We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing gem in Tarpon Springs”

Spongorama's Cruise Lines
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This is the trip you don’t want to miss on your visit to Tarpon Springs. We take you on an exciting narrated cruise down the beautiful waters of the Anclote River to the Gulf of Mexico. You’ll be looking for dolphins, manatees, birds, the Anclote lighthouse and other historical sites. Our beach excursion allows you to disembark on the Anclote Island to stroll the beach and look for shells.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing gem in Tarpon Springs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We saw no less than 8 dolphins on this trip! EIGHT!!!!

The dockside staff needs some courses on customer service, but the boat staff was amazing! They did their best to get everyone a view of the dolphins!

You cruise around the gulf in search of the mammals, then head to his beautiful little island to collect shells! Well worth the $20!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDisneyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    24
    10
    13
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sierra Vista, AZ
Level Contributor
99 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cruise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We had such a fun time cruising out in the Gulf! We went to a little island and collected seashells. It was fun having the sea spray hit our faces as we cruised along. Before that we had watched a really interesting movie about the sponge fishermen who were from Greece who immigrated to this area and made a life for themselves here. After the cruise we went into the gift shop which had so many interesting things for sell. Unfortunately we didn't see any dolphins, but we did look for them. After the gift shop we ate at a nearby Greek restaurant and I can't remember its name, but is was a charming little restaurant and had great food!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Skyscape049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Florida
Level Contributor
147 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“major disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Our local group had planned the cruise for our last outing before most of us returned north.
The excursion was set almost a month ago, prices and boarding times as well. The cruise line had been provided with contact phone numbers should they need to get a hold of us for whatever reason. No one did. Upon arrival for the 11 am boarding we were given several different versions of why the trip had been delayed until 1:15. No one seemed to know why we hadn't been advised beforehand of the delay and were extremely rude about returning some of the money spent. Our members are all over 65 and most in their 80's. Waiting that length of time in the heat and sun was not an option. A very disappointing experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank BPYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven,Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Boat trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

The captain told us the history of Tarpon Springs as we were making our way out to the Gulf of Mexico. The captain took the boat over to where the dolphins were having fun in the water, then we landed on an island with thousands of sea shells. We spent 45 min. collecting shells. A very wonderful trip.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“enjoying tarpon springs,fl”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

great cruse for kids and adults///about two hours of seeing lots of things///gulf of mexico///lots of dolphins///nice homes///land on an island for shelling///kids will love and you will to///ero

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank erosenfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spongorama's Cruise Lines also viewed

 

Been to Spongorama's Cruise Lines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing