We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all around”
Review of Bern's Steak House

Bern's Steak House
Ranked #8 of 2,399 Restaurants in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent all around”
Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

Wow. Heard a lot about this place and it lived up to the hype. Service was excellent and food was very good. Glad we didn't order any appetizers as the entrees include salad, soup, veggies and a baked potato. Went with the sirloin strip and it was very good. Then we got the tour of the kitchen and wine cellar. Very impressive and extremely cool. Never had this anywhere else. Wine cellar was very neat with 100,000 bottles on site and more offsite. Dessert room upstairs was awesome and an true experience. Banana cheese pie was incredible. Make sure you take the tours and stay for dessert.


Helpful?
Thank Clairsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,412
    545
    288
    114
    98
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A classic and outstanding restaurant”
Reviewed August 26, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

First time in Tampa and went there because of reputation
Excellent food
Superb wine list
Outstanding service
Unique desert room

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gaspar63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food and ambiance.”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

The food was wonderful. The staff was charming. I would definitely go there again. They took us on a tour of the wine cellar that was amazing.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveling4fun40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
137 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Perfect steaks and delicious desserts”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Melt in your mouth filets cooked to perfection. We started with the seared tuna appetizer and it was fresh and lightly seared. Don't expect too much, as it came with 6 very thin slices for $16.95. The French Onion Soup was superb. The salad with home made dressings were made with fresh vegetables and nice portion. The dinners here are never rushed and the waiters are very knowledgeable of the menu and wines. We requested he select a wine for us and he did a great job. Two bottles, right at $200, a little more than I anticipated, but could have been much more. Wines to $10,000 and more. The filets came out cook to perfection. Wood fired flavor and so good. They were a little shy on the veggies - carrots this time, and the baked potato was small but loaded and not over cooked.

We had all been to Berns before and taken the kitchen and wine tours, so opted not to on this visit. The waiter made our reservations upon arrival for the dessert room, so we made our way there after dinner. We split the carrot cake with homemade pistachio ice cream and the crème brulee. Not large portions for $10-$12, but very tasty. I recommend trying the dessert room for the dinner finale.

Expect to make reservations a few weeks in advance and watch what you drink if you want to keep your tab reasonable. A couple can dine for about $100 plus tip and have a great experience, if you don't have to have drinks.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeyPenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naples fl
Level Contributor
330 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“WoW...What an experience”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

Put this place on your bucket list. Go sooner than later so you can return again and again. This is a destination event, we make the overnight stay just to have dinner here. Excellent service and the finest dinner, along with one of the most extensive wine list in the world. Tour the kitchen and wine cellar at least once to appreciate the effort that goes into presenting the meal of your lifetime. Highly recommend.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank joseph f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bern's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing