We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where the locals go”

The Original Mama Maria's Greek Cuisine
Ranked #12 of 138 Restaurants in Tarpon Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Greek, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Family owned and operated since 1978. Our Mama "Mama Maria" still does the cooking. Truly were all the locals, Greek and Non-Greeks, come for fresh Greek and seafood specialties. Spacious main dining room seats 100. Full view open kitchen. Separate enclosed climate controlled patio for private parties of 40-60. Full bar and beer and wine available. Plenty of on-site free parking. Two blocks south of the historic Sponge Docks in Tarpon Springs, Fl. Reservations for parties of 5 or more are highly recommended.
Arvada, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Where the locals go”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Annie sent us...from the 1910 Inn...saying this is where the locals eat. We went on a Sunday evening, and that certainly seemed true. The food was good, and the saganaki delicious. Service was somewhat lackluster, but no real complaints. I'm not sure I'd choose this over the combination of food and atmosphere at Dimitris or Mykanos, but it is well worth visiting.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DocH2O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    95
    28
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
420 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
“2.5 star Disappointing - Especially after reading the reviews”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Maybe it is just their lunches and the dinners are better, but, I found both the service to be poor and the food just average. I ordered the lunch special, which was a fish sandwich and salad (see photos) and found the sandwich and Greek salad to be "run of the mill". - nothing special. I added a side of fry and the bill came to a bit under $15. The service, when it came, was slow. I was basically left unattended until I went looking for the bill. I left 'Mama's' wishing it would have been better.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fdoamerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“You can't go wrong here”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I usually find Saganaki (the famous flaming cheese) to be very salty and stringy. I enjoyed it here. The dolmades are great, the tzatziki (Sp?) is great and authentic, the lamb chops are wonderful, and so is the leg of lamb. My daughter loved the grilled octopus, my husband and other daughter liked the gyro's and my group enjoyed the Greek style shrimp. The Avgolemono soup was good, and two other members of our group loved the Greek salad. Service was polite and attentive. This is my new favorite place in Tarpon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RachelWesleyChapel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Fantastic Greek Food”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

"The Original Mama Maria Maria's Greek Cuisine" is a mouthful to say but you'll want a mouthful of their food. True Greek dishes and wonderful seafood are our favorites. The service is pleasant, perhaps a little kinder to regulars than to tourists but that's okay. The atmosphere is standard casual. Don't confuse this establishment with "Mama's Greek" (although also good), this is the original and the best.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NickHeckel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creal Springs, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best Greek Food Ever”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This place is great! the people are wonderful. The food is to DIE for. Love Love Love the greek salad Must get the potatoe salad stuff in the bottom Yumo! Don't forget to go buy cheese down the street at the OLD Greek grocery store. Oh my what a treat. Going back this June can't wait to see my greek friends. Sundays they have belly dancers they are great also

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LittleMiss99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original Mama Maria's Greek Cuisine also viewed

Tarpon Springs, FL
 

Been to The Original Mama Maria's Greek Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing