We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep coming back!”

Mama's Greek Cuisine
Ranked #10 of 139 Restaurants in Tarpon Springs
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Come experience the rich Greek Culture of the Tarpon Springs Sponge Docks. Mama's provides the finest in authentic Greek cuisine, Live Greek Music, and Entertainment; including Belly Dancing! Mama's Greek Cuisine is where Where The Locals Meet to Eat!
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Keep coming back!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Everytime we are in the area, we make a point of coming to this restaurant. I am sitting here in Ohio right now wishing for one of their excellent gyro platters! When we were there in November, our gyros were so huge and delicious. No other place like it for the excellent food and friendly staff. We always go at lunch time and sit on the lovely patio.

Looking forward to our next vacation in Florida so we can stop in at Mama's!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ohiomomto3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    171
    84
    38
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
411 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Great Greek Food Opa!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Food has gotten much better since previous visits. Servers are very friendly. Had one of the best charbroiled octopus dishes I've ever had. Skordalia and Tsaziki were very good but Tarama was sub-par. Endless bread helped. Salad was good. We will be back. Parked up the block.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cdrake3460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellenton
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great staff”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Lunch, great food and nice friendly staff, coupons too, we will definitely go back, nice family atmosphere too.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethV361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW WINDSOR
Level Contributor
486 reviews
279 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Hot soup on a cool, windy day in Tarpon Springs”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

There are not a great deal of cool & windy days on the west coast of Florida, but we happened to pick one to drive up to Tarpon Springs. Family wanted to do the shops and waterfront. We didn't feel like spending a fortune on lunch, so we decided to try Mama's once more. Like many other reviewers have writtne, the Greek Food is average, but on a cool day the bowl of Avgolemono Soup was very good. With just a hint of the lemon it was hot and contained more than the average chunks of chicken. Combined with a cup of coffee it did warm me up. After the soup the 3 of us split a Greek Combo platter with smaller portions of Dolmades, Spanokopita, Pastitso and Mousaka. If was very good, not great but good and for about $35 the 3 of us enjoyed a Greek lunch....the family spent a great deal more than that in the clothing and soap shops. If you're in TS and doing the waterfront shops don't be afraid of Mama's. Yes, you can find better Greek dishes in a fancier place...this is average for the tourists

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JAMES L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
279 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Dolmades from heaven!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I have been here a few times,always great service and yummy foods. Went with the entire family and loved evey bit and bite! We had a variety plate that had almost all you could think of on it, and while only 5 of our entrees came with complimentary dessert she brought out one for each of us!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amys289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama's Greek Cuisine also viewed

Tarpon Springs, FL
 

Been to Mama's Greek Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing