We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff!”

Captain Slate's SCUBA Adventures
Ranked #3 of 25 Tours in Tavernier
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Operating since 1978, CAPTAIN SLATE'S SCUBA ADVENTURES is the premier dive, snorkel, and glass bottom boat operator. Located in Tavernier, we take groups to dive or snorkel at the best sites off of the Florida Keys. With three boats , your voyage experience is kept personable, relaxed, and exclusive. Don't forget - a visit to the Keys is not complete without the world famous Creature Feature! Our highly qualified staff offers PADI, NAUI, SDI, TDI, SEI, IANTD, DAN certifications and more, so start or continue your dive education here! What are you waiting for? Book your diving adventure!
New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great staff!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Creature Feature was fun even though we had just a few creatures.
Staff was good. We loved Captain Skylar and Brad.
We would dive with them again.
Boats not the newest but certainly adequate.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gigidiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    50
    8
    13
    32
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Had a great time”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We had a group of 15 go snorkeling. We really wanted to go to Christ of the Abyss and instead of telling us flat out no the seas are to rough Captain Bob said he would take us by and we could make up our mind, but due to the winds it might be too rough on that side of the reef. We had a pleasant trip out and the 1st mate, Wayne made the safety briefing informative for those not used to snorkeling in our group, but funny as well so it was not just a normal boring verbatim speech. As we got to the site Cpt Bob was right and there were 4-5 foot wave around the statue so we elected to go to the back side of the reef that had 2-3 foot waves. Even that was a bit rough. It is not their fault since they can't control the weather. We had several people get sea sick once we were in the water....but the crew was very helpful when they got back on the boat and helped those that were sick and kept an eye on them while the rest of us continued to snorkel. Overall it was still a great trip and the price was great. I will use again when we go back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ryanrp7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Check around for bettter diving”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I was certified at Captain Slate and feel like a loyal customer. However, their service and value is not their. Check around and you will fin much better. If you are certified and know the reef well, then Captain Slate is good. If you want amenties like bottled water, snacks, guides, feeling safe in the water, warm shower, friendly crew, then check elsewhere. I was teribly dissapointed in the creature feature as well.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Very Poor Scuba Day”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We had a party of 3 divers and one snorkeler on a Sunday morning trip.

The girl who took our reservations & guy at the desk were both nice. Our first mate was exceptional. They each catered to us even though we were on board with two shark experts and an Italian film crew there to shoot. The captain, however, started off our trip with a couple of rudely-toned remarks & spent the rest of the trip trying to be nicer.
"If you're going with us, you did know that this boat should have left 5 minutes ago? Why aren't you on it?"
"We'll, we had JUST gotten our last diver geared up by your staff- that's why."
I know they are on a tight schedule, but how about telling your staff to speed things up and send us directly to the boat- instead of getting our $500 day started off with an irritated captain?

They were supposed to completely outfit us, yet they didn't have shorties to fit two of us, so they went without.

Where most dive shops will set up your gear, we carried out our own gear and assembled our own regulators & bcds onto our tanks. Two o rings had to be replaced before they were airtight. Not good.

The girl doing our safety briefing stopped to take a phone call (in front of us) from her daughter. Apparently they were arguing because the daughter had locked herself out of the house. Hello? Professionalism?

The creature feature was moved several times once under due to having trouble finding fish, so they were difficult to find in 10ft visibility. There were no fish to see, so apparently we didn't miss anything.

Not that this can be helped, but the seas were plagued with 5-6 feet waves, many was sick over the side, and the viz stunk.

Check out your options before deciding on this shop- other shops will offer more in terms of gear and set up. If you still want to try them, ask about viz and water conditions... and for Heaven's sake, take some Dramamine!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeffreysgirl2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
132 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Snorkelers!”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We've taken several snorkel only trips in the keys with different dive centers - Molasses, Sombrero, Dry Rocks - and this was the best trip.

Don't listen to the other reviewer pooh poohing snorkelers on a dive boat. We had a great trip going to City of Washington and Train Wheels, both on Elbow Reef and we were the only four snorkelers on the boat.

One of the dive masters fed a nurse shark, moray eel and a grouper while at City of Washington. He was on the bottom in about 25' of water. It wasn't too deep for two of us to swim down and take some pictures. The wives floated on top and could see very well - that was as close as they wanted to get anyway. The top of the wreck on this reef was about 15 feet and there were a lot of fish swimming around us all the time.

The other site, Train(ing?) Wheels, was good also. Top of the reefs were about 8 feet. Lot of reef fish.

All of the crew on the boat were great - a lot of fun.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gehutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Slate's SCUBA Adventures also viewed

 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Captain Slate's SCUBA Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing