We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantasitc Local Restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tasters Taco Emporium - CLOSED

Tasters Taco Emporium
Price range: $3 - $6
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantasitc Local Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Don't let the strip mall location fool you. This is a fantastic restaurant with very original dishes. The service is great and the food is always good. They even have a nice deck in the back on the water. Great for a date, special occation or with good friends.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank canegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    75
    20
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a gem in Key Largo. Be sure to stop here if you are in Key Largo. Hidden away in a shopping center (look for the "restaurant" sign), the food is delicious with very interesting combinations such as mango chipotle ice cream (sweet and spicy). Our group of 4 adults shared 4 small dishes (which are a good size) and two desserts. With drinks, the bill came to about $100. The calamari, fish tacos, and fish spread were all delicious. And it was quite a bargain! The chef, George, previously worked in a well-known restaurant in DC. You will be impressed!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank dinast100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good little restaurant, great food but over priced and spoiled by pushy tips appeal on the bill at the end..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Great atmosphere - we arrived at 8.30pm and there were only two 2 seater tables left, its obviously better arriving after 6pm when more people are in for a better atmosphere, than some of the pre 6pm experiences on here!

We had travelled to Key Largo from Naples where we visited several decent restaurants and got 'out of season - summer' meal deals for $30 and $35 - for 'both' of us (including a bottle of house wine), but paid here $26 for a very bog standard quality and size yellow tail fish plus $30 for a very nice steak but with only a few potatoes - both of which were described on the menu as 'big' plates - but were both anything other than BIG - especially the fish!

We ended up having to have deserts (which we don't normally do), which admittedly was excellent - bread pudding and ice cream which recovered the small portion of fish somewhat and just as we were feeling O.K. about the place, especially after what appeared genuine friendliness from the waitress and bar owner Tom - we were presented with a bill with a rather large handwritten note on the print pointing out - 'GRATUITY N TIPS ARN'T INCLUDED - SUGGESTED 18% =$15.60 25% = 21.68!!!!!!!!!!!!! THANK YOU :)' - our bill was $86.70 - and I left $100 - which was the same as £65 back home in the UK = more than enough for what I would expect to pay for a normal decent meal, without the cheek of being asked to leave a tip, which we would have probably have done if not asked without the annoyance of it - we wont be back here but I wouldn't let that put people off - just so long as you are aware of it I suppose was just a real shame.

And before anybody attempts to suggest - its just the USA way - well I'm afraid the USA has advanced - because this was only the second time in over two weeks we'd been rudely asked/ reminded to tip - not at all in Orlando or Naples - only here in Key Largo - and the other was in our own hotel at lunch time!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NickLAWRANCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious Tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

When visiting Key Largo, I recommend dining at Tasters. Although their fish dip was oversold, the steamed mussels, shrimp and grits and sea scallops are well worth the money. The restaurant also boasts a great wine list for a date night.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice Little Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We went on a Monday night for a couple of appetizers and we were the only people in the place. It ended up being a good thing because we were able to have a nice conversation with the bartender. They offered a homemade pimento cheese spread with really good crunchy crackers while we had our drinks. Be warned, only specialty beers served here. My husband wanted a lite beer but had to settle on a heavier beer because they didn't have any lite beers. The appetizers that we had were very good and we will have dinner next time. There are plenty of awards and reviews on the walls.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peggy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tasters Taco Emporium also viewed

 
Tavernier, Key Largo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing