We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poorly managed”
Review of Riverside Grille House Veranda - CLOSED

Riverside Grille House Veranda
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Seafood, Greek, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Alt.19
Transit: Jolly Trolly and PSTA
Description: Phone:(727) 937-2000
Vandalia, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Poorly managed”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Large party for 80th birthday party. Waiter made announcement at beginning saying basically to expect lousy service as it was Saturday at 7 pm, even though reservation made 6 weeks in advance so they had time to plan accordingly. Food came out randomly, a few got appetizer, salad and entree at the same time. Sea Bass was fishy and terrible, Ribeye was overdone, Grouper was the smallest I have ever been served. We had wine on the table and had to search out our own glasses and serve ourselves. Dinner took over 2 hours and some did not even eat the food it was such poor quality. They charge a hefty$$$ and an 18% gratuity. They should be ashamed of the poor quality and poor service. The location is nice, servers try, but are overwhelmed. Basically it comes down to very poor management. I would NOT recommend for dinner, especially on a weekend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LoisG415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    16
    4
    9
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trinity, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It Needs "Restaurant Impossible"”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

On a not busy late Sunday aft, sloppy entry, inattentive greeter, almost non-existent service, tiny/watery cocktails,.... We left after ordering food, but had to leave before we starved to death. However, nice sunest.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ralph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
139 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Glad they serve Pappas salad.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This restaurant used to be Pappas; they had the best Greek salad with Greek potato salad at the bottom. Riverside has kept that salad so we went there for lunch. It was very good. We also had lobster bisque, and lemon chicken soup, both good. Our server was very gracious. We had a window seat so were watching the boats and pelicans on the river.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shooiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awfull!!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Made reservations for dinner 3 weeks ago for Easter Sunday. Waited 30 min for a table. They never told us it was for Brunch only. We got up and got our own food and our table wasn't even cleaned after the plates piled up. They had the nerve to automatically add 18% Gratuity to our bill when the waiter didn't even come back to check our drinks. The food SUCKED! They ran out of plates and you had to wait for them to wash the dishes to get a clean plate. everyone complained and some walked out without paying the tab. The dinner cost &28.95. Should have gone to Chilis or Apple Bees. Never again. Lesson well learned.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Dominick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa Fl
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Place for Dinner and Sunset”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Our first time.Happy Hour Good Food and live Music.And a beautiful sunset. Our server Jessie was great.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Car1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverside Grille House Veranda also viewed

 
Tarpon Springs, FL
Tarpon Springs, FL
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing