We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wasn't sure what to expect...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jerk Hut Downtown Cafe

Jerk Hut Downtown Cafe
Ranked #516 of 2,356 Restaurants in Tampa
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wasn't sure what to expect...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

This interior of this place needs to be upgraded. It just seems like it doesn't fit in with all the other restaurants in the area. Pretty sure we saw a roach during our visit.

Our food was pretty good. But it just didn't seem too clean inside.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mill_mill8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    19
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
190 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We went for lunch last week. Lunch plate special of Jerk chicken was moist and tasty. Rice and beans were good but bland, cabbage was good. Pepsi and diet Pepsi were out. Sweet tea was just made so hot...needed lots of ice. Table was dirty. Dark inside. Won't go back...was good to try but wasn't for us.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2wego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
244 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Very casual, nice and spicy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We shared a very generous lunch portion of jerk chicken with two sides; the chicken (breast and wing) was perfectly seasoned and cooked. We chose Jamaican rice and steamed cabbage--both outstanding. In this small downtown restaurant customers stand in line to select their food, so you see before you choose. There are tables, a counter, and some outdoor seating; the ambiance is eat-and-go. One small red flag: on the menu at the head of the line, the lunch chicken special was advertised at $6.95 with a drink included. At the cash register, food and drink in hand, we were charged $7.95 for the food and $1.95 for the drink. We were told that the special was good only Monday-Friday, and this was Saturday. As we left we rechecked the posted menu and the menu on the door--there was no mention of Monday-Friday. We hope this was miscommunication among staff and not price-gouging since there were lots of young customers who were attending a conference in the nearby convention center.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaTravelers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food, great price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

I just ate here this past week. Their lunch special is pretty good: jerk chicken, choice of rice (white, yellow or red beans), a veggie side and a drink for $6.99. The jerk chicken was good, but not the best I've had. I had all white meat and it was a little dry and it could have been more spicy. It wasn't the "jerk" spice that I'm used to. It appears that they have dumbed it down for the "average" person that may have a problem with spicy food. Their prices are decent and the service is fast and friendly. This is strictly cafeteria style here. No sit down service and this place can get busy at peak lunch hours.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Boerboelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
56 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awesome Comfort Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

I dined there during lunch with some friends, Parking was right across the street. They were busy but the line moved fast.The location isnt much on ambience but the food more than makes up for it, the portions are extremely adequate and the seasonings are right on the mark. I had rice and beans with veggies and jerk pork.I would definitely go again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jerk Hut Downtown Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Jerk Hut Downtown Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing