We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, excellent staff, new management, very pleased!”
Review of Tarpon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tarpon Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tarpon Springs
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, excellent staff, new management, very pleased!”
Reviewed August 17, 2011

I stayed here with my children for a few days. Our room has a brilliant view - very big, high ceilings, cool and comfortable. The hotel is under new management and the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. We loved it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AllSys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    6
    12
    13
    71
See reviews for
29
42
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

The rms were filthy,the beds very uncomfortable,no pool,it was empty and the weather very hot,had to go buy a fan cause air conditioner not working properly,had back injury and came in one night lights were off due to ppl triming trees & shut power off,stumbled over something which sent me into terriffic pain so that i was down in bed for several days unable to walk.Instead of helping me they were pounding on door every morning threatening to throw my stuff out cause my mom didn't come pay them yet,when checkout wasn't till noon.I was finally able to get my son out of there even though it meant i had to sleep in a chair.56.00 a night was way too much for the poor service & acommendations. DON'T GO THERE.The transients were loud & threatening.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fleta c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near Grand Rapids
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Spent one week. Price for location was great. Needs some modernizing but acceptable. Owner and staff were way above average. AC was fine, refrig. microwave, coffee maker, TV, and bathroom were clean and all worked great. Ice machine was free and worked all the time. You could not ask for a better location. All other guests I met were great. Pet friendly. We plan on staying there every time we are in town.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TomnearGrandRapids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2011

Basic clean room with 2 beds, a fridge, microwave and small hotplate. The price was right for our tight retirement budget. We stayed for a week and we were pleasantly surprised that it was quieter than expected. The requests for assistance from the staff that we made, were responded to within a very short time. We would stay again if we need to be back in this area.

Would recommend to friends who travel on limited budgets

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoanWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2011

We were there for a water sports training camp, so there was no choice: the proximity to the dock/ramp and convenience to restaurants within walking distance makes it a good choice. But otherwise, I won't stay there even if I were paid to do so!

It's just overall very run down and dirty... the bed, the bathroom, the peeling paint... Not the place you can feel relaxed. You just want to avoid contact with everything if possible. I also found that our door unlocks without a key! Just need to bang it hard.

The staff wasn't very friendly either and most requests (repair, etc.) were ignored. One maid was nice enough to bring us a candle when one of our friends complained of the smell, though it did little good.

The only plus I can think of is they do provide free wifi. You can sit out there by the office in the breeze with your lap top. Often the tables were all taken, as who would want to stay in the room?

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank azuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

I have been staying at The Tarpon Inn through several owners. I have indeed experienced the catastrophe described on one visit however my recent visits have been a good value for the price. No, they do not offer $100 per night quality rooms. It boils down to ya get what ya pay for! There isn't a better location for a motel in Tarpon Springs
Tarpon Springs is a wonderful place to visit. Do NOT miss going to the sponge docks, St. Nicholas Greek Church and be sure to eat at Paul's Shrimp House, & Mamma Pappas.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denforent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

On our tour of southern Florida we stopped by Tarpon Springs to check out the greek restaurants/culture and perhaps the beach. Having no hotel reservation in advance, we passed through the city center and came across this cheap, OK-looking motel. Their sign said 40 dollars per night, which was the same we had payed for a perfectly OK night somewhere else the night before, so we assumed it would be good enough.

We were wrong.

One of our neighbors looked like he was cut out of the movie "The Shining", opening the door to spit when we passed by. Our other neighbor was talking loud and aggressively to someone for several hours late at night and also the next morning.

The room was spacious enough, but very dirty and gave us a generally creepy feeling. Bed sheets and pillows had stains, and since we had decided to hang in there for the night, we just had to assume the stains did not come out during the wash. Towels had stains as well, and the floor was full of dust and crumbles, which we discovered when looking under our socks when getting to bed.

Bathroom had no soap or other amenities apart from 2 small and 2 larger towels. It gave us a creepy feeling as well, due to its low cement ceiling and narrow space. Shower, sink and toilet worked OK, though.

There was also a coffee maker in the room, filled with old, cold coffee from some previous guest. We did not try the TV because we assumed the remote control was anything else than clean. We also stayed out until we felt tired enough to sleep, to spend as little time in the room as possible. Door had only a simple lock, security chain had been removed. The A/C worked ok, although a bit on the noisy side. But it filled the purpose of shutting out some of the noise from our neighbor during the night.

The staff was generally friendly and helpful. The "youngsters" spoke good English, but some older woman did not. We would rather have spent 100 dollars more for a hotel of normal standard than staying in this dump one more night. It was a good lesson.

Stay away, find something else.

By the way, the beaches in Tarpon Springs are no good either (sea grass all the way), so head elsewhere if that interests you more than greek food and sea sponges.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank emboman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarpon Springs
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Tarpon Springs
289 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tarpon Springs
2.5 mi away
VISTA Hotel on Lake Tarpon
VISTA Hotel on Lake Tarpon
#2 of 3 in Palm Harbor
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Holiday Tarpon Springs
6.2 mi away
Magnuson Hotel and Marina New Port Richey
7.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#4 of 7 in New Port Richey
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarpon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarpon Inn

Property: Tarpon Inn
Address: 110 W Tarpon Ave, Tarpon Springs, FL 34689-3434 (Formerly Best Value Inn Extended Stay)
Location: United States > Florida > Tarpon Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tarpon Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tarpon Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Tarpon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarpon Hotel Tarpon Springs
Tarpon Hotel Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing