We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, peaceful, beautiful getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Atlantic Bay Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2014

I spent many hours researching before choosing this resort for my 6 year old granddaughter's first Keys vacation. I was looking for an alternative to the big resorts, and this worked out perfectly. We got secluded quiet, old Florida Keys atmosphere in an ideal location, with plenty to do with a small child either here or a short drive down the road.

The grounds are beautiful, lushly landscaped, immaculate and constantly maintained. A previous reviewer spoke of the pool as saltwater, and I wanted to clarify that it is not. Perhaps the filtering system has a salt generator but the pool is fresh water.

We loved our Cottage, number 1, which was very close to the water and had everything we needed. The best part was the thatch covered wooden front porch with table and chairs, where my husband spent many contented hours while I played with my granddaughter. The full kitchen allowed us to bring our own food and save money on breakfast and lunches, and we did take-out dinners a couple of nights as well. The master had a king bed and was separated by french doors from the front living area, where my granddaughter slept happily on the pullout sofabed. The room smelled as clean as it was, as opposed to many places in the Keys that smell of mildew. Our cottage was among those recently remodeled,a with large walk-in tile shower and granite countertops in the kitchen.

The pool, beach and dock kept my granddaughter entertained for many hours, swimming, fishing, or just poking around hunting for hermit crabs and other interesting creatures. I snorkeled in the bay as well. Two nurse sharks that hung out around the dock were fun to drop squid down to (for those unfamiliar, nurse sharks are totally harmless, gentle creatures that vacuum up their food). We also saw many snapper, rays and schools of parrotfish. There were kayaks and a standup paddle board also available.

I particularly liked the location, roughly halfway between the attractions in Key Largo and Islamorada, yet less than five minutes from a grocery store and several good restaurants. We were out of the congestion but never more than 15 minutes from anything we wanted to do. Halfway through our week long stay I discovered that the Hilton, which is just up the road, had a first class watersports operation where we could go parasail and rent waverunners or Hobie Cats, pick up a watered down cocktail at the tiki bar, and then happily leave the crowded beach and big hotel atmosphere behind and scoot back to our little oasis at Atlantic Bay.

I am a picky traveller, and I highly recommend Atlantic Bay for either a couples retreat or family get-together.

Room Tip: They are remodeling the efficiencies. So past reviews of those may soon be obsolete.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (664)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

530 - 536 of 664 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014

Just got back from a 3 night stay. Great location, great little resort - spotless clean rooms and great staff. Everything you could need on a trip! Would stay there again in a heartbeat during our next Keys trip

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor in an efficiency - 2 adults and 2 kids and we did not feel cramped
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank austin k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

WOW I guess is the best way to start Off! Felt Like We were on our own Island! From the moment we called Ted and Ashley were most accommodating! We Were Lucky enough to be able to book the entire resort. Not a Hitch in the entire weekend Nice onsite Boat Ramp with Water hose Bib to flush the motor and rinse the trailer Nice touch for us maintenance minded boaters! Then Just pick your location on the Lovely manicured Beach sand (reminded me of a Zen Garden) and await the most breath taking Sunset View from one of the many comfortable Chase Lounges or under one of the Lovely Tikis on the property Off the Main Drag Overseas Highway but Definitely don't miss this place Will Be back with the WINOS Next Year and for sure a smaller group real soon

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We took over the entire resort with 60 plus friends. The whole staff was welcoming and accommodating for the entire group. The rooms were clean and well appointed. Our group was very happy and will be back again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Madkins2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Atlantic Bay Resort was recomended by a friend. She said older resort but just remodeled. I was hesitant. This is our first trip to the Keys and I wanted it to be perfect. Wow! She was right. This is a perfect place to stay. Rooms are updated. We have a kitchen setup for light cooking (no dishwasher), one bedroom, one bath cottage with a tiki porch view of the water. Sandy sunning areas near water are groomed daily. Salt water pool. Lots of chaise loungers provided. Boat ramp and dock if you want to bring or rent a boat. Fishing, swimming, kayaking, scuba......plenty to do. Grills provided for cookouts. Housekeeping daily. Friendly peacock roams the grounds. We love it!

Room Tip: Cottage 19 has 2 bdrms/1 ba porch directly facing water. Cottage 2 tiki porch inline with pool vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Just spent a fabulous weekend with a group of friends. The staff was accommodating and our bay view bungalow was comfortable and clean! Unbelievable sunsets! Great dockage! Nice beach and pool! We all will be returning next year for our annual event! And I will definitely be visiting in between!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Book the whole hotel and loved it it is in the process of being upgrade so it will only get better. Totally enjoyed our stay. Would do it again. The rooms have kitchens that we liked and plenty of BBQ grills.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winogroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavernier
0.3 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,394 reviews
5.1 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
7.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 20 in Key Largo
1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
9.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,607 reviews
2.2 mi away
MB at Key Largo
MB at Key Largo
#8 of 20 in Key Largo
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Bay Resort

Address: 160 Sterling Rd, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070-2708 (Formerly Bay Breeze Motel Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range: $227 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantic Bay Resort is nestled in Tavernier, the loveliest part of Key Largo and the diving capital of the world. We are conveniently located 1-1/2 hours south of Miami, and 2 hours north of Key West, the southernmost tip of the continental USA. The little jewel we call Atlantic Bay is a small resort that faces the Gulf of Mexico's Florida Bay. It is located on three tropical landscaped acres with 500 feet of waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Atlantic Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Bay Hotel Tavernier
Hotel Atlantic Bay
Atlantic Bay Resort Key Largo/Tavernier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing