We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites of Tavares
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tavares
Reviewed January 5, 2007

We stayed at this property because of it's proximity to family we were visiting. I checked rates online but was able to get a better deal calling the hotel directly with our entertainment card discount. I began to get worried after reading the reviews on trip advisor but chose to stay here anyway because of price, location and amenities. We were very pleased with our stay. The room and bathroom were clean and the bed was very comfy. Another family member stayed here with us and the commented on the bed as well. We also used the hot tub the evening we stayed and sat by the pool reading the paper the next morning. The tables and pool area were also well kept. We didnt make it in time for the free continental breakfast but it looked like we should have gotten up for it! However a suggestion by someone in our party was that the breakfast area needed a microwave. We will definitly stay here again when visiting this area.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kelstime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 381 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2006

We stayed here last year for my mother-in-law's funeral in March. There were 200+ people at the funeral, and many stayed here for its location. There were no problems, and so this October when my sister-in-law got married, her dad reserved a block of 15 rooms for the wedding party. We reserved with our credit card 6 weeks out, and asked if the room slept 4. We were told the room has a king bed and a pull-out couch. We always ask questions because we have a 9-year-old with Autism who needs a comfortable place to sleep with the least amount of change in sleeping arrangements possible. Two days before arrival, I placed a call to the hotel to make sure there were no problems, the reservation was upheld, and that we were still getting a room that sleeps 4. I was informed by Nick, the same person that I spoke to each and every time, that all 15 reserved rooms had only one king-size bed. I reminded him what he had said 6 weeks earlier and asked him to put us in a room that 4 of us would be able to sleep in for 2 days, and let him know that we were traveling with a special-needs child. He said there was no availability. When I asked what the rate was for the suite with a pull-out couch, he said the rate was $149 and he did now have one that he could put us in, if we paid the higher rate. I let him know that we stayed there the previous year and that we had no problems, and that we are a military family who travels alot and usually stays in some form of a Best Western for the value. I also let him know that I felt it was unprofessional to mislead a guest about the size of the room and the amenities, and inconvenient to put us in such a spot 2 days before a wedding. I let him know I would try to find a room at another hotel that could accommodate all of us without sleeping on the floor, and if I called back within ten minutes would he cancel the room. He said that if I called in the next few minutes he would honor our cancellation. Availability was limited because of an ongoing crafts festival in nearby Mount Dora. We reserved a room with 2 beds at the Comfort Inn 40 minutes away from the area we needed to be in. I called back and Nick said he would take care of the cancellation and assured me I would not be charged a fee. Six days later a fee of $75 showed up on my Navy Federal Bank statement. I called and again spoke to Nick. He explained that he mistakenly charged my card number under my father-in-law's name, because one of the guests did not show and one of the other 15 rooms remained empty. He asked me to give him a contact number for my father-in-law to explain why he would be charging him a cancellation fee, although he had previously walked around to each and every room with Nick to be sure there were *no vacant rooms* in the block of reservations. (He also promised to put the refund through before contacting my father-in-law). By the time I discovered the truth, he had already been billed the proper amount and had paid the bill in full. My charge was not reversed within 3-5 business days as Nick had promised, and when I called to ask why, no one could reach him or tell me when he would be coming into work. I left messages that were not answered, and when I called again no one could give me a number or email address for customer service, or the owner's contact info, or even a supervisor's name. I found customer service online and told them what happened. They let me know that the hotel has 7 days to respond to a complaint. When I spoke to them again, a man named Robert had me on hold while speaking with Nick, who could now miraculously be reached by phone. Robert let me know there were "conflicting stories" and "no cancellation was ever made," so I would not get my money back for a room I never even stayed in. Robert also let me know he was "biased, because (he) works for Best Western." Corporate even said they had no control over the hotels because they are all individually owned and operated.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
2  Thank CINACK75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
LaGrange, GA
15
Reviewed March 15, 2006

Paid for 2 rooms for family and relatives. One room Rm 518 had no cold water in shower. Front desk was informed first day. Requested it to be fixed or be moved to another room. Was not corrected in two days. Called Best Western national number to complain but they cannot do anything. Hotels are independently owned. Manager responded and called national number to say I was wrong and he had checked Rm 518 and had hot and cold. Manager told them it couldn't be bad because room 518 and 516 shared the same pipes. Manager lied. Room 518 and 516 do not share same water supply, rooms 518 and 520 do. We had to share one shower with 5 people. I know how to adjust a one handle shower valve. Manager never moved us. Room 516 where daughter and her husband stayed had a 3-way light switch behind a mirror on the wall. You could rock the mirror, hear a electrical buzz and the light over the entry door would flicker. Manager sent up a hotel worker (not the maintance man) who looked at problem but could not speak english or correct. When confronted at front desk, the manager said he had called out his repair man (Friday). When I checked out on the last day (Sunday morning) I met the repair (maintance) man. He said no one had called him the two previous 2 days to fix anything. Manager lies again. None of problems were fixed, no room move was offered and no compensation was offered. I have tried to call the manager three times but he is always unavailable.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2005

My husband and a business associate made a reservation for a one night stay at this property. The reservation was made the evening prior to the anticipated stay. The following day, the business meetings ended early and he did not require a hotel stay. He attempted to cancel the reservation. What ensued was the most miserable experience we have ever had with a hotel and we travel extensively.

We were informed that they had a 48 hour cancelation policy.....we were NOT INFORMED of this at the time the reservation was made. We asked to speak with the manager and were told he would be in "around 8pm." We called several times and he was never in. We left messages on his machine as the front desk clerk (the same one who made the reservation without telling us the cancelation policy) did not have the power to cancel the reservation.

The next morning after the manager had not called back, we again called. He informed us that he would not cancel the reservation. We explained that we were never informed of their policy. He was curt and unwilling to be of assistance to us.

We called Best Western Hotels directly and they lacked any power to intervene on our behalf. Never will we even consider a Best Western again.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Service
6  Thank Murphy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
212
Reviewed October 4, 2005

Stayed there cause it is new. However, the place is
almost empty, girl at the front desk barely speaks english. My room was dank until I turned on the air conditioner, no way to turn the vents, so I had to put a chair in front of the vents. Two lamps were missing light bulbs, to save money. The bed sheets were cheap and rough to the touch, pillows were cheap and flat. Bathroom was dirty and moldy. Called for service due to no hot water, the service man spoke no english..we used sign language. Turns out the plumbing was reversed. Blue means hot Red means cold.
Only one tissue box in the room...never again will I stay there!!!!! stay away from foreign franchisee
very cheap with everything

  • Stayed: October 2005, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank mickwupp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Manfred N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavares
1.7 mi away
Key West Resort on Lake Dora
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tavares
2 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites Mount Dora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
#1 of 5 in Mount Dora
587 reviews
10.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Chain Of Lakes Inn & Suites
5 mi away
Hampton Inn Leesburg - Tavares
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites of Tavares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites of Tavares

Address: 1380 E Burleigh Blvd, Tavares, FL 32778 (Formerly Best Western Plus Lake County Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake County > Tavares
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tavares
Price Range: $84 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites of Tavares 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a five story location, located in Tavares, Florida, directly across Highway 441 from Florida Hospital Waterman. We neighbor the cities of Eustis, Leesburg, and Mount Dora. There are many nearby places for shopping, eating, and entertaining. Come visit the Seaplane City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites of Tavares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lake County Inn And Suites
Best Western Lake County Hotel Tavares
Best Western Tavares
Tavares Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing