We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“under new management, by nice people !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Classic Inn of Tavares
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Tavares
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“under new management, by nice people !”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I've stayed here twice in the past few months. The rooms are basic and clean and and odor-free. the beds are comfortable and having a frig and microwave were very useful. it's a bargain compared to rates in the area. i looked at other motels along this corridor and they were all about the same quality. parking right in front of the room. I was concerned about road noise as it is located on a busy road but it was quiet in the rooms. if you are looking for a resort...go elsewhere but if your focus is a clean, quick, cheap night off the road...it is the best value.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deborah34227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    3
    4
    13
See reviews for
6
5
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

I reserved a 2 week stay at what I thought was a basic, clean motel in order to handle a family emergency . Another family member was already staying there for several days and said the rooms were okay. My room had a shower curtain so moldy and full of body odor that the bathroom stunk. The towels had black stains on them. The bedding had multiple long black hairs there and the room was very shabby. When I asked at the desk why the room was in such poor condition, I was advised that rooms rented by the week were not maintained the same as the rooms rented by the night because the weekly rate was discounted. Since I needed to stay 2 weeks, I asked for my money back and was refunded most, but told I must pay the daily rate for one night even though I left without staying there, because in examining the room "I had messed up the room." I guess looking at the sheets and towels and presenting the disgusting shower curtain to the manager constituted messing up the room. I complained to Americas Best HQ, but they claimed each motel is run independently and all they offered was a reply from the manager , in which he didn't deny my findings, but considered that I did not leave the room in its original condition and thus, was not due a refund for the night, I am pursuing this through the FL BBB. The America's Best did say that they would investigate the cleanliness of the motel further.

Helpful?
5 Thank Grace60811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tavares hotels

Matlacha, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

If only we could have stayed there 30 years ago.
In its day it may have been a nice place, but for the price we paid and the shape it was in it will be our one and only time.
When we got there we got to see the kids bikes laying by the front door. Then we went inside and found the kids behind the counter with the owner/operator. On the floor behind the counter was newspapers with some kind of rabbit or animal food.

Things wrong with the place-
Gum and nastyness on the stairwells, Door was broken and lock falling apart, Stains on all the chairs, Carpet mismatched with dirt and grime all over it, Smoke alarm broken and laying on the desk, Stains on the shower curtian, mismatched ceiling tiles and trim and Stains and nasty stuff on the head board.
Dog friendly- Yes they are but they want cash for the dog fee.
After staying there my dog need a bath when he got home!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vagogh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake worth, florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2010

the room was in clean order, the shower was horrible the first night, then the manager replaced the shower head. the towels were old and not absobent, they should be replaced, there was no place to hang clothes, the a/c worked great! overall it was a fair place for a fair price during the event. if it we not for Shamir Desai, we would not have enjoyed our stay here. the place is old but it has been kept up, try putting some decorations in the rooms and dress it up a little. the comforters are old and should be replaced and the beds are weak, old and very springy and should be relaced.

thanks,

Donald k Taylor

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taylormade1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2010

This past weekend, we had a group of friends that were attending a function in nearby Leesburgh, Fl. We had intended to stay at a different hotel but were informed shortly before this trip that they overbooked and had found comparable accomodations.
After check in, my roomate and I (2 adult males) proceeded to our room which consisted of 2 full size beds. We immediately noticed feces in the toilet and noted that the room was a mess. Upon further inspection, we observed a dead lizard and pubic hairs in the sheets.
This was relayed to the front desk and shortly thereafter an elderly couple came and changed she sheets. We asked them if they could supply us with hand towels, soap and shampoo and we were told that they don't have these ammenities.
After settling in, we discovered that the toilet was not functioning properly. ( One would need to spend 10 minutes or so and several flushes to make the toilet useable for the next. In short, after refusing a room w/ a King size bed for 2 men. They called the Police to have us evicted.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkBCapeCoral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Current City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2010

We booked 5 rooms during the Bike event in Leesburg. The guy at the desk is clueless and very rude. There is only 1 ice machine for the entire facility here and no trash cans.

Of the 5 rooms, one room the air conditioning did not work at all, one of the rooms had not been cleaned and had poop in the toilet (disgusting), 1 room the toilet would not flush at all.

When we complained to the front desk, we were told there were no other rooms available, and there was no one on duty who could fix it. When we complained about the conditions to the manager, he got mad and calls the police. They show up and tell us we have to leave the property or be arrested for trespassing. Be advised during Bike Week there are no rooms available. The manager refused to give the credit for the night... please do yourselves a favor and stay someplace else.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EliHickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st augustine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2010

Great place to stay. Manager helpful and friendly. Clean.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronnasol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavares
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake County Inn & Suites
0.9 mi away
Key West Resort on Lake Dora
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tavares
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Inn on the Green
Inn on the Green
#6 of 8 in Tavares
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites Mount Dora
4.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Leesburg/Mt Dora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Classic Inn of Tavares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Classic Inn of Tavares

Property: Classic Inn of Tavares
Address: 101 W Burleigh Blvd, Tavares, FL 32778-2405 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake County > Tavares
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Tavares
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Classic Inn of Tavares 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come check out our new clean rooms for a reasonable price! Complimentary coffee in morning! High speed Internet, microwaves, refrigerators in room! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Classic Inn of Tavares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing