We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgous white sand beach”
Review of Fred Howard Park

Fred Howard Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fred Howard Park consists of 155 acres and is located on the Gulf of Mexico. It's location provides access to the Gulf by a 1-mile long causeway. The white sandy beach is a popular swim area and also provides a perfect location to view spectacular sunsets.
Halifax
Level Contributor
924 reviews
533 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Gorgous white sand beach”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is one of my favorited Florida beaches. A perfect day here is to take a picnic and spend the day here. We usually eat right on the beach but the shady picnic areas in the park would be a good choice to. Parking is $5.00 for the day.There are showers and clean washrooms on the beach. dogs aren't t permitted.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank easterntreker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    601
    256
    49
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I come here to jog or lay out on the beach. Although this beach has gotten more popular lately, there are still plenty of opportunities to enjoy peace and solitude here. Jogging on the causeway with the water on both sides seems so refreshing and healthy. The park areas are also beautiful. There's something for all age groups here.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank haitifun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and I along with family went to the beach at the park and it is well worth the $5 parking fee. The park is well maintained and very clean. There are palm trees for shade if you want. The water is crystal clear and there are plenty of shells for the picking. The only thing i warn you about are the seagulls. If you plan on eating be ready for the attacking seagulls. There is also things to rent to use like paddle boats and kayaks. Also there is a food truck with items I did not check this out because we brought subs and drinks of our own.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammyk1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Surprising beauty”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The palm trees make a great setting for this little beach area. It was not crowded. Sadly, that was probably due to the secret it is. We really had to fight the neighborhood roads and bridge detours to find our way. Great though!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
521 reviews
288 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Wonderfully serene beach escape in St Joseph Sound off Tarpon Springs”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The county is running a scenic public beach, totally uncommercial, ideal for strolling, cycling, picnics, a fun place even if you are uninterested in swimming. It is reached by driving down a long causeway and felt almost desolate since we went on a breezy weekday keeping the swimmers away, Parking was easily available, and it is pay parking. Since this lone island faces west, there are regular sunsets over the Gulf of Mexico, which often are spectacular to ponder. It's a great break from the sometimes frenzied feel of the touristy waterfront area at Tarpon Springs.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LisandroVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fred Howard Park also viewed

 

Been to Fred Howard Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing