We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room; convenient location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Reviewed June 30, 2013

In reading some of the negative reviews about this hotel I feel like I stayed somewhere else. The hotel is a series of buildings, some of which I believe are condos. Our room was a one bedroom suite in Building 2. It was very clean and appeared to be recently renovated. It had all the basics one would need for any length of stay. I loved that the suite had it's own washer and dryer! One recent reviewer mentioned "hundreds" of cats on the property, but I didn't see or hear any. Staff was friendly. The location is just off the main highway, and convenient to either Key Largo or Islamorada. Most rooms face the ocean.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoxieGal58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

On behalf of our staff we thank you for taking the time to review our property. Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo appreciates your genuinely positive comments in reference to your most recent stay. We look forward to serving you as our loyal guest again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,370)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,301 - 1,307 of 2,370 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

This property has the potential of great things. But the room we had was gross. The couch was stained, the carpet was disgusting, there was mold in the shower, there were left over chips and bottle caps under the couch. I was able to take a washrag and wipe some of the mold off the shower. The cats do need to go. If the cats are using the beach area for a litter box-they can spread salmonella to children.
And in 2013-why do you have to pay for internet?
On the other hand the grounds and pool area were nice and fortunately the beds were clean.
We travel a lot and it's been a very long time that we were in a room so disgusting.
I would never recommend or stay at this property again. (we paid 200.00 a night)
The people at the front desk were not friendly at all-check in or check out.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank l f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo. We take pride in our property and strive to exceed guest expectations. When we fall short we share your disappointment. On behalf of our staff please accept our sincerest apologies. We have brought your concerns to the attention of the appropriate department manager and assure you we will follow up with them in addressing all your concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Wasn't happy with the ocean view. It was basically just a view of trees with a slight glimpse of the ocean. The other problem was the hundreds of cats on the property howling and hissing. U looked down from your balcony and that's all you could see. The cats looked hungry and being a animal lover I did throw some to them even though they asked you not to feed them. The room needed major updating but was clean. I was surprised that you didn't have someone that came and cleaned your room. The pool was very nice and liked the idea of being gated so not everyone could come there. The beach was small and prob the worst I ever saw. I loved the washer and dryer in the room.mi def wouldn't visit this place again and look elsewhere. Not much to do at this property.

Room Tip: Pick one on the upper floors due to all the cats there
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krista B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

On behalf of our staff we appreciate you taking the time to review our property. Thank you for choosing Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo as your destination of choice when visiting the Florida Keys. We value your comments and observations in reference to your most recent stay. We hope your future travels bring you back to Ocean Pointe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This large property is secluded and feels like a private island oasis. We had a two bedroom suite in the Tarpon building. A very large room, well appointed, and could comfortably sleeps 6 people. The pool is really large and a small hot next to it. But who needs a hot tub in the Keys, anyway? A small beach is available for people looking to lay in the sand. A marina on site provides fishing access to those who desire a day on the water.

Close to restaurants and shopping for those who like to venture. A Florida Keys feel without being so too from the mainland. It's the perfect relaxing weekend getaway. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor unit.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeaChell7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at this location for 2 nights/3 days. Ocean Pointe Suites has a gated entrance and the suites are owned by private individuals. We felt there was plenty of parking. Our suite was a spacious 2 bedrooms with 2 full bathrooms. The master bedroom's bathroom is an ensuite. The suite was very spacious with a living rooming, full kitchen, washer & dryer and was very clean. This community has a pool, tennis courts and a private beach. The only interaction we had with the staff was during our check-in and they were very pleasant. There was a small restaurant onsite but we did not eat there. This was a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LanaHuie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

On behalf of our staff we thank you for taking the time to review our property. Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo appreciates your genuinely positive comments in reference to your most recent stay. We look forward to serving you as our loyal guest again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The property is well located for majority of attractions in the upper Keys. They do have a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom, full kitchen, W/D and pull out sofa for large groups. Their pool area is beautiful with a large pool and plenty of chairs/unbrellas, etc. Parking is adequate. The staff is friendly although not as helpful as one would expect. The exterior landscaping was nice with grills and picnic tables throughout the property. They have 2 very nice tennis courts. These are the reasons that the property ranked an average with me. Now for the downside. Our unit's pull out may have been comfortable for a sleeper weighing less that 30 kg, but the average adult could not have tolerated it. The balcony is tiny and only just holds 2 plastic chairs. The units could use updating and the kitchen tools are extremely poor, both in quality and numbers. The beach area is without a doubt the worst I have ever seen. It is rocky, shallow, truly fit only for sitting to read a book. You cannot swim in the sea. The marina is adjacent and the boats go in and out at what I felt was a too fast speed making snorkeling and swimming dangerous. I witnessed several near misses. The basketball court was a hoop in the corner of a parking lot with a blind turn in from the main entranceway! How safe is that? They do have a bar and cafe but I did not try any of the food. The bar selections were limited and the hours changed everyday, so we could not depend upon their service. The cafe was closed sporadically as well. Even the drink availability changed with the bartender. I will never personally return to this property, but if you are a boater or plan to scuba dive every day, it could be the place for you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nshawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

On behalf of our staff we appreciate you taking the time to review our property. Thank you for choosing Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo as your destination of choice when visiting the Florida Keys. We value your comments and observations in reference to your most recent stay. We hope your future travels bring you back to Ocean Pointe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Beautiful place to stay for a vacation. The employees are very friendly, and if you have a boat the marina is great. The room has town bedrooms, and a kitchen. One room has 2 twin size bed, and the other the master room has a King size bed with plenty of room.

Room Tip: Get an ocean side room. It has a very nice view from inside you room. Very relaxing!!!!!!!!!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fire8931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

On behalf of our staff we thank you for taking the time to review our property. Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo appreciates your genuinely positive comments in reference to your most recent stay. We look forward to serving you as our loyal guest again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavernier
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 20 in Key Largo
1,547 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
590 reviews
4.4 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
1.0 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,321 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 20 in Key Largo
3,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo

Address: 500 Burton Drive, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range: $138 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Pointe Suites At Key Largo Hotel Tavernier
Ocean Pointe Hotel
Ocean Pointe Tavernier
Ocean Pointe Suites Key Largo
Ocean Pointe Key Largo
Ocean Pointe Suites At Key Largo Tavernier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing