We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Front desk service was very pleasant, some of the decor all around is outdated, we had the two bedroom apartment for 6 people, one room had two twin size beds, mattresses were very hard and room very small, master bedroom had a queen size, master bathroom was very small, sofa bed was broken, we had to run to the store to get an air mattress, beach area was nice. Bar in the lobby was nice with a very pleasant bartender. Pool and pool area was awesome, live entertainment, there is also a bar at the pool. Don't forget to bring bug spray and bathroom essentials, our didn't have them but we called the pleasant manager who took care of it.

Room Tip: Try to stay directly in front of pool area....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Giselle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

993 - 999 of 2,373 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

The place it self is very nice. We had no trouble with the room it was very roomy and big. The view from our balcony was very nice as we had a direct line of vision to the ocean. The pool area is very nice and the pool was always clean. Only complaint was the beach advertised did not look the same as the beach here. Sea weed covers the shore but if u get in the sea life is great to see

Stayed: July 2014
Thank dante y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyski C, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

On behalf of our staff we appreciate you taking the time to review our property. Thank you for choosing Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo as your destination of choice when visiting the Florida Keys. We value your comments and observations in reference to your most recent stay. Unfortunately during this time of the year the Seaweed is an issue, we do have our staff out there everyday keeping it as clean & enjoyable for our guest as possible. We hope your future travels bring you back to Ocean Pointe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We checked in on July 15 and out on July 17 2014. Our suite was spacious, clean, and enjoyable. We had 2 adults, 3 teens, and 1 child in our suite and it accommodated us very well. We enjoyed fishing off the pier, walking through the many trails on the property, and checking out the wildlife in the area. The beach area has a ton of seagrass in it and we could not walk into the water, but that happens when the tide rolls in and out. The suites are oceanfront BUT you must understand that in the Keys there are Mangrove Trees that line the shoreline. The only beach areas are man made. We enjoyed our stay and will stay there again when we return again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gadawg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyski C, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

On behalf of our staff we thank you for taking the time to review our property. I glad to know we were able to accommodate you & your family, Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo appreciates your genuinely positive comments in reference to your most recent stay. We do get lots of Seaweed this time of the year but we have our staff out there everyday to keep it as clean as possible. We look forward to serving you as our loyal guest again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

I was a little nervous about staying here after reading some of these reviews. I guess my family and I were one of the lucky ones. Our condo was nicely furnished and very clean. The view was beautiful! For us this was a very positive experience and would definitely return.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank Natasha314blake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyski C, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo appreciates your genuinely positive comments in reference to your most recent stay. I'm glad to hear that despite some of our reviews you took it upon yourself to come down & give us a try & see for your self that we are great. We look forward to serving you as our loyal guest again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We checked in on a Friday and tried like mad to find a new place to stay to no avail. The condo was old and smelly. I turned down the air conditioner to see if that would mask the odor. The sofa bed mattress had urine stains all over.The sheets, pillows and blankets smelled like body odor. I had to douse my pillow with lavender essential oil to mask the odor.There was no hot water nor any water pressure. The t.v. wasn't working. The fan broke in the living room. Outdoor lights shone in our room all night as the blinds were so thin it did to block out any light.. Furniture was old and gross. NOTHING like the pictures they have on their website. For the price I expected MUCH more. I can't believe they charge that much for this place. We didn't attempt to stay at this resort...we took off to Key West for the day to try and assemble our quick trip of fun and relaxation. I now see where you should ask for an updated condo. I think that is very misleading to charge over $200 a night for this "resort". My boys, who are 11 and 12, who have slept in nasty hunting camps, were begging us to move. Sadly, we were unable to find another place in the area available. Never again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyski C, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo. I regret to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that you endured the issues you shared on your review. We take pride in our property and strive to exceed guest expectations. When we fall short we share your disappointment. We have brought your concerns to the attention of the appropriate department manager and I assure you we will follow up with them in addressing all your concerns. I have furnished our Maintenance Manager with a copy of your review & these concerns have been addressed. On behalf of our staff please accept our sincerest apologies. Once again, thank you for your review & for replying to my message. I do hope you give us another visit here in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Do not stay here! The website advertises a private beach. What they don't tell you is that the beach is covered in seaweed and you can't walk in it. We had to go to a public beach several miles away (where we had to pay to get in)

The pool is disgusting and dirty, the room was grimy and outdated. The "private balcony" was large enough for one small adult to go out there and turn around. It was ridiculous. We will never stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RudyT2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyski C, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo. I regret to hear that you were not happy with our man made beach area, however during this time of the year unfortunately we encounter a lot of Seaweed & we make it a point to get our staff to clean it everyday. We take pride in our property and strive to exceed guest expectations. When we fall short we share your disappointment. On behalf of our staff please accept our sincerest apologies. We have brought your concerns & any issues you may have endured to the attention of the appropriate department managers and assure you we will follow up with them in addressing all your concerns. Once again Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

This unit is a one bedroom with ocean views. It's totally updated and absolutely beautiful!! It has every amenity you could possibly need. The decor is serene and peaceful and we won't stay anywhere else!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tulsapkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyski C, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

On behalf of our staff we thank you for taking the time to review our property. Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo appreciates your genuinely positive comments in reference to your most recent stay. Yes, Unit 1210 is Beautiful, I'm glad to hear that you had an awesome experience during your visit to the Keys. We look forward to serving you as our loyal guest again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavernier
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 20 in Key Largo
1,584 reviews
1 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,394 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
6.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
2.2 mi away
Creekside Inn Islamorada
Creekside Inn Islamorada
#4 of 4 in Tavernier
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo

Address: 500 Burton Drive, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070-3100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range: $180 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Pointe Suites At Key Largo Hotel Tavernier
Ocean Pointe Hotel
Ocean Pointe Tavernier
Ocean Pointe Suites Key Largo
Ocean Pointe Key Largo
Ocean Pointe Suites At Key Largo Tavernier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing