We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roaches, bugs, bad smell, & terrible maintenance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atlantic Bay Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Our visit here was extremely disappointing. We were fooled apparently by the pictures on their website and the high reviews on Tripadvisor rating it as very good or excellent but this place is terrible if you are looking for clean & functional accommodations. We booked one of their "pool view" cottages and it basically has a view of a gravel parking lot and parked cars. We entered our cottage and were greeted by a "chemical smell" that had the odor of a very strong disinfectant that was very unpleasant. We were greeted by bugs running on the floor as soon as we turned on the lights, a dead cockroach in the corner, the only lamp in the bedroom was broken (not a burned out light but the socket was pulled out and just dangling...can you say electrical shock hazard?). The condition of the cottages was terrible, where do I begin; the tile grout was black and has not been cleaned in years, the kitchen appliances were terrible (rust), the television was a vintage 1970's model, the AC was mounted on the wall over the bed in the bedroom and the louvers were broken so it blew down on your face when you slept, there was no AC in the sitting area with the pull out couch so our kids who slept in the room had no AC circulation and that room was always warm, the AC broke on the last night so we all endured one night of 90 degree weather with no AC at all, the grounds were not kept up and maintained, the landscaping was overgrown, some of the tiki hut covers around the property were literally falling apart, all the outdoor seating on the beach area was the least expensive molded plastic seats you can buy from walmart for about $3 per chair, there were a few addirondack chairs that were so filthy we could not sit on them, there was dog/cat poop on the beach from the roaming cats. Worse part was we picked this place partly because it was on the bay side of the key and they advertised "an exclusive private beach" for swimming but 50% of beach access is coral and you can't walk on it and the other 50% was either mangrove or sea grass & slim clogging the access to the water so there is no nice place to enter the water from "the beach". We were going to use the pool but it had a green shade to it and was not maintained, the decking was so warn that it had jagged and worn brick in the coping that could easily cut your hand and feet if you touched or rubbed along side it.

We did meet the front desk manager one time for about 5 minutes and she seemed nice but its clear that this "hotel" is owned by someone who just rents out the rooms and puts no money back into maintenance and cleaning. There were other problems we saw but suffice it to say we would not recommend this place at all. I also forgot to mention the mold/mildew all over the shower floor in the tile grout. Yuck..this place with its lack of maintenance, roaches, and misleading advertising/reviews should be priced for rentals at about $50 per night vs $200 per night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank makerr30196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (623)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

583 - 589 of 623 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stopped on a Sunday night just after 6pm having no reservations. The staff had just left but there was a number on the door to call. We called and he made a special trip over to accommodate us. We stayed in one of the cottages, which looked much more inviting then the efficiency rooms (which were like apartments). The cottage - was so so. Reviewers are correct when they say this place needs some updating. I am all for the older throwback era cottages. However, the kitchen stove had a sign that it didn't work, the exterior of the fridge was dirty, and my kids used the pull-out couch for which we were provided no bedding. Mind you it was late and I was the one who chose not to call the staff back over for a second trip in order to get the linens. Instead we split the small amount we had from the other bed. The kids used the quilt cover as a sheet and the blanket. We had a fitted and a flat sheet and nothing else. So - that all said - we loved spending time outdoors of our cottage. We picked up a pizza from Old Tavernier Italian Restaurant, bought a bottle of wine, and took the food to the thatch-covered picnic table at the waterfront. Another group nearby was grilling outside their cottage having fun. We talked to other guests who had gone fishing, and liked sitting on the bench at the end of the dock watching the fish below us. A small cat sat near us while we ate, and one very gorgeous peacock was roaming the grounds, the trees and the rooftops. It was too cloudy to watch the sun set, but we sat at the waterfront until after dark. There were very few bugs. Overall, we enjoyed it for one night. If you want luxury you are not going to get it here, but honestly folks, we spent under $150 for a cottage on the waterfront in the Keys, so I think you get good value for what you pay for and don't be afraid to ask if you are missing something.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank GNeeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
Thank Sillly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtlanticBay, Front Desk at Atlantic Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank srock_467947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtlanticBay, Front Desk at Atlantic Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rafi241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank L4584XHfabiov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kal0u974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavernier
0.3 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,353 reviews
5.1 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
7.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#11 of 20 in Key Largo
1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
2.2 mi away
MB at Key Largo
MB at Key Largo
#8 of 20 in Key Largo
863 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Bay Resort

Address: 160 Sterling Rd, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070-2708 (Formerly Bay Breeze Motel Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range: $204 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantic Bay Resort is nestled in Tavernier, the loveliest part of Key Largo and the diving capital of the world. We are conveniently located 1-1/2 hours south of Miami, and 2 hours north of Key West, the southernmost tip of the continental USA. The little jewel we call Atlantic Bay is a small resort that faces the Gulf of Mexico's Florida Bay. It is located on three tropical landscaped acres with 500 feet of waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Atlantic Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Bay Hotel Tavernier
Hotel Atlantic Bay
Atlantic Bay Resort Key Largo/Tavernier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing