We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst winery ever”

Tarpon Springs Castle Winery
Tarpon Springs
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Worst winery ever”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We thought we would stop in on a weekend is open first time the door was locked the right now the bell she said he did not need an appointment but turned us away. So we need to make an appearance for the following day I wanted to watch them make wine she said her husband would show us. Next day arrived and the doors locked again we needed to keep ringing the bell before she came in and made us pay right away to make sure we didn't leave understandable. We never even saw where they make the wine.also found out they import their grapes. We were able to taste for 4 or 5 types. we did not any of them . When offered we do not want to buy any wine. after that we felt as if she kicked us out. save your money and don't go here.

Helpful?
2 Thank swtmelissas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    21
    13
    20
    35
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Relax--you'll live longer.”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We spent a relaxing lazy afternoon here. We sampled some wines at no charge, then shared a few glasses in the shady courtyard while listening to the piano playe, who was wonderful. Great way to spend a feaw hours if you're not all uptight. We bought a bottle and took it home, a tad pricey but it was good. Salud!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SixcDogTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing use of time and money”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

The tour was very unprofessional. It was listed as a wine and chocolate pairing. The chocolate used for the pairing was boxed chocolate filled with different flavors (coconut and nugget) which defeated the wine tasting.

The grounds for the castle winery - although "historic" needed a facelift. Not a castle or a winery- The woman providing the pairing sat us at a table with plastic lawn chairs. Her talk gave a lot of incorrect information about wine making. I have worked in the brewing and wine industries for 25 years and know the processes extremely well. We were not provided separate wine glasses between wines- even during the change over from red to white. No palate cleanser was provided- unless you count the cheap coconut chocolate smh.

What was most distracting was the amount in personal information that was divulged during our session by the host. Very disruptive and irrelevant to the tour.

I definitely would not recommend this tour to anyone and would suggest Groupon withdraw their support.

FloridaSnowBird

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Heidi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Crappy Wine Crappy Service”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

They import their grapes, its a house not a real winery, cheap chocolates, I can get better quality wine at the grocery store, and she was quite mad when we didn't buy wine.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Crystal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinity, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Didn't let us in - forgot the "password"”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

A member of our party made a reservation for 4, for 5pm. We arrived at 5:02 and saw a note that said, "Ring the bell". An elderly lady came to the door and we had reservations for 5. So she asked what the password was, we all looked to the member who made the reservation and she said she didn't remember. Her husband said, "is it please?". The lady said, "no". We stood there waiting for her to say, "just kidding, come on in". But it never came.

So again we asked if we could come in and she said, "not if you don't remember the password. You are the first people to forget the password in 5 years" (really? I doubt that). Anyway, so we went on to explain that we are 2 couples on a very rare date night because we EACH have 3 children and we decided to come to the winery. (Which, by the way, could be the reason the member of our party for the password... 3 children underfoot and multitasking). She told us to come back the next day. We reiterated that we have 3 children EACH and that we were currently paying for a babysitter. She then suggested Sunday (superbowl). Clearly, she wasn't understanding us.

She then went inside and got the elderly gentleman to come out (shutting the door behind them each time). He said that they give everyone a password and write the phone number next to it. So we asked if we could tell him our phone number. THEN he said that everyone on his list was marked off already, so we couldn't possibly have a reservation. THEN he said they were 4 over all ready and would get in trouble with the fire marshall if they let us in.

He literally walked us to the curb and said, "sorry". We were left stunned.

We had a groupon that expired 2 days later so he told us he would still accept it for the next round of groupons and we had him sign it (in case he forgot, ya know). But I will not be going back there.

So in all, there were 3 different excuses:
1. Forgot password
2. All the reservations were "crossed off"
3. They were over fire code limit already

I don't understand why she went through the stupid password hoopla if all the reservations were "crossed off".
I think they overbooked and were mad that we were 3 min late.

They have officially lost our business... and we are telling EVERYONE we know about it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank StevieAlaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tarpon Springs Castle Winery also viewed

 

Been to Tarpon Springs Castle Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing