christmas. They were very helpful in recommending places to see, restaurants, good places to snorkel, etc. Overall, we were very pleased with our stay at Island Bay Resort and would highly recommend it. Thank you Mike and Carol for making our Christmas in the Keys Vacation so wonderful!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Zoe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Property was well- appointed and clean inside and out. Hosts Mike and Carol were friendly and very helpful in addition to being very knowledgeable about the keys. Their recommendations on restaurants and attractions were excellent. The room was extremely clean and charmingly decorated - we stayed in the room known as "Bridges" as the numerous pictures within paid homage to the various bridges of the Keys. Small bayside beach area is very tastefully appointed and lends itself to peaceful naps, quiet conversation or quality reading time. We couldn't give the Island Bay Resort a higher recommendation.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank esmarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavernier
0.5 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,394 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
663 reviews
4.9 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 20 in Key Largo
1,586 reviews
7.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
9.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Bay Resort

Address: 92530 Overseas Highway, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070-2758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range: $256 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Bay Resort provides you with a complete "Florida Keys experience." Our hotel is centrally located between Key Largo and Islamorada and just two hours from Key West and Miami. Enjoying your Florida vacation is easy. Swimming, snorkeling, kayaking, boating and sunbathing can all be enjoyed from our resort's beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Island Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Bay Hotel Tavernier
Island Bay Tavernier
Island Bay Resort Key Largo/Tavernier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing