We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view of Lake Dora”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Key West Resort on Lake Dora
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tavares
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2014

The location is very good, right across the street from the water,within walking distance to a few restaurants including some in the street level of the 2 buildings. The building is very new so everything is really clean, our room had a sink and counter/cabinet area with a small round table that works well for eating in which we did one night. Our small fridg. made a growling noise that lasted a few minutes seems like way too often and the a/c heating unit is up high on the wall above the sink so it blows right on your bed when on , I got in a chair and tried to push up the vents to direct the air flow upwards but the front is made of plastic and would not stay put. We stayed a few days and the maid service was almost non existant, never changing sheets, (we made the bed ourselves) after the first day, never sweeping the all tile floor, sometimes not leaving clean towels/washcloths, never replenished the shampoo etc. for the price of the room they need to hire more workers or train present employees better. In room wall phone would not work, so we had to use cell for calling the frt desk, they said phone service was tied into the internet which is very spotty and mostly does not work. We were able to get on the wifi from a local restaurant when needed. There was no alarm clock so no wakeup calls, office has small amount of ironing boards,irons,hairdryers. also no chest of drawers to put in your clothes for longer stays. Overall this is the location that makes this property worth staying here again but be prepared for the problems stated. Also included was $7:00 off per person breakfast each morning at their restaurant with good food but the service was worse than the maid service because of not enough workers there. This property has great potential but they need to step up their game in some areas to justify the prices charged.

Room Tip: Ask for ironing board/iron and hair dryer when arriving if needed because they do not have many to s...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roamer7456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
There are newer reviews for Key West Resort on Lake Dora
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 170 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

Absolutely stunning rooms, tastefully decorated and all have fantastic views of Lake Dora. Staff are friendly and helpful and there are several excellent restaurants and cafes nearby. Definitely one of the nicest places at which I've had the pleasure of staying. A welcome surprise in central Florida.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PRC1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Even if you don't fly in with your Seaplane this is a great stop. Seaplane parking, hotel and meals without walking a hundred yards. This is a MUST
if you fly seaplanes. Hotel and marina staff very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Ualcapsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The accommodations were very nice, the room had an excellent view, the staff was very friendly and pleasant... we will defiantly be staying here again... I was very impressed with the location on the strip as there were several restaurants to choose from... next time we come we will most defiantly be trying the Cajun restaurant Tasso located in the Building... Oh, and by the way I had the best sleep in the big comfy bed.

Sincerely,
Happy Guest

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ashcat17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We rented this room for the 4th of July so we could watch the fireworks and avoid the traffic jam. The room was so huge!! Clean and accommodating. Staff was amazing. We were in room 201, a corner room that overlooked the cigar/wine bar. We had a perfect view of the festivities and fireworks on the lake. We could have watched the show from our balcony but opted to join the roof top party for a great buffet of finger foods that was included in our room price. We were also provided a breakfast sandwich made on fresh focaccia bread. Delicious.
We immediately reserved the same room for next year and plan on making this our new family tradition.

Room Tip: 201 is a corner room overlooking the cigar and wine bar. slightly obstructed view of the lake.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sonja V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Absolutely perfect location for bikefest. Nice ride into town. The people couldn't be nicer and more helpful. Great rooms, so clean and fresh. Walking distance to great bars and restaurants. The restaurant in the hotel, Tasso is wonderful. Everyone was so friendly, thank you Tom and Roger for making it a wonderful stay. We will be back next year with more friends!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TAG501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

My organizations hosted a retreat for my Board. Everything from arranging the group stay and the reservation process to set up and food arrangements the day of the retreat was wonderful! Special thanks to Tom and Roger. I would highly recommend the Lakeview Inn!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavares
5.1 mi away
Lakeside Inn
Lakeside Inn
#2 of 5 in Mount Dora
958 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tavares
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake County Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
#1 of 5 in Mount Dora
552 reviews
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites Mount Dora
4.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Leesburg/Mt Dora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key West Resort on Lake Dora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Resort on Lake Dora

Address: 199 W Ruby St, Tavares, FL 32778-3821 (Formerly Lakeview Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake County > Tavares
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tavares
Price Range: $114 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Key West Resort on Lake Dora 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at one of Florida's only inland seaplane basins, where pilots like to stop in, enjoy the entertainment, and often spend the night before the next day's adventures. Jet skis are available for rental, as well as boat rentals. There is a steam engine (Orange Blossom Cannonball) that runs from Tavares to the historic village of Mt. Dora and beyond with themed trips. Live entertainment is common on the weekends on the waterfront at Puddle Jumpers (restaurant and bar) and Al's Sandbar (bar with limited menu). The hotel itself has The Tiki West Raw Bar and Grille, as well as Lago Dora Italian Restaurant, and Brand Charles Studio and Salon on premises. Classic Boat Racing, Antique Car Shows, Sailing Regattas, and Jet Ski Tournaments are common events on Lake Dora in Tavares, as well as the famous Arts and Antiques Festivals in Mt. Dora. The Downtown Tavares area is an Entertainment District, where patrons are allowed to stroll (with the adult beverages of their choice) to visit the many shops, museums, and restaurants and bars. The Hotel is located only two blocks from the Lake County Courthouse in Tavares, Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Key West Resort on Lake Dora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing