We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical!!!!!”
Review of Tasters Taco Emporium - CLOSED

Tasters Taco Emporium
Price range: $3 - $6
Cuisines: Mexican, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Magical!!!!!”
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

This is a really great secret! In a mall area which looks ok but there is seating in the back right on the water with huge tarpin swimming below as you eat. Food and service were absolutely extraordinary in every way. Superb. We wish we could visit more often!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawnintc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    75
    20
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, NC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wine Bar Guy Unpolished and a Liability”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed at bayside cottage about 1/2 mile from Tasters, We were attracted because of flyer in cottage that described a wine and cheese tasting bar in addition to meals. Arrived as bar was opening and sole attendant was a guy who looked like he needed a bath; he wasn't sure what cheeses were available but at our request he went to find out....and returned with a platter of miniscule samples of four frozen slices...along with unwelcome remarks that conveyed the impression that he was annoyed either with us or the world in general. Coarse, rude, unappreciative, sloppy, unprofessional and the reason we left rather than test the kitchen dinner menu....so can't comment on the food quality generally.

Daily specials are posted on chalk board outside entrance door but nothing is priced. When I asked server why not she advised that that is simply the restaurant's policy; I said that it was MY policy to insist that all specials be priced and I found that servers in most restaurants in the area did not routinely state prices. Servers need to revisit training manuals generally.....polish needed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1GrapeGuy, Owner at Tasters Taco Emporium, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
We apologize about your experience about our former bartender and that's all I can say. We wish you had stayed for our fantastic food selections and hope you do come back now that we have a (Totally!) friendly and educated staff.
Just so you understand about our "policy" on our special boards.
We have three special boards on our restaurant and we also post our specials on our website and on Facebook every day by 4:45. We post the entire specials listings on our inside chalkboard, our website and on facebook with the prices for each special.
Our two outside boards give a abbreviated version of the special for example tonight's "Sauteed Shrimp Served Over Granny Smith Apple & Napa Cabbage Slaw Topped with Pickled Ginger Vinaigrette" would simply be listed as "Sauteed Local Shrimp Appetizer" basically to catch someones eye who was walking by who may be interested in a shrimp dish. Our staff would explain the whole dish in detail (as we often have ingredients that many people are unaccustomed to) and tell them the cost of the dish.
Our goal is to service customers who enjoy a great dining experience and aren't concerned that our food selections aren't priced a dollar or two more than another local establishment that doesn't use fresh or local ingredients. We want you to enjoy a fantastic food and wine (or beer) experience when you join us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy to the Tummy!”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The chef is excellent! The best bread pudding I have ever had! Very cute place in a "strip mall". Be sure to eat outside if the weather is nice to watch the tarpon in the water.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2616Messy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Jordan, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unexpected "Chef-ly" Pleasure”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stopped at the strip mall in Tavernier, KL, just looking for a bite to eat. Got inside this little place and saw all the awards on the wall. Then to sort out the menu. Lots of different items for all tastes. My husband had yellowtail with a delicious sauce. I had an Asian duck LoMein, spicy and yummy. The soup of the day was a creamy bisque. Our server was very well versed in the terminology of the menu for the seafood and spices new to us. There were obvious "frequent flyers" as well as newbies like us. We would go back if we were there again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SheltieLover03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wow ! All we can say.”
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

For the overall service price setting and most importantly food I have to give this restaurant five stars across the board

Obviously service and location play a key role in a review but in the end we all know it's the food that counts.

We started our meal with the special soup of the day which was a corn bisque ! :) omg

We immediately went to our second course which was fresh grilled grouper over a bed of risotto. I can't forget to mention the nice selection of beer and wine to accompany the meal

Lastly we finished off our meal with an amazing heath bar bread pudding!

If you are traveling through the keys I would recommend stopping for an excellent meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SURFnTURFrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tasters Taco Emporium also viewed

 
Tavernier, Key Largo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing