We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great find!!!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We had no planned in advance where to go, our plan was to spend 10 days at Key West. We rented a convertible and visited the Everglades first but we spent far too long there and it was dark when we left, so we went to Expedia to look for a hotel to spend the night. We saw this, at a good price and headed there.

At night it was not that amazing, pretty dark, and the reception was small, but when we went to the apartment we were so surprised! The apartment was big and super clean, we had it all there (iron, iron board, hairdryer, washing machine, dishwasher, dryer, full kitchen, all the utensils you could need to cook, tons of cupboards and drawers everywhere etc). Each double room had an en suite, we had a balcony over viewing the ocean... we were amazed!

The day after was even better! The place has two tennis courts, a private beach, swimming pool, a marina, grills outside so you can have barbecues (and we had plenty of those!), and is two minutes by car from a massive supermarket and everything you may need, including restaurants, pharmacy, etc. You have to pass security to get into the compound and you have security all day and night, so you feel pretty secure while there.

The staff at the Ocean Pointe are all extremely helpful and we would like to thank Sam for giving us the great room we stayed at, Chaz and Abdul for all their help and specially Shinae for being wonderfully helpful and always smiling. Shinae was very professional, fast thinking and sorted out an issue within minutes, she is a gem!
The only thing we did not like at all was the fact that you have to pay for the internet, but the internet is charged by item, so if you want Wifi in your laptop and your son's iPad you pay twice the $6.99, it is not by room (or apartment) but by item... that we found unfair but on the other side, you still got internet when you left your room and headed to the swimming pool or the beach.

Other than that we loved it all!! In fact we came for a day and we stayed nine instead, we had to vacate on Saturday as it was fully booked but we spent that day at a hotel in Key West and returned in the morning there. We just returned on Thursday night.

If you want a great place to be when down there at a very good price, look no further, that is the place to be and we are going back there, it was just a great experience!! We did not want to leave!!!

Room Tip: We went for a Ocean View room and it was well worth it! Sunshine all day long and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unica4_u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    724
    748
    437
    261
    183
See reviews for
1,037
723
22
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (582)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midhurst, On
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I stayed at this condo for the second time in two years. The grounds are meticulously maintained and the staff is very friendly and hard working. The pool is beautiful and so is the hot tub.

My only problem is the lack of high speed internet. I took my computer to the bar/check in area and tried to connect. It took almost 10 minutes and downloading was equally as slow. If you wanted internet in your room it was $10. per day which is way overboard considering what you pay for a month of WIFI. I asked the staff what was wrong and was told that over 300 units were connected to the same system! Didn't matter whether it was first thing in the morning or late into the evening same slow result. So I went into the town and used my computer at the library. If this problem was corrected I would be so happy. Other guests I spoke with had the same issue and were using their smart phones to check emails.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
On behalf of our staff we appreciate you taking the time to review our property. Thank you for choosing Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo as your destination of choice when visiting the Florida Keys. We value your comments and observations in reference to your most recent stay. We hope your future travels bring you back to Ocean Pointe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed in a really nice appointed condo where you could tell the owners take pride in their place. We had ocean view and it was nice to see the sunrise. The pool is really nice and a good size. Close to key largo where there was a variety of places to eat. Would recommend this place to anyone who enjoys a quiet place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank dorismct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
On behalf of our staff we thank you for taking the time to review our property. Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo appreciates your genuinely positive comments in reference to your most recent stay. We look forward to serving you as our loyal guest again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I live not too far from the Key Largo area, and my boyfriend and I wanted to get away from Miami for a day.
I wanted to find a hotel where we could spend some time together and then go snorkeling the next day. While we are both young, we weren't looking to party or get crazy this trip, so if you're looking for a wild night then this place isn't for you. It's nestled a little ways from the main road, and has it's own security guard at the front. So it is very peaceful, no noise.
Check in was simple. Chas at the front desk was very helpful. I had called earlier before we got there to ask about the hotel and he remembered me! Our room was beautiful with big comfy beds and a spacious living room. I had asked for a DVD player in the room, which it had, but was broken. I called to the front desk and they were able to replace it with no problem.
There was both a pool and a hot tub which was great! Overall it was a wonderful two day vacation, would definitely come back again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bree C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
On behalf of our staff we thank you for taking the time to review our property. Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo appreciates your genuinely positive comments in reference to your most recent stay. We look forward to serving you as our loyal guest again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, NY
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The property was nice. Nice pool and hot tube; tennis courts; small beach area with kayaks. The cafe was well stocked for basic and quick meals. My only disappointment was the unit itself. While there were dishes and basic utensils, there were no other supplies. No salt and pepper; no soap; no Windex. One should not have to purchase basic supplies, esp. cleaning supplies, like this when staying for one week.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We spent an amazing week here. The condo unit we had was lovely (#5301) with a great view. The heated pool is huge and the beach area, though small, is kept very clean. It really was our home away from home. Great location to other sights in the area and less than 2 hours to Key West.

Room Tip: We had a corner unit...Building 5 is closest to the beach and not far from the pool. Great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
On behalf of our staff we thank you for taking the time to review our property. Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo appreciates your genuinely positive comments in reference to your most recent stay. We look forward to serving you as our loyal guest again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We arrived at the resort an hour before check-in and decided to scope out the "beach." Do not trust any site that claims this is a nice beach - it is murky, disgusting, and there are more rocks at the bottom than sand. In addition, the water was so shallow in the designated swimming area it didn't even reach over the kids' heads that were playing in it. We finally got into our unit (#3402), which at first seemed promising. One room had a king bed, the other had two twins which worked nicely for the three of us. The decor was outdated, but nothing too bad. We spent an hour at the pool, grabbed dinner, and fell asleep.

The next day we woke up to numerous bug bites all over our legs and ankles - none of which we felt the day/night before. After each night, we noticed more and more bites over other parts of our bodies and realized we had bed bugs. DISGUSTING! Luckily, we visited Miami next so we could have some relief before heading back home.

** I was interested in knowing if anyone else had this problem while staying at the resort and in almost all reviews involving bed bugs, a management representative will reply claiming there are no bed bug problems - of course they say this! Do not trust these responses. **

On the second day we hung out at the pool and decided to check out the cafe for lunch. After 10 minutes the bartender/waitress came over and said "I suppose you are waiting for me to come take your order." We ordered two "paninis" (they had a couple slices of meat and 1 slice of cheese - no mayo or pesto and definitely no toppings), a personal pizza, and the crab cakes for an appetizer. Two of us also ordered the drink of the day and she said they had no more mango even though I saw it in the bar fridge. The food took forever to get and was TERRIBLE, not to mention she forgot our appetizer all together. When we nicely reminded her, she rolled her eyes and said "Oh yeah." We decided to never eat there again!

The pool is standard and pretty much the only option for swimming (unless you want to try the gross "beach"). Also, although all the rooms "have an ocean view" there is a large area of trees and muddy trails separating you from the water - you have absolutely no water access other than by the clubhouse.

If you do choose this resort, definitely check out your room before settling in!

Overall, this resort is not worth the money they are asking for.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tavernier hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavernier
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#11 of 20 in Key Largo
1,534 reviews
4.4 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.8 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,485 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo

Property: Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Address: 500 Burton Drive, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Pointe Suites At Key Largo Hotel Tavernier
Ocean Pointe Hotel
Ocean Pointe Tavernier
Ocean Pointe Suites Key Largo
Ocean Pointe Key Largo
Ocean Pointe Suites At Key Largo Tavernier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing