We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, but not luxurious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice, but not luxurious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

If you are looking for five (5) star accommodations, this is probably not the place for you. OTOH, if you are looking for a good place to stay in the upper Keys, this place is pretty nice. It's convenient to a lot of diving (Conch Republic Divers on Tavernier), great seafood (Key Largo) and drinking establishments (Islamorada).

Since each condo is individually owned, I'm sure that mileage will vary, but we were looking for someplace to sleep, have breakfast and relax between diving and eating. We got what we needed. The condo we were in had not been renovated and the furniture had seen some good wear. While we had no intention of spending time in front of the TV, the electronics were an indication of age of the furnishings: a 19" CRT w/ VCR player., but like everything else, in fine working order.

The property is much like the condo. Nice, clean and neat. There is a bar that served light meals, a small beach area that was generally uncrowded ; a dock, tennis courts and a large pool. There may have been other amenities, but those are what stood out. My son and I are not huge fans of just laying on the beach and the beach is really too small to do much else, so we decided to try a bit of fishing and we managed to catch a few fish off the dock which filled his need for a little catch and release and was a lot more convenient than going on a party boat.

Overall, if you are looking for a laid back, clean place to stay this is a really nice place.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    721
    428
    256
    176
See reviews for
995
705
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2010

We stayed for two nights. We had a two bedroom accommodation. It was clean and comfortable, it has been said before that each apartment is owned by different people and it is there furnishings in their apartment some probably are not as nice as others.We were lucky. There was a lovely view , from a really small balcony. The pool area was a bit grubby, needs a good clean. Glade we only stayed two nights you definitely need a car . Nothing is close by . The road leading into Burton drive can be risky. We also were allowed into our room before the check in time, which was nice because we had a long journey from Orlando. Two nice restaurants are Mrs Macs Kitchen and Snappers.Its a good base to stay if you want to explore the Keys.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pampoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

I had a friend coming to visit for a few days who had never experienced the Florida Keys. I decided to look into resorts in the area so that she could experience what the Upper Keys have to offer. Ocean Pointe came highly recommended by a friend who owns a residence in the area, so I looked them up on the internet.

They had a great website with very specific photos, prices and packages that you could custom to your particular needs. The have dive/snorkle packages, Deep sea fishing packages, and the one I chose - the romance package.

As someone who lives in South Florida I can tell you that the value of the package I selected was incredible. It included a nice complimentary breakfast for the first 2 mornings. ( we only stayed 2 days ), A 75 dollar coupon for a dinner at Snappers (one of the best dining spots in Key Largo with live entertainment right on the ocean, Kayaks for an hour of ocean paddling, complimentary cocktails, Chilled bottle of champagne delivered to our condo, and a maginificent sunset catamaran snorkel cruise.. ( this was the highlight of our stay)

The quality of the condo was truly top notch. Well appointed- plasma tv, high speed wireless internet, a full kitchen, whirlpool tub, etc.

The staff were super friendly, and eager to help. Check in and check out were no hassle whatsoever. The grounds were very well kept, and the sunrises from the gazebo each morning were great. They also had great security that assured that non guests could not access the resort.

And, I'f you have a boat, they have a marina whare you can launch and dock.

It was money well spent as far as I'm concerned. And I will definately book there again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hicap06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2010

We travelled from England to Ocean Pointes in July. I loved our suite and the staff were really friendly. The only problem was the weather was terrible and nothing off site is withing walking distance. Being English we like to leave the car at home and have a few drinks in the evening. Ocean Pointes in Key Largo is not the place for this.
It is however the perfect place for venturing out in the daytime. We managed to go fishing for sharks and swim with dolphins in our 4 days there.
There are some great local restaurants and bars - but you need to drive or get taxis and these are very expensive.
Definately visit ocean pointes - just not for the nightlife.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen1983_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

The specific unit we were in was terribly worn out. We didn't want to walk on the carpet with bare feet, nor sit on the furniture without first having a towel under us. My son's bed sheet had blood stains. The sofa was worn out so much it was hard to get up from it. When we mentioned the problems to the front desk, we were told that some unit owners don't maintain their units and don't listem to the managers unless enough guests complain.
We were so uncomfortable that we left after one night. Because we had reserved 4 nights, even though it was so nasty, we were required to pay for an extra night.
I will never go back here again unless I am guaranteed to have a clean, updated room. Even then, I would have to see it first.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank njlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tavernier hotels

Chicopee, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

Have visited the Keys the past four summers with teenagers and found this resort was the roomiest and most practicle for our family. We ventured out a lot from the resort but enjoyed coming back to our suite to relax and unwind.
Price was very reasonable for 2 bedroom suite.
Can't wait to visit there again next summer!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatKuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wales, FL
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2010

We stayed 8/1-8/3. I wish we had more time. As noted, the beach is not for getting in the water. You can sit by the water or on the dock beside the beach. The pool is great if you feel the need to get wet. The room was wonderful. The view was captivating, what a great way to start the day. Wi-fi is available at the restaurant. I could not get it to work the first night, however, it was fine when I checked it later.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsbs66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavernier
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,331 reviews
0.8 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
12.7 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
2.3 mi away
Creekside Inn Islamorada
Creekside Inn Islamorada
#4 of 4 in Tavernier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo

Property: Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Address: 500 Burton Drive, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Pointe Suites At Key Largo Hotel Tavernier
Ocean Pointe Hotel
Ocean Pointe Tavernier
Ocean Pointe Suites Key Largo
Ocean Pointe Key Largo
Ocean Pointe Suites At Key Largo Tavernier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing