We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is a 10!”
Review of Happy Fish

Happy Fish
Ranked #5 of 2,380 Restaurants in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: AUTHENTIC PERUVIAN FUSION CUISINE
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
190 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“This place is a 10!”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

If you are looking for family owned, Peruvian, lunch spot that has delicious food this is the place for you. The Ceviche and the Tacu Tacu are my favorite. I have taken at least 10 different people here for lunch and everyone I have taken have loved the food and they have incorporated it in their lunch spots. Just go and eat at Happy Fish you will be happy you went.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mbrstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    86
    14
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mykonos Town, Greece
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely lunch”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We had a lovely lunch at this restaurant,the fish was perfect cook by chef Nobel.the service is perfect,great atmosphere,We can recommended this restaurant also for dinner
thank's to the whole staff we will be back next year
Yvonnie & Thomas Fritsch

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yvonnie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Absolutely delicious food!”
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is located in a strip mall plaza deep in West Tampa. If someone hadn't recommended it, I would never have had the pleasure of dining here. The sauce on the lomo saltado is so delicious--I've gone out of my way several times to order take out because I've craved it.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Exquisite authentic Peruvian food!!!”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I have been going to this small hole in the wall place for the last 6 years, it has always been one of the favorite restaurants in the city. Anything ranging from the best ceviche in town, to the lomo saltado, to any dish ive ever had there really its beyond amazing! Their portions are so big that you can have food for 2 days as well!!!! My mouth is watering thinking of their food now ahah They just changed ownership and they stepped it up even more now. Since their food was already impeccable now they are focusing on service. The new owner checks up on your table constantly and makes sure all your food is on point and that you are enjoying it. Tampa needs more business owners like him that are passionate about their business and truly care about hospitality. They could have easily just relied on the food alone but now its an A+ experience all around!!!
Dont be afraid to go in because of the plaze its in or because its small, the BEST restaurants ive ever been in my life all around the world are ALWAYS the hole in the wall ones. Enjoy and thank me later!!! :-)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Lan-Donia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tampa needs more places like this”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Happy Fish is easy to miss tucked in a corner of Fiesta Plaza, but do yourself a favor and head over there. I love little independent, stand-alone places like this one, especially ones that are doing something different. Kevin does a great job here of mixing flavors and being creative, and the portions will not leave you wanting. Check it out.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePuppies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Fish also viewed

 

Been to Happy Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing