We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Bern's Steak House

Bern's Steak House
Ranked #8 of 2,383 Restaurants in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Upon entering this establishment you feel the special atmosphere. The wait staff is superlative. They are at your side for anything you may need.Mind you not hovering they just miraculously appear. Our waiter was well versed in wine and steak. We enjoyed the atmosphere very much. After dinner we received a tour of their renowned wine cellar, then proceeded to go upstairs to the dessert room. A lovely room just for the 4 of us. Enjoyed the piano music being played in the background. The desserts were sumptuous to say the least. A yummy Granny Smith apple tart. I would highly recommend this restaurant!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,393
    540
    281
    113
    96
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Birthday disappointment”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I chose Bern's to celebrate my son's 21st birthday. I had been warned that it was not like when the dad was the ownwer, but I didn't expect to be that bad. We were there when the restaurant opened, with reservation for that time. We had to wait to be seated, not a smile, nor a word of apology. I told the hostess it was my son's birthday, she didn't even pretend to care, didn't bother to say "happy birthday". Meat was ok, sides were poor, onion rings were soggy , carrots overcooked, I had asked to have my son's birthday cake waiting for us in our dessert room, it was not. It took them 40 min to get it . Too rich, too famous, too bad
40 minutes later it came

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Grace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
378 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Bern's is a fantastic experience. Have eaten there a few times - the food is very good, but what makes this restaurant stand above others is the level of service, underpinned by an amazing wine list, cellar tour, kitchen tour etc......one of my favourite restaurants in the World, and definitely the best wine list

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
116 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Food, Slow Service”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

As a dyed-in-the-wool fan of Bern's who's sampled steak restaurants worldwide, my recent visit on May 10 for my daughter's birthday caught me by surprise. As usual my chateaubriand arrived perfectly cooked and the side dishes were delicious, but it's the first time I experienced a 45-minute wait to be seated. True, it was a busy Friday evening, but I've been to Bern's many times when tables were full and still never waited more than a few minutes. The waiting area was jammed with people also waiting and the adjoining bar overflowing. After seating, our waitress Kelly was cordial, but throughout dinner she'd become engrossed in conversation at one of her tables while our drinks glasses remained empty or additional bernaise sauce was desired. I'm all for leisurely dinners, but not when your sitting with empty plates for 15 minutes while the waitress is idly yacking with a newlywed couple. I'd made it clear when booking the reservation that it was my daughter's birthday and reiterated this at the host stand, but nothing was said or done by Kelly about it. The experience at the upstairs dessert room was similarly out of character: After seating in a cubicle, we waited nearly 10 minutes before waiter Will appeared. Reserved and with a wan smile, he took our orders and when I requested Bananas Foster, Will indicated he already had another BF order to prepare ahead of mine and therefore there would be a delay in receiving it. My daughter and I decided to share something else and Will arrived with it in less than five minutes. The food didn't disappoint but the poor service was uncharacteristic for this venerable pearl of a steakhouse, and we'll be back again for my son's birthday on July 10 to give it another whirl.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doug K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not the best steak ever, but very good!”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Very good service, definitely take the tour of the kitchen, wine and dessert rooms. We had the chateubrianed. Very good, but I've had better. Worth the visit!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank dry33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bern's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing