We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“BEWARE!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on the Green

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn on the Green
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Tavares
hillsboro.tn
1 review
“BEWARE!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Stayed here for one night just in town for a wedding.Had small children with us.According to recent reveiws this place is at least "decent'.Well i don't know what room these people received but upon get towels from the rack in the bathroom a syringe was found!!!!! CDC and health dept. need to visit places like this periodically to find out what type of establishment they are running.Apparentally looks can be very deceiving and on line info and pics are NOT always accurate!!! Stay at a well known hotel change and STAY FAR AWAY from sketchy motels such as this!!

Room Tip: STAY AT A WELL KNOWN HOTEL (i.e Hampton Inn) Not a sleezy cheap motel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    26
    5
    9
    16
See reviews for
32
17
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Very caring , hospitable staff always have a pleasant stay and highly recommend this Hotel to others.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heart34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The place is obviously older, I would guess from the 50's or 60's, but it is well taken care of and clean. The motel and grounds give you a feel for what the "old" Florida must have been like before it was overrun by tourists and retirees. The room was spacious and well appointed, with a kitchenette, which we didn't have time to use. The manager told us there was actually a golf course here at one time, thus the name, but now all that is left is a driving range. You actually hit balls into a lake! Hard to imagine how many balls there must be in there by now after years of this. All in all, a nice place, quiet and peaceful, even though on a busy highway. We were visiting relatives nearby, so this was perfect for us. However, there doesn't seem to be much to do or see in the area - Orlando is an hour away and theme parks probably 90 minutes in heavy traffic.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

I will start by saying the staff has their customer service skills down pat and were extremely nice and helpful. Because of that I find it difficult to write this. The room itself was very spacious with a small fridge and microwave which is always nice to have when traveling. The sheets were clean but I hesitate to even guess when the last time the blanket and bedspread were washed. The rug felt nasty under foot and the towels were so ruff it hurt to use them. However the worse part of all was the mattress. After a few hours of tossing and turning I got up (barely) and slept (or tried to sleep) in the chair. The mattress was lumpy with no support what so ever. I'm glad we brought our own pillows because the ones there were like sponges with lumps in them. They do put out coffee and donuts in the morning. Next time we'll bring our RV.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meagainbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innonthegreenfl, Webmaster at Inn on the Green, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Inn on the Green during your last visit to our area.

We appreciate you for giving us a review and we take it very seriously indeed as this will contribute a long way towards improvement.

Thanks for your positive remark that you liked the hospitality of our staff and the amenities, but we are taking steps improve the same further.

Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

The hotel cleaning and maintenance staff have been given additional training to ensure maximum cleanliness of the rooms ,bed and bed linen etc.

Please note and consider us once again for your stay at our area and experience the new hospitality.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We have stayed at the Inn most every year in March while visiting for the Florida CentraL Railroad. Room was clean, bathroom remodeled and hot water. Coffee was ready in the morning but not much else.

Room Tip: rooms in the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jay b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

From the first minutes we spent looking out over the lake, watching the sun set, and just enjoying the beautiful landscaped grounds of this Grand Motel in sunny Tavares Florida. The staff was great, cant think of anything they would'nt have done for us....really, Ken the manager offered us an extre night at half price just to get us to stay longer...wished we could have.All the house keepers were friendly and helpful.....oh well. We'll be back soon !!

Room Tip: First floor side was super nice, close to parking, pool, vending..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BC34red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

First let me tell you that while I was not on vacation I was having a very stresssful situation in my life. I checked in to a lovely old inn in tavares Fl. to try and get my head together and make some critical decisions in my life. The staff, from day one was courteous and super helpful. My room was quiet, nicely decorated and exceptionally large and clean. The staff made me feel safe and welcome. The view of the lake was a great. Sue the housekeeper was great to talk to and really helped me see life in a new light. I spent several hours in the lobby, on the computer and Ken hepled me navigate several different sights. You may think this this is overkill about this hotel. but if you are having a tough time in life it sure is a lot more reasonable than a psychiatrist. I would recommend this place to anyone. The area is full of things to do and places to see.
Sincerely
M. A. Nolan

Room Tip: Ask for second floor facing the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank molly34388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavares
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites Mount Dora
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lake County Inn & Suites
1.5 mi away
Key West Resort on Lake Dora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Leesburg/Mt Dora
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tavares
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
#1 of 5 in Mount Dora
4.0 of 5 stars 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Green

Property: Inn on the Green
Address: 700 E Burleigh Blvd, Tavares, FL 32778-2299
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake County > Tavares
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Tavares
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn on the Green 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Inn on the Green Hotel is Located in the Heart of Lake County, Central Florida, which offers Affordable, Elegant Large Rooms and Suites to Comfort both the Business and Pleasure Traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Inn on the Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing