We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cozy and snug as a bug in a rug!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Fox Haven Cottage

Kitchen view from Living Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen view from Living Area
View of screen porch and cottage Fox Haven Cottage Entrance sign
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Kitchen view from Living Area
View of screen porch and cottage
Fox Haven Cottage Entrance sign
Entrance
Screen porch sitting area
Stacked Washer & Dryer
Living room. Pull out couch becomes full size bed.
Dining and entertainment area
Kitchen view
Refrigerator and pantry
Bedroom. Full size bed (recently remodeled to give more floor space.)
Newly remodeled bedroom... more floor space.
Bathroom Entrance
Tiled walk in shower
Splash Park at Wooton Park
Playground at Wooton Park
Lake Front area
Pavillion on the Lake
Train at Train Station, Wooton Park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Tavares, Lake County, Florida

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Robin R
Dover, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cozy and snug as a bug in a rug!”
Reviewed January 18, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

The love and pride that Bill and Betty have for Fox Haven Cottage is obvious in every inch of the place. They have thought through what they would like in a home away from home and put it all there. Thank you for a very inviting and comfortable stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnie M
1 review
“great surprise!”
Reviewed August 3, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

What a wonderful home away from home. So very clean and cozy and privacy respected. owner so very friendly. Hope to stay there again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandie D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This cottage is simply AMAZING!”
Reviewed June 24, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We recently sold our house in Tavares and needed a place to stay until the closing. I located Fox Haven on VRBO and drove by it first, then contacted the owners. I have stayed at many rentals all over the place, but this was by far the most well stocked. Everything you needed was there, and more! The hosts, Bill and Betty were extremely accommodating and unobtrusive. They were there if you needed them, but were not pushy in any way. This cottage has a great screened in Florida room that I spent a lot of time in, just relaxing. It is a quiet neighborhood and there are bird feeders, which brings a lot of pleasure while you are sitting in the sun room. The bathroom has been completely remodeled and really cool. I took pictures so I could try to duplicate it when we find our new home. There were fresh flowers on the table for our arrival, which was a very sweet touch. Coffeemaker, coffee filters, and even Starbucks coffee was in the cupboard. I paid for the stay online and the owner noticed that his special pricing structure had not carried over to the website, and he was honest enough to mention it and charge the lesser price, which is amazing. Never had that happen before. He is an accountant and as meticulous about his cottage as he probably is with his client's taxes. We would definitely stay there again, when we go back to Tavares. There was also a neat guest book that had all kinds of details about the area. We didn't need that part of it, as we have lived in Tavares for 3 years, but it is there for folks not familiar with the area. Great place with great owners. I highly recommend it!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississip...
Gulfport
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A good base to visit Central Florida and to relax.”
Reviewed May 23, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Want to go to Disney World and not fight the traffic? Only an hour away and three roads with little traffic to Disney. Centrally located to Orlando, Ocala, and Leesburg . A very quiet neighborhood, a minute away from the business district and major highway. We stayed here four days to attend our grandson's graduation and went to Disney World Hollywood Studios. The cottage was perfect for a couple but has a pull out sofa for more. The living room was more roomy than I expected. Bill and Betty was so welcoming and asked if they could do any more to make our stay more pleasant. In the future when we visit our daughter and grand-kids, this will be our place to stay. When word gets out, we may have a hard time making reservations. So much better than a motel.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmurphy83...
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
“Fox Haven Cottage”
Reviewed March 3, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Having spent the month of February 2017,
We were very satisfied the cottage was very clean and well maintained. The owners were unobtrusive yet responsive.
Very good experience...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 4, 2017
Thanks for the wonderful review. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry108...
Holland, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Comfortable, just the right size cottage”
Reviewed November 12, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Enjoyed our stay at the cottage while visiting friends and relatives in the area. Just the right size, very clean. Enjoyed the luana on those quiet evenings we had free.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the size of the place was perfect
Liked least: mattress could have been softer
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2016
Jerry, Thank you for the wonderful review and I'm glad you had a wonderful time. We strive to make everyone's visit a great one and would like to inquire why you only gave your visit 4 bubbles. We are always looking for ways to improve Fox Haven Cottage and customer feedback is the best way to do so.
Thanks again,
Bill & Betty
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jon k
Palmetto, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wow..what a fabulous cottage.”
Reviewed July 7, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

What a great time we had.the cottage was in a great quite location but close to mt.dora.very clean and well built,supplied..the value couldn't be beat..

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;