We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful diving and great crew!”

Captain Slate's SCUBA Adventures
Ranked #3 of 26 Tours in Tavernier
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Operating since 1978, CAPTAIN SLATE'S SCUBA ADVENTURES is the premier dive, snorkel, and glass bottom boat operator. Located in Tavernier, we take groups to dive or snorkel at the best sites off of the Florida Keys. With three boats , your voyage experience is kept personable, relaxed, and exclusive. Don't forget - a visit to the Keys is not complete without the world famous Creature Feature! Our highly qualified staff offers PADI, NAUI, SDI, TDI, SEI, IANTD, DAN certifications and more, so start or continue your dive education here! What are you waiting for? Book your diving adventure!
Noblesville, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful diving and great crew!”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

My husband and I went down to the Keys to finish up our diving certification. We started in Indiana and didn't want to wait for the quarry to get warm enough. Found Captain Slates online and set everything up. Wayne was an amazing instructor. Gave us some good tips for when we go out on our own. On the 3rd and 4th dive, there was no one else on the boat. Rather then rescheduling us, they took us out on basically a private charter! Had a chance to get to know several of the crew members on and off the boat. For our very first dive together, we were the only two divers on the boat along with 12 snorkelers. One girl was asking how to use the snorkel gear. They took the time to shower her and her husband and made sure EVERYONE was comfortable before sending anyone off the boat. Great place. Great people. Will definitely be going back! Thanks for the great experiences!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank katelynkalus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    51
    8
    13
    32
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We will be back next year”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

My wife and I did a couple of days of diving with Cap'n Slates crew this fall and will definitely be back, creature feature was a blast.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing Experience”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

My family of 5 went on a snorkeling excursion with Captain Slate on Saturday, December 28th, 2013. It was a bit windy, but a staff member commented prior to our departure that the waves were only about a foot at the location that we would be snorkeling. After a very choppy 45 minute boat ride to the site, we began our snorkeling experience. Well, the 1 foot waves were closer to 3-4 foot waves and it was very difficult to swim into the current, which is where we needed to go to see the reef. I am an above average swimmer, but after fighting the current for about 30 minutes, and not seeing anything worthwhile, I just gave up and went back to the boat. My two teenage sons were also very frustrated. Over half of the 35 passengers were already back on the boat well before the time we were to depart. In my opinion, we shouldn't have even gone out in these conditions. It was a very frustrating day for my family and a complete waste of $200. When I complained about the conditions after trip, I was told "we did the best with the conditions we had". No the best would have been to not go out in those conditions!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TJBoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle Park, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wow, Made my Trip Worth It”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Choose this place because of the reviews and the excellence rating, but the day played a trick on me. The Wind was way too strong and it brought the currents against me when I was snorkeling. Though regardless saw many small fishes, turtles, stingrays, and an OCTOPUS !!! amazing trip friendly crew, supplied with all the equipment necessary. Willing to return.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EricP2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Diving Trip”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Did a guided dive , and must say i had heaps of fun!
It was an a lot better intruduction than i had in other places and our guide made sure we where comfortable with the equipment used.
Had 2 nice diving spots , one of ehm a statue of Jesus , with a short history lesson to it on board. The second one was in a nice reef part. We had to cut thisone short due to an aproaching storm. Better save than sorry.
So all in all , i can recomend cpt slates and ill defenetly use ehm again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nightmare1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Slate's SCUBA Adventures also viewed

 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Captain Slate's SCUBA Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing