We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Great Time!!!”

Florida Keys Dive Center
Ranked #2 of 25 Tours in Tavernier
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scuba diving and snorkel charters, scuba courses and equipment rental, air and nitrox fills
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a Great Time!!!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We spent two days diving with Florida Keys Dive Center and it was fantastic. They know exactly what they are doing and tell you where you need to be how to get there. They put you right on the wreck or the reef, get you in and out of the water safely. Boats are clean and run great, have showers on board as well as water to drink. We did five dives in two days. Four day dives on reefs and one night dive on the Benwood. We have our own boat but it sure is nice to show up and have someone else handle everything. We will be back for sure.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    48
    10
    13
    20
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Flakeys is the BEST!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Just finished a open water cert course with my daughter and would recommend Florida Keys Dive Center to anyone looking to further their dive education or pleasure dive the keys. Utmost professionalism with meticulous attention to details. Friendly, caring staff that really know the best dive sights for underwater sights and marine life. Made us feel like one of the family and no pushy sales talk! If you want gear, they stock the best names but they don't shove it down your throat either. Carson was our Captain and he handled the waters and the occupants with equal ease. Yvonne handled our paperwork and was our PADI liaison. Every single detail was thoroughly handled for us; she took care of the important stuff. Mike DeHoff was our instructor and I can't say enough great things about him! Mike says he's there to make divers, not money and that's the difference at Flakeys. You're going to spend money in the keys, might as well get value, professionalism, and friendly people while you're spending it. GO TO FLAKEYS!!!

Helpful?
Thank CherylKearney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsbluff, Nebraska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very good dive shop”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

very knowledgeable and versatile. worked around my schedule. the rental suits are a little worn so try to bring your own. the boats are top notch.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patrick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Snorkeling”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

There are many snorkeling trips from which travelers can choose. This operation combines snorkelers and divers onto one boat. There are two trips each day, one at 8:30 AM and another at 1 PM. I took the 8:30 AM trip. We traveled to two locations along the coral reef and spent about one hour at each. At both locations, we were about 20-25 feet deep. The crew seemed amenable to suggestions from the group about specific locations, and the divers in the group seemed interested in diving outside of the "park." I have been on trips in Mexico which the crew feed the fish in order to attract more fish to the tourists. On others, there were unlimited alcoholic drinks on the trip back to shore. On this trip, the crew was very professional and attentive. There was no feeding of chum and no alcohol, although BYOB was allowed on the trip back. Stephanie was very helpful with suggestions and assisting with gear. I would have preferred locations that were more shallow, as I was snorkeling and not diving. But I would certainly return.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BestCal1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding Dive Experience!”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Just returned from a weekend trip organized by Divers Supply. Did 7 dives with Florida Keys Dive Center: three 2-tank day trips and one 1-tank night trip. These people are great! Yvonne was cheerful and flexible as I moved some trips around and got my son on a trip as a bubble watcher. Carsten was our captain for all but the last day trip on Sunday. He took us to great sites and put us right on top of every wreck and reef. He took us to The Benwood (wreck) for our night dive, and it was great. Captain Dave performed to the same outstanding standard on our last day's trip. Stephanie was our divemaster and first mate on each trip (what a workhorse!) and, like the captains, she was a consummate professional. All of the crew were competent and personable. Every tank was full and ready to go on each trip. The crew set up nice mooring lines and granny lines that made dealing with currents a breeze. Whenever anyone needed anything, Stephanie was there with a smile and a helpful hand. It was such a wonderful experience I could go on for pages. Can't wait to dive with these people again!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EvilSimpkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Florida Keys Dive Center also viewed

Key Largo, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Florida Keys Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing