We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still On Point”
Review of Bern's Steak House

Bern's Steak House
Ranked #9 of 2,418 Restaurants in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Still On Point”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Once again, I treated myself to a birthday dinner at Bern's. I was promptly seated with my 7:30 reservation. I knew I wanted a Zin with my meal, but the selections for just this variety were extensive. My waiter, Spencer, asked me several questions about what I wanted in my wine and gave me about four suggestions. I choose a '73 SouveRain. Excellent!! All week long, I was wondering what I would order for dinner. Bern's menu is incredible. Under appetizers, the diver scallops had me considering. The grilled red snapper, surf and turf, and beef short ribs all caught my eye. Don't forget, at Bern's the French onion soup, salad, and baked potato are included. That was my deciding factor in skipping the scallops. Even though the other mentioned entrees sounded good, I CAME FOR STEAK. Just like my initial visit, I ordered the 14oz bone-in strip medium-rare high. PERFECT! I'll be back when I return to Tampa.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank refinedruffneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,471
    559
    293
    120
    103
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Worth the money!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We went last night for a late dinner. I had the delmonico and my husband had the chateaubriand. I also had the 3 soups and a chocolate martini. The food did not disappoint. The mashed potatoes were yum and the steak was perfectly made! The martini was the best I have had since taking a martini class. We then went up to the dessert room. I love the privacy of the booths and the ability to choose your own music. Dining at Berns is an experience you won't want to miss.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FL_Prelude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“An Experience wothwhile!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Our reservation was met timely, the ambiance from the moment you pulled up was fun; Harry the valet MAN!!; Diane the hostess was personalble, wanted to know all about us! Vance the waiter made sure we were informed at dinner and took very good care of us; we did the tour which was cool, the steak's were like butter cooked perfect, the onion rings were perfect the onion soup the best we ever had, just realized no bread..which thinking now was a good thing as it would have just filled us up! We would all go back to Bern's to try every thing on the menu!!!! Be sure to go and drive thru the Hyde Park area!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kingslane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Deserving of its reputation”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We visited on a Saturday, and Bern's was absolutely packed. Yet, we had no trouble getting a quick cocktail in the lounge, and our wait was not unbearably long to get a table. Once there, our waiter, Trebor, was attentive and fun - casual, but not over the top.

The food was great, as usual. One member in our party had a steak which was a bit overdone, but still flavorful. The side dishes and appetizers were very tasty and done to perfection. If there was a complaint at all, it is that there was too much food! We pushed our bloated selves away from the table and somehow managed to eat dessert upstairs, too. That's an experience...make sure you leave room!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, FL
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I wish for the old days!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I have been going to Bern's for the last 30 years. It was always a special place to dress up and have a great meal. The ambiance of the restaurant has not changed, just the patronage. The website states emphatically no t-shirts, flip-flops or jeans. What do I see during dinner? Lots of jeans, t-shirts, flip-flops. Is it really too difficult to put on some decent clothes to go to a restaurant that charges $200.00 per couple for dinner. Also, please leave the kids at home if they cannot sit at a table and behave. Walking a child around the table near other diners is quite intrusive since the tables are very close together.

I would say that most of my dinner was delicious. My only problem was the steaks they served in past years was much better than what I was served the other night. My chateaubriand came out in two pieces. The main piece was cooked exactly as ordered medium rare, however, the second little piece was well done and inedible. My husband's steak also came out in two pieces. In all my years, I never had a steak served here that came in pieces.

The dessert room is always heaven and did not disappoint.

The staff was quite attentive. They paid special attention to my 14 year who came dressed much better than 90% of the other patrons.

I also agree with some of the other reviewer's comments about the parking charge. This is not a cheap restaurant. To drive in and see a sign stating that valet parking is $5.00, not including tip, makes the place seem cheap. It puts a slight damper on an evening which you feel should be special, especially with the prices they are charging.

We will certainly come back, however, if my next experience is anything like this one, I can stay home in Orlando and spend the same kind a money to get the same experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodiehound0621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bern's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing