We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not *that* bad...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not *that* bad...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Our family of four (kids aged 9 and 4) stayed at Ocean Pointe March 14-19. After reading many reviews, we knew in advance this was not a traditional hotel - that each unit has individual owners - so we were prepared for some uncertainty.

My summary that it wasn't "that bad" is entirely accurate: it wasn't bad, but it wasn't great. We stayed in Building 4 (Room 4302), which is a 2 bedrom/2 bath unit, and it, like many others, needs serious updating and cleaning. I'm not sure if this particular owner doesn't actually visit there very often, or just doesn't care, but it needs some love. Some updates have been made but it was a mixed bag: it had seemingly newer tile floors and granite counters but at the same time 20-year old appliances, old wicker blue/green floral furniture (as if it was old deck furniture they dumped in there), scuffed white walls that have never been painted, light switches that don't work, toilet seat falling off, etc. The "balconies" are silly, as they're 1x1 and only one person can stand out there at a time, but the views from that building were amazing.

Pros- The property is beautiful. Very clean and well taken care of. The private beach area is nice with younger kids because it's not crowded. It's not much of an actual beach, per se, but nice for the kids to kick around in. Lots of lounge/seating space, volleyball area and a nice pier. Didn't eat at the cafe on site because we wanted to venture out, but it seemed more bar-ish than restaurant at first glance. Maybe that's not the case. The pool is nice and has a little tiki bar but not much to do for little ones.

Cons- Housekeeping. As in, there isn't any. This we found surprising, even for a non-hotel property. There is literally no housekeeping service unless you request something, e.g. no garbage taken out, no towels replaced, no plunger, etc., unless you call and request it. Apparently you get one visit if you're there 7 days but we weren't. Cleanliness of the unit was a big issue. Maybe it sat empty for awhile before being rented but I tend to think that cleaning just isn't a top priority here. There was a thick layer of dust on everything, the tile hadn't been mopped in a long time (our feet were black every day, even after showers) and there were long, black hairs on the clean towels. I requested a new round of towels after the 4th day, and they also had black hairs on them. Not sure how the housekeeping folks don't see them but it was disgusting. Minor irritations really, but a clean room and less-hairy towels isn't that much to ask.

All in all, we didn't care as much about the room because we weren't there much. The Tavernier/Key Largo/Islamorada area really made the trip. Very much a retirement community (people aren't in a hurry to do anything in those parts), lots of fantastic restaurants (ESPECIALLY Marker 88 - seriously probably the best food I've ever eaten in my life), deep-sea fishing, and lots of fun/different things for kids. We loved it.

You may find a nicer property for the same money. The resort was just fine but we would probably not stay here again.

Room Tip: Not sure if you'll get it, but you could request a newer or updated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lshields28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo and providing us with the room number so we may make improvements. We take pride in our property and strive to exceed guest expectations. When we fall short we share your disappointment. On behalf of our staff please accept our sincerest apologies. We have brought your concerns to the attention of the appropriate department managers and assure you we will follow up with our team in addressing all your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    714
    422
    254
    175
See reviews for
980
702
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed here with our college-age daughters. Our condo unit was very spacious and comfortable with 2 large bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, kitchen and living room. It was worth the extra $10 per night for an ocean view room. The property has a small, private beach and separate pool. There is also a cafe/bar on site. There are grocery stores and pharmacies nearby. I highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view room, request the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marvee55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We checked into our 2 bedroom room but did not stay. The room was generally in VERY poor condition regarding repair and cleanliness! The deck is large enough to stand but not to sit out for a coffee in the am or drink in the pm. The towels were postage stamps and they were noisely working on remodeling the room next door.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo. We take pride in our property and strive to exceed guest expectations. When we fall short we share your disappointment. On behalf of our staff please accept our sincerest apologies. We have brought your concerns to the attention of the appropriate department manager and assure you we will follow up with them in addressing all your concerns. Please check your messages for further correspondence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We had an OK stay. I know each unit is different, so I would hope the owner of 2308 takes a look at this and fixes these issues or brings them to the attention of property managers. My husband and I stayed in a one bedroom, 2 full bath unit with 2 ocean view balconies (although pretty much side by side). PROS: grounds, amenities, flat screens in both bed and living spaces, view was GORGEOUS and bed was comfy. CONS: decor was hideous (cheap pictures of shells and sand, funky wallpaper and furniture) I could think of a million ways to make it look better basically. One toilet was not flushed upon arrival...GROSS! Wallpaper was coming off in most every room, sliding door on one balcony barely moved, CD player remote did not work, dirty utensils...GROSS! The "master" bath shower head was spraying everywhere, and the ice maker did not function. Service at the cafe was not great either, bar top was dirty and clearly had not been wiped down in days, and rude service. Its an OK place, I would recommend, but if you ask for an ocean view do not ask for 2308!

Room Tip: Ocean views on the 3rd floor of building 2 are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
On behalf of our staff we appreciate you taking the time to review our property. Thank you for choosing Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo as your destination of choice when visiting the Florida Keys. We value your comments and observations in reference to your most recent stay. We hope your future travels bring you back to Ocean Pointe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were very happy with our room with the large master bedroom, 2 baths, kitchen and living room area. The only thing is, the balconies are only large enough to stand. Very disappointing when we were looking forward to sitting out and having our morning coffee. The water pressure in the kitchen sink was pathetic, but was ok in the showers. We were very disappointed in the hotel property. The reviews we had read, prior to booking, stated a clean, well taken care of beach. We found a strip of sand, covered in sticks and dry weeds. It smelled bad down by the water and the kids were very disappointed. The pool area was nice and clean, however the hottub was only warm the first day we were there and out of order for the rest of our stay. The BBQ grills were dirty and the feral cats running all over the property did not inspire us to cook outside anyway! The tennis courts were nice and were well lit for nighttime tennis. The staff were very friendly and helpful, though. Prior to our arrival I had emailed the property to ask if there was anything we could bring to enhance our vacation experience, and nobody returned my email. We stayed in Building 2.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaMc_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
On behalf of our staff we appreciate you taking the time to review our property. Thank you for choosing Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo as your destination of choice when visiting the Florida Keys. We value your comments and observations in reference to your most recent stay. We hope your future travels bring you back to Ocean Pointe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at ocean pointe. Building 4 was great. Rooms are large with 2 bedrooms. King bed in one and queen bed in the other. Additionally, there was a separate lounge/diner with a full kitchen. Views are excellent, especially on the sunrise side where you can see for miles along the beach. All the staff we came into contact with, were very friendly and extremely helpful. We had the best floor - the top - again, asked for specifically (there's an elevator in case you don't want to walk). Overlooking the water, per request and perfect views - sunrises were awesome. Loved that it was gated community and well maintained. Went fishing with Captain Bruce at Islamorada and caught a large sailfish. Definitely will stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nishi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
On behalf of our staff we thank you for taking the time to review our property. Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo appreciates your genuinely positive comments in reference to your most recent stay. We look forward to serving you as our loyal guest again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

This was a terrific hotel with central air, large rooms, tasteful decor, beautiful heated pool. ! There are also ceiling fans, multiple bedroom configurations, full kitchen with granite countertops, stove, refrigerator, etc. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank njtraveler52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assitant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
On behalf of our staff we thank you for taking the time to review our property. Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo appreciates your genuinely positive comments in reference to your most recent stay. We look forward to serving you as our loyal guest again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavernier
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,291 reviews
0.8 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
12.7 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Creekside Inn Islamorada
Creekside Inn Islamorada
#4 of 4 in Tavernier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dove Creek Lodge
Dove Creek Lodge
#6 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo

Property: Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Address: 500 Burton Drive, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070-3100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Pointe Suites At Key Largo Hotel Tavernier
Ocean Pointe Hotel
Ocean Pointe Tavernier
Ocean Pointe Suites Key Largo
Ocean Pointe Key Largo
Ocean Pointe Suites At Key Largo Tavernier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing