We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hideaway”
Review of Island Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tavernier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oxford, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great little hideaway”
Reviewed April 9, 2011

We chose this place for a long weekend getaway from the cold and snow in Michigan based on reviews and ratings here on tripadvisor. We're glad we did. What a cute, cozy hideaway! We loved the location in Tavernier...far enough from Key West to be quiet and serene yet with a convenient shopping center nearby for anything you may need. There is a cute little beach with comfy loungers and even though there was no vacancy during the time we were there, we never saw more than two other couples on the beach at a time. The only negative is the sea grass close to shore. Definitely bring water shoes if you want to do anything more than cool off in about 2 feet of water. The sand bocce court was fun...a great way to enjoy the warm, sunny weather. The room was very nice. Super clean with lots of "homey" touches including fish and manatee artwork everywhere. The bed was one of the most comfortable we've encountered away from home. The kitchenette came in handy as we chose to prepare most meals in the room rather than going out. Be aware that if you like to have coffee in the morning, you will need to bring your own. While the rooms have coffee makers, the coffee was not supplied as we've become used to at common hotels. This is not a big deal since there is a supermarket just a mile or so away. We did go out for lunch the day we arrived. Mike and Carol suggested Chad's Deli within walking distance. Great sandwiches...so big we brought half home with us for lunch the next day.

Mike and Carol have done a great job with this place. It was just what we needed to get away and decompress for a few days. We'll definitely go back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandylovnsandals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    55
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
54
508
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2011

Island Bay Resort is rated #1 for good reason. We stayed there 3 nights as part of a week-long trip to the keys. It was quiet, clean, and quite restful. There is a private beach on which you can relax, read, and enjoy the sunset over the Florida Bay. Mike and Carol are both graduates of Texas A&M, and they remember the warmth and hospitality that Texas and the Aggies are known for. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrbdcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2011

This place deserves all the great reviews it has on Trip Advisor. We have stayed in a number of hotels up and down the Florida Keys and this place is one of our new favorites. The cottages are so beautiful and well cared for. Everything was sparkling clean and all the nice extra touches are there too, from extra beach towels to chocolates left on the pillow (delicious!). We checked in early (no problem), thoroughly enjoyed ourselves hanging out by the beach in the padded beach chairs, watched a beautiful sunset and then went and had a great dinner. We enjoy staying in Tavernier because of all the great places to eat and the fact that there is a movie theater there (in case of rain!) and this will be our go to hotel from here on out!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnArborAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2011

Exactly as reviewed by the majority of people who have stayed here. Clean, comfortable, great value and lots of character.

The attention to detail by the owners is amazing, Great place to stay while visiting the keys.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slungo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

The Island Bay Resort is a hidden gem. We had initially thought of using this as a base for exploring throughout the upper and middle keys during our three-night stay. But we so enjoyed just simply relaxing in this picturesque and serene place that we didn’t venture very far at all. There are only 10 cottages, so there are no crowds of tourists to contend with. The private sandy beach has an assortment of hammocks, beach lounge chairs, and thatch-roof covered tables for peaceful afternoons. The chairs on the dock are great for enjoying the gorgeous sunsets. The grounds have a very tropical feel, with many varieties of beautiful palm trees and flowering plants. Each of the cottages has a unique theme décor. We stayed in the Sunsets Cottage, and it was fun to see how many different sunset-related items we could spot. The furnishings of the cottage made us feel that we were actually staying in someone’s personal guest house, with all of the personal touches including filled bookshelves and spectacular framed photographs taken by innkeeper Mike. Along with his wife Carol, these two hosts were terrifically friendly and hospitable, and knowing the area so well they were able to provide great suggestions for things to do and places to eat. During our three days at the Island Bay Resort, we became so comfortable and relaxed that it was difficult to leave. On our next visit to the Keys, we will definitely want to return here and stay longer.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnesotaTwinsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
augusta
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2011

We've been guests at Island Bay Resort for many years. The gracious hosts, Mike and Carol, always go above and beyond to make our stay comfortable and memorable. Each year there are new upgrades in the room or improvements to the beautiful property. We travel throughout Florida, Mexico, and New England and really enjoy that this resort is cozy, quiet, and romantic. If your are looking for an escape where you can enjoy sunshine, a private beach and a gorgeous view in an individually decorated cottage with the one you love... then I recommend Island Bay Resort. On the other hand, if you like crowded pools, noisy bars, and standard hotel rooms...then you should book your trip elsewhere. There are plenty of great restaurants nearby, state parks, fishing, shopping, and a drive down to Key West is always a must. Mike and Carol are always willing to make suggestions for activiites and know the best places to go but my favorite thing to do is grab a good book, climb into a hammock on the beach and... RELAX!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honestyaugusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2011

Oh my . . . my husband and I were looking for a quiet, romantic getaway for three days, and we certainly found it at the Island Bay Resort. Everything is top notch and so many little things are thought of by the owners, Mike and Carol. We had such a wonderful stay, even though the weather were less than desirable. Just loved their little beach with comfortable loungers watching the pelicans. All the guests, at this gem of a place, were just the ones you'd like to spend time talking to and seemed to be looking for (and found) a relaxing spot in this wild, crazy world. I highly recommend this resort to all and sundry (if looking for a wonderfully quiet, clean, romantic hideaway).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WesternGardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavernier
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
585 reviews
4.9 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.5 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 20 in Key Largo
1,535 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dove Creek Lodge
Dove Creek Lodge
#7 of 20 in Key Largo
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Bay Resort

Property: Island Bay Resort
Address: 92530 Overseas Highway, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070-2758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Bay Resort provides you with a complete "Florida Keys experience." Our hotel is centrally located between Key Largo and Islamorada and just two hours from Key West and Miami. Enjoying your Florida vacation is easy. Swimming, snorkeling, kayaking, boating and sunbathing can all be enjoyed from our resort's beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island Bay Hotel Tavernier
Island Bay Tavernier
Island Bay Resort Key Largo/Tavernier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing