We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Laid Back Upper Keys” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tavernier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island Bay Resort
Save
You added Island Bay Resort to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Laid Back Upper Keys”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at the Island Bay. We had cabin #7, which had a bedroom, sitting room, kitchenette, and bathroom. There is a small private porch with table and sun umbrella and a BBQ. After the first night, we went to the nearby Winn Dixie grocery store (just a couple of miles away) and bought food so we didn't have to eat out. We grilled shrimp and snapper on our porch and relaxed in the evenings. Our daughter slept on the pull-out sofa in the living room.

The pluses here are many: it is relaxing, it is very quiet and peaceful. There was no noise audible from adjoining rooms. The beach area is clean, calm and inviting. The beach is man-made (no nice soft sand as in a natural beach) and has no waves. That said, you can snorkel in the lagoon: there are fish, small lizards (shy...no worries), and an iguana.

The best things are the helpfulness of the two innkeepers (ask their expert advice!) and the tranquil outdoor areas. There is no pool, so if that is important to you, consider carefully. Also, you must buy everything to stock your fridge (no coffee provided, no coals for the BBQ, no condiments). Finally, you can hear some road noise in the cabins closer to the road (7, 8, 9, 10) Still, I would very much consider staying here again on my next trip to the Keys.

Room Tip: Room 1 has ocean view, but room 7 has separate sitting room/ bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Voyageur100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    50
    12
    0
    1
See reviews for
47
458
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oneonta, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We loved everything about our visit to Island Bay Resort. The room was very comfortable and had character. We loved all the wildlife we saw on the grounds and in the bay!! We enjoyed sitting our deck to listen and watch the birds and lizards. Sunset was a special time of day, all of the guests would gather to watch the sunsets-a very nice way to end the day. Carol and Mike were so helpful in suggestions for restaurants and places to visit. All in all it was a great vacation!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frugalgoodies
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Mmmm. Where to start? We stayed 4 nights in #7. It was a 1BR cottage. Nearly full size fridge, 4 burner stove with oven. Convient little cooler for day trips. Nice sized living room with 32" flat screen TV (which we barely watched). Paperbacks, magazines to take to the beach.

The property is immaculate. We loved the Tiki house for the occasional shower to escape and play some cards and still be outside looking at the water!

Good snorkeling right off the dock. My wife saw horseshoe crab, baby baracuda, a small nurse shark, various other fish. Snorkeling gear is free and provided. We also took advantage of the free use of a two person kayak to get out on the water.

Used the Weber grill nearly every night.

What makes this place special are the owners Mike and Carol. Always quick with a smile and aiming to please. An example? Our coffee pot stopped working and we a new one in 15 minutes. Another? Carol printed our boarding passes for us from their office. NOW THAT IS SERVICE!

Would we return? If we had a choice, we would have never left.

Room Tip: It's worth it to spend the extra to get a 1BR cottage in our opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank frugalgoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, VA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights around the 4th July. Overall the resort is very nice. The grounds are very well kept and there was always room on the sand for people to spread out a bit and not get in anyones way. The lounges, umbrellas and Tiki huts were always available.
We stayed in Cabin 2 and it was very nicely decorated. The room was clean but quite small. The air conditioning was a wall unit above the bed which was pretty noisy to sleep under, and the temperature meant that you really had to keep it on all night or get very hot.
The provision of a small weber grill was nice to be able to cook outside.
The resort manages to make traffic seem a long way away, even if is only 300 feet at the most. It is pretty quiet and peaceful which was nice.
The owner provides recommendations for almost all activities, although we discovered that the list of recommendations was pretty small in comparison to the number of options, especially as far as restaurants went. We ate at a number of good places including a pub (Dillon's Pub and Grill) about 0.25 miles further along the highway, next to the Winn Dixie supermarket. We also went to The Lorelei Restaurant in Islamorada, which was a must for sunset, the Island Grill in Islamorada, which was also very good and Marker 88 in Islamorada, which was more expensive but the food was excellent. All good choices!
Overall I enjoyed the stay at Island Bay, although I think it was a little on the expensive side for what you got. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. The location suited us as it was close to a lot of activities but out of the way enough that it wasn't hectic.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lj202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

My daughter and I have driven to the Keys for an excellent adventure, and I'm sitting in #9 as I write this. This place is squeaky clean, Carol is super nice, and we are quite content! This is a tiny little 10 unit property, with a pocket private beach and dock. We have a whole notebook of things to do put together by our hosts. They also gave us a list of good local eateries. They had island music and hibiscus flowers and chocolate flip-flops in our room when we checked in. We went out to eat and when we got back, the tiki lamps were lit outside each cottage, and there were candles on the little beach as well. These hosts obviously love what they do. They did help us cheerfully after office hours, too. Be aware that this property is on the bay side of the island.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank aernest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here in in late May for one night on our way down to Marathon. As owners of the Sabal Palm House Bed and Breakfast in Lake Worth, Fl. we know how much work goes into keeping a property in top shape. Our cottage was exactly as pictured and perfectly clean. Every inch of this resort is clean and well kept. We loved watching the sunset with our drinks on the beach just down from our cabin. When we came back from dinner we sat outside and watched the moon while looking at the fish swimming up to the dock by the lights. We had a great night's sleep and woke up to make breakfast in a well appointed kitchen. We were sorry we didn't book more nights but we will return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sabalpalmhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at Island Bay resort and loved every minute of it. It is very quaint and quiet. The owners are very friendly and accommodates your needs. The property is beautiful and well maintained. It is only steps from the water. We felt at home here. The rooms are very clean and you are able to cook small meals. We ate breakfast in room to save money. We were very close to fantastic restaurants. You will need a care to get around. I will definitely stay at this resort again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank scubajenn2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavernier
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#4 of 18 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 stars 2,976 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dove Creek Lodge
Dove Creek Lodge
#2 of 18 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 stars 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
11.2 mi away
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
5.3 mi away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#5 of 18 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 stars 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Bay Resort

Property: Island Bay Resort
Address: 92530 Overseas Highway, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070-2758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Bay Resort provides you with a complete "Florida Keys experience." Our hotel is centrally located between Key Largo and Islamorada and just two hours from Key West and Miami. Enjoying your Florida vacation is easy. Swimming, snorkeling, kayaking, boating and sunbathing can all be enjoyed from our resort's beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island Bay Hotel Tavernier
Island Bay Tavernier
Island Bay Resort Key Largo/Tavernier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing