We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Keys cuban” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunrise Cuban Cafe and Market

Sunrise Cuban Cafe and Market
Ranked #9 of 23 Restaurants in Tavernier
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Cafe, Spanish, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Authentic Cuban Food ~ Cuban CoffeeBreakfast / Lunch / DinnerEat-in or Take OutCafeteria style / counter order / table order
South
Level Contributor
333 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Awesome Keys cuban”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We hit this place several times during our week long stay in Tavernier. The food and coffee were consistently good. Service was great. It's not much to look at from the inside, but the food is excellent. This is a must stop if you like Cuban food and are near this area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IslandBoy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    64
    30
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maplewood, NJ
Level Contributor
74 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Authentic Cuban at the right price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

If your focus is good food, this is the place to go. Servings are large and can feed two moderate eaters. Cuisine is authentic, and the atmosphere very casual -- almost like someone's kitchen. The experience is made more interesting by a small grocery store at the back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cseleosida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Oklahoma
1 review
“Awesome authentic Cuban atmosphere and food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

It took awhile to find a non-americanized Cuban food (we wanted Cuban food, not an imitation) but we found it in the keys! We've grown weary of americanized foods that pass themselves off as "Cuban" but this one is the real deal! Cafe Con Leche is awesome and the steamer buffet will have you drooling - we haven't had a bad dish here yet! We stop here whenever we drive down to the keys and on the way back. You want real Cuban food, this is the real deal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FCHenrietta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Seriously delicious Cuban food! We eat there any time we get down there!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Got the Ropa Viejas! It's killer! It's shredded pork in a yummy sauce served with black beans and rice-I got their brown rice on the day I took this picture. Cuban sandwich is an excellent staple as well. Their Café con leche (Cuban coffee with steam milk and sugar) is top-notch and a perfect way to start out your day in the Keys. We eat a lot of Cuban food and this restaurant is one of our favorites. Their fried plantains are a must for anyone trying Cuban food for the first time. You will get addicted!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nautiluschell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“cuban style food.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

no american admosphere. too cuban. and needs to up date american food into menu. only visited one time. will try again soon.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank arlene806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunrise Cuban Cafe and Market also viewed

Tavernier, Key Largo
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 
Tavernier, Key Largo
 

Been to Sunrise Cuban Cafe and Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing