We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

We checked in on a Friday and tried like mad to find a new place to stay to no avail. The condo was old and smelly. I turned down the air conditioner to see if that would mask the odor. The sofa bed mattress had urine stains all over.The sheets, pillows and blankets smelled like body odor. I had to douse my pillow with lavender essential oil to mask the odor.There was no hot water nor any water pressure. The t.v. wasn't working. The fan broke in the living room. Outdoor lights shone in our room all night as the blinds were so thin it did to block out any light.. Furniture was old and gross. NOTHING like the pictures they have on their website. For the price I expected MUCH more. I can't believe they charge that much for this place. We didn't attempt to stay at this resort...we took off to Key West for the day to try and assemble our quick trip of fun and relaxation. I now see where you should ask for an updated condo. I think that is very misleading to charge over $200 a night for this "resort". My boys, who are 11 and 12, who have slept in nasty hunting camps, were begging us to move. Sadly, we were unable to find another place in the area available. Never again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyski C, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo. I regret to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that you endured the issues you shared on your review. We take pride in our property and strive to exceed guest expectations. When we fall short we share your disappointment. We have brought your concerns to the attention of the appropriate department manager and I assure you we will follow up with them in addressing all your concerns. I have furnished our Maintenance Manager with a copy of your review & these concerns have been addressed. On behalf of our staff please accept our sincerest apologies. Once again, thank you for your review & for replying to my message. I do hope you give us another visit here in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    710
    421
    253
    175
See reviews for
975
701
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

Do not stay here! The website advertises a private beach. What they don't tell you is that the beach is covered in seaweed and you can't walk in it. We had to go to a public beach several miles away (where we had to pay to get in)

The pool is disgusting and dirty, the room was grimy and outdated. The "private balcony" was large enough for one small adult to go out there and turn around. It was ridiculous. We will never stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RudyT2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyski C, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo. I regret to hear that you were not happy with our man made beach area, however during this time of the year unfortunately we encounter a lot of Seaweed & we make it a point to get our staff to clean it everyday. We take pride in our property and strive to exceed guest expectations. When we fall short we share your disappointment. On behalf of our staff please accept our sincerest apologies. We have brought your concerns & any issues you may have endured to the attention of the appropriate department managers and assure you we will follow up with them in addressing all your concerns. Once again Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

This unit is a one bedroom with ocean views. It's totally updated and absolutely beautiful!! It has every amenity you could possibly need. The decor is serene and peaceful and we won't stay anywhere else!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tulsapkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyski C, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
On behalf of our staff we thank you for taking the time to review our property. Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo appreciates your genuinely positive comments in reference to your most recent stay. Yes, Unit 1210 is Beautiful, I'm glad to hear that you had an awesome experience during your visit to the Keys. We look forward to serving you as our loyal guest again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilching, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

We travelled for 4 weeks trough Florida and this was by far the worst appartment we had. The room had nothing to do with the pictures shown on the internet. It was dirty and everything was very old, especially the kitchen. The oven and the dishwasher were from the 70s. The pool was also old and dirty and the beach was very small and dirty plus warnings of jellyfish.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katja G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyski C, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo. We take pride in our property and strive to exceed guest expectations. I have gotten with the appropriate department managers and assure you we will follow up with them in addressing and rectifying all your concerns. When we fall short we share your disappointment. On behalf of our staff please accept our sincerest apologies. We post the Jellyfish warning signs for our guest so that they can be aware of the Jellyfish, seeing as our beach area has open access to the Ocean. We do so just as a courtesy to our guest. Hope you decide to give us another go in the near future, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
200 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

I was here as a part of a group that had about 14 units in buildings 2 and 3 for 5 nights. Evidently the units are all individually owned and furnishings and maintenance are up to owner. So it's a crap shoot what your unit will be like.

I am not a picky person, but if I had known how bad this building 2 unit was when we got the key, I would have demanded a change. I left management with a two page list of issues - one for maintenance (fridge that wouldn't even chill water, doors that were jammed or broken) and one for housekeeping (we had the same grunge another reviewer mentioned plus dust bunnies under the furniture). Other units had much better finishes and amenities, and ours was much further from the ocean, with almost no water view. The good news is that the location is off the Overseas Hwy and is quiet. There also is not much noise between rooms and floors. But the bedrooms of this unit both faced the passageway, so we couldn't open the blinds and we were at the mercy of any loud-talking groups that came in late.

The pool is large, and the beach is small. Only the reception building fronts on the beach, so you don't see it from any units. Even though the menu in our room was fairly extensive, the cafe in the office building is quite small and appears to be 90% bar.

Be aware this location is not Key Largo proper; it is in Tavernier. If you are headed to restaurants and snorkel boats in Key Largo, it is a schlepp.

And, if they give you keys to unit 2215, demand something else!

Room Tip: Don't accept room 2215 unless you inspect it first. If the balcony door is still jammed and open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oscar505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyski C, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo. We take pride in our property and strive to exceed guest expectations. I regret that you encountered the issues you did during your stay with us, I have gotten with our Maintenance Manager as well as with our Housekeeping Supervisors & I assure you we will follow up with them in addressing all your concerns. When we fall short we share your disappointment. Once again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

My wife and I went with a couple of our friends this past . We arrived to the property around 10:30a to see about getting a parking pass for one of the cars since we were driving all the way down to Key West. We were greeted by Shinae in the front desk who was not only a pleasure to sepak with but was willing to help getting us the parking passes. Shinae also went above and beyond by offering us a room hours before check in time which is at 4p.

The room was one of the two bedroom suites. The room was clean, spacious and full of amenities. With a great view of the mangroves and ocean. The only negative thing i can say is the balcony was rather small. The property is clean and well kept. They have a nice beach, pier with gazebo and a area with BBQs. If you have a boat they have plenty of trailer parking and a small marina as well.

We enjoyed our stay there and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Freddie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyski C, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
On behalf of our staff we thank you for taking the time to review our property. Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo appreciates your genuinely positive comments in reference to your most recent stay. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us & yes, I agree with you Shinae is a pleasure to speak with & she is a great asset to our company. We look forward to serving you as our loyal guest again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Our overall stay in our room/2 bedroom apt was disappointing!! (Please Read All)

Our room was filthy, unkept, under stocked and appliances were outdated (via the 80's) and old- but did work. There was so much "caked" dust you could literally write your name in it and it wasn't normal dust but a sticky, grimy, sandy nasty dust.

The faucet leaked constantly, the a/c filter and sprinkler heads in the unit were not maintained properly - borderline fire hazards. The dryer belt was broken and had to be repaired (which was), however the unit was so old the heating mechanism didn't dry all 6 towels we used for daily beach going activities.

The lack of daily made service contributed to the overall lack of cleanliness; something that needs to be addressed.

However, we were given a key to another apt to de your clothing, and that apt was immaculate and had updated appliances- so our room seems to be the exception.

All that said... The location was fantastic, the amenities onsite (pool, lagoon swimming area, rentals) were great and the proximity to the eateries (Mrs Mac's Kitchen, Ballyhoos, and Snappers), tourist sites, and beaches were wonderful.

The daytime manager (Annette) is wonderful, has great customer service as were her grounds crews that we encountered.

We would go back again based on price, location and friendly service...

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank sigojr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyski C, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo. We take pride in our property and strive to exceed guest expectations. When we fall short we share your disappointment. On behalf of our staff please accept our sincerest apologies. We have brought your concerns to the attention of the appropriate department manager and assure you we will follow up with them in addressing all your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavernier
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,286 reviews
0.8 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
2.3 mi away
Creekside Inn Islamorada
Creekside Inn Islamorada
#4 of 4 in Tavernier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dove Creek Lodge
Dove Creek Lodge
#6 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
12.7 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo

Property: Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Address: 500 Burton Drive, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070-3100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Pointe Suites At Key Largo Hotel Tavernier
Ocean Pointe Hotel
Ocean Pointe Tavernier
Ocean Pointe Suites Key Largo
Ocean Pointe Key Largo
Ocean Pointe Suites At Key Largo Tavernier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing