We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Paradise Found!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tavernier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island Bay Resort
Save
You added Island Bay Resort to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Paradise Found!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Perfect location to stay for your entire Keys visit. Much to see and do; yet, so nice to come "home" to the beautiful little tranquil beach. Key West, approximately 90-miles south, is a great day trip from here. Carol & Mike have truly made this wonderful little resort a slice of paradise!

Room Tip: Stayed in Cottage #10; very clean; very lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    49
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
43
451
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

I did not stay there but canceled well in advance. I found the fees onerous, so here are their words, without further editorials. They charge your deposit immediately and do indeed enforce cancellation fees.
"For your deposit, we have charged $212.63 to your credit card for your 1st night’s stay at Island Bay Resort and we will give you the receipt when you get here. The balance is due at check-in. To avoid losing your deposit, a 14-day notice is required to cancel or change your arrival or departure date. A $25 fee will be charged for all cancellations and date changes made more than 14 days prior to arrival. If you reduce the length of your stay within 14 days of your arrival you will be charged 1 additional night as a penalty. If you change your departure date while staying here we cannot refund the remaining days to you unless we can rebook those days to another guest."

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
19 Thank frequently_away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012 via mobile

This place is a real gem. My husband and I were traveling to the Keys over spring break and planned to spend the first 3 days at Island Bay then travel a bit further south...we wish we had just left this as our home base. The grounds are immaculate and the room was soon comfortable-great beds-and everything there that you would need including corkscrew and glass wine glasses for wine with the sunsets. The owners suggestions for everything from places to eat or vendors to use were all spot on. We rarely repeat a trip-there are so many great places to visit-but we are planning our next trip here again!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Robin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
Level Contributor
62 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed for a week in cottage #9 and our friends stayed in cottage #1. Mike and Carol were great offering advice on restaurants and things to do. Very nice and relaxing environment. Loved all the choices for seating on the beach. We would definitely recommend this place if you want a nice quiet environment without all the trappings of a big resort. We sat out several nights and had drinks while watching the sunset. Grocery store and liquor store are close by. Lots of great restaurants in the area.
If we return to the area we will stay here again!

Room Tip: get as close the the beach as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank orchidloverLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, Vermont
Level Contributor
185 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

It is all about the people who own the resort. They do a terrific job with anything you need, the place is neat and clean. Read a book, check out the sea, swim whatever just a great relaxing resort.

Room Tip: People mention different rooms to get , personally I think all are just fine. Don't stress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank v1960t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Absolutely! We'd stay here again in a heartbeat and would recommend that others do too. We stayed for only one night, but wish we'd had many more. We were in room 5, the Bahia Honda, and it was perfect. Yes, a little kitschy, but the cleanliness and attention to detail (the flowers and Jimmy Buffet music! chocolates! charcoal grills!) was out of this world! The entire resort was lovely, and I only wish we'd gotten to experience a sunset from their little private beach. The beach had plently of chairs and games; it looked like a wonderful place to relax. The hosts were both wonderful, caring people. I so wish we could have stayed longer, and look forward to visiting again as soon as possible (and hopefully we'll get to see the cats this time too!).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

This was our first trip to the Keys. When we saw the reviews on Trip Advisor we said to ourselves, even if is not everything they say it won't be that bad, and we where not disappointed at all. Check-in was no hassle. We stayed in cottage 3, the attention to detail in the room showed how much the owners cared about your stay. From the Carribbean music playing upon arrival, local home-made chocolates placed on your bed, to the spectacular photography that was decorating the cottage. One of the most importance factors we consider when traveling is cleanliness, and it was very clean. The cottage has a small cooler to hold some drinks so this was helpful to bring to the beach to watch the beautiful sunset.The resort is private for guests only, quite, and perfect to decompress. The beach is kept neat and clean, there are plenty of chairs, hammocks, and umbrellas. You can use kayaks, snorkeling gear for free. They have bocce ball and bean bag toss. The layout of the resort is tranquil with all the palm trees. Loved our stay here and looking forward to coming back.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tackandjibe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavernier
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 stars 329 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#4 of 17 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 stars 2,931 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dove Creek Lodge
Dove Creek Lodge
#3 of 17 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 stars 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
11.2 mi away
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
4.3 mi away
Hilton Key Largo Resort
Hilton Key Largo Resort
#9 of 17 in Key Largo
3.5 of 5 stars 3,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Bay Resort

Property: Island Bay Resort
Address: 92530 Overseas Highway, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Bay Resort provides you with a complete "Florida Keys experience." Our hotel is centrally located between Key Largo and Islamorada and just two hours from Key West and Miami. Enjoying your Florida vacation is easy. Swimming, snorkeling, kayaking, boating and sunbathing can all be enjoyed from our resort's beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island Bay Hotel Tavernier
Island Bay Tavernier
Island Bay Resort Key Largo/Tavernier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing