We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so much potential!”
Review of Cafe Moka

Cafe Moka
Ranked #2 of 23 Restaurants in Tavernier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner
Islamorada, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“so much potential!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Any business in the keys is about getting the word out! They need to advertise more, maybe a little flyer in the mail or something? On at least 8 different occasions with 8 different locals i've mentioned eating there for lunch and they said they haven't even heard of it?!? I think their gelatto is superb but the prices on everything else a tad bit steep for it to be a weekly visit. Also it is kind of awkward when you walk in, and instead of letting me browse the girl like hounded me and my mom lol. I wish this little business the best but if they don't get the word out i feel they may end up in the keys local business graveyard :-(
Good luck moka! Maybe have a locals party?

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sublime305407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    116
    28
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tavernier, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our local eatery”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Cafe Moca is right across the street from us, so it is one of our regulars. They make their sandwiches on fresh baguettes, and stuff it with fresh arugula w/ balsamic vinegar. WONDERFUL! The smoked salmon w/ cream cheese sandwich is outstanding. The quiche crustis so buttery and light.Don't miss this little place...bring a book and linger.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FloridaKeysSeminars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic light lunch”
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

The quality of this place is unprecedented in the keys! Everything is so fresh and light that you can get right back in your bathing suit without feeling gross. We had the sandwich and salad combo and everything was AMAZING! We couldn't leave without a dessert and the chocolate cake was to die for. Wish I lived there so I could go back more often!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Attyyogini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Food in Tavernier”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

A true French cafe. Crunch French bread. Amazing soups. Great gelato.Fresh squeezed oj. Check it out!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ykots1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Simply Superb....”
Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Needed a place for lunch on my way from Key West to Miami and found this place on TA.... this is our sort of place..

Immaculately clean, bright, roomy and beautifully presented. The cafe provides a few great choices for a morning, lunch or afternoon treat.

I'm a big soup freak... and I really enjoyed the creamy homemade Butternut Squash soup - truly awesome... the Mozzarella and Prosciutto baguette was amazing! We probably ordered too much food though as now I'm stuffed!

Definitely a place to try on your way past.

Thanks and good work for getting us back on to our journey North !

Helpful?
3 Thank ivan i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Moka also viewed

Key Largo, Florida Keys
 
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Been to Cafe Moka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing