We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Tarpon Springs
Post
Inbox
Search

“Seafood was awesome!”

Rusty Bellies Waterfront Grill
Order Online
Cuisines: Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: My husband Jack and I, along with our daughter and son-in-law, welcome you to Rusty Bellies Waterfront Grill. Opened in June of 2005, Rusty Bellies is an achievement of three generations worth of goals spanning some thirty years. We are a family owned and operated establishment. Our family came to Tarpon Springs in the 1970's. My parents, Joe and Sue Reis, began the business by purchasing several boats, including a shrimp boat. Before long they had purchased the boat yard and developed the seafood business. In 1985, Jack and I took over operations, and it wasn't long before Jack began refurbishing boats. In 2002. we launched our shrimp boat, Julie Ann. The Julie Ann produces fresh gulf shrimp for Pelican Point Seafood and Rusty Bellies. Jack has since finished refurbishing the Redman, a grouper fishing boat, and the Crabracadabra, a stone crab boat. To this day the Julie Ann, Redman, and Crabracadabra are still family owned and operated by the Russells. Rusty Bellies Waterfront Grill is named for our family's love of fishing, namely gulf grouper fishing. A "Rusty Bellie" is the nickname given to the large male gag grouper. A "Rusty Bellie" generally ranges between twenty and sixty pounds, and is typically caught by the true at heart fisherpersons. As you look around our restaurant you will see photos of family, friends, and local fisherman that bring the freshest seafood to our dock. The menu gives credit to many of our fishermen by naming the dishes after their beloved boats. Of course, there are too many boats to give credit to each, but keep in mind their dedication to providing FRESH FLORIDA WILD CAUGHT SEAFOOD. It is an honor that we continue what our family began many yeas ago. We value our guests, and we are honored to have you dine with us. Please sit back and enjoy the view and allow us to prepare the freshest seafood, including gluten fee options, available for you. Julie and the Russell Family
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a great experience from start to finish. Our server, Nicole, was extremely friendly, accommodating, and took the time necessary to answer menu questions. The salmon and scallops were absolutely top notch! Very tasty and cooked to perfection. Couldn't possibly ask for more. Will definitely be returning and will request to be seated in Nicole's section!

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank H6463PRbettyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (3,218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 3,218 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic food and even better service. Nicole took excellent care of our large group, she was amazing!! Would highly recommend especially if you love great seafood.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank laurahA3953KA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The service is outstanding, our waitress Nicole was sooo helpful and attentive. There are sooo many options on the menu. My wife and I come here several times a year (we snowbird in the area from Michigan each year). Today our selection was the full order of onion straws and The Motherload. Deep fried Shrimp, oyster bellies, clam strips, and catfish. We shared the order, which we knew would be more than we could eat. Took a doggie box back to the condo and had a second meal the next day.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were lucky to get an outside table on the water, as the day we went also featured an arts & crafts festival. What a joy to enjoy a wonderful meal while watching pelicans fly by, herons and egrets coming to rest on "Bird Island" just 50 yards across the water from our table, and even kayakers paddling by! The tacos were dreamy, and my grilled shrimp--divine! The portions are large, the taste to be savored. But what really impressed was the proactive, friendly service. We never had to ask for anything as our needs (more to drink, condiments, etc.) were anticipated by our server Ty. This should be enough to convince you to go to this restaurant. But here's the rest of the story. My wife discovered, after biking back to Dunedin from Tarpon Springs (10 miles), she had lost her wedding ring. We checked the most likely places but in the end we called the restaurant to see if anyone had turned it in. NO one had, so we drove back to the restaurant, only to find out that all servers knew a ring had been lost, and were on the lookout for it. The owner's young daughters volunteered to go under the deck to look for it. I don't know how many people ultimately participated in the search, but their willingness to help overwhelmed us. In the end we found the ring which was such a happy moment, but we left with this extraordinary gratitude to this remarkable restaurant, where the location is great, the food is great, and the people are beyond great--all the way to unbelievably wonderful.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank nancyc985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From the luck of finding a parking spot right up front, to the super efficient way they handle the walk-up seating list, to the great bartenders (Sheryl was ours), to the excellent and knowledgeable waitstaff (Laura was spot on), to the quality of the food.... this is a solid experience that we hope to replay many times while in the Palm Harbor area.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Z4938MHcharlesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rusty Bellies Waterfront Grill also viewed

 
Tarpon Springs, FL
 

Been to Rusty Bellies Waterfront Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing