We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful way to start an evening at the Straz.”

Maestro's Restaurant
Ranked #494 of 2,418 Restaurants in Tampa
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Conveniently located above the Jaeb Theater, Maestro's Restaurant features premier tableside service sure to enhance your theater experience. Maestro's chefs create a unique menu for each show. Reservations required. Maestro's is open at 5 p.m. prior to evening Broadway performances, as well as other selected shows.
Winter Haven, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“A wonderful way to start an evening at the Straz.”
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Went to the Cafe before seeing Wicked. This is a buffet style setting. The salad and cheese/cracker spread offered quite a few choices. There were four or five dinner entree choices. The chicken option was quite tasty. Plenty of great desserts and a solid wine list. The price was $27.50 plus drinks/tip/tax which I felt was worth it for a nice buffet. Service was attentive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert_B037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    15
    9
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Horrible Food”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

If you call a buffet with over cooked food good you must be on a camping trip, well it looked bad so we head to the restaurant talk about horrible food and WAY over-rated and priced. Unbelievable that you would have this excuse for food with a GREAT performance like Wicked. Someone needs to take notice this has gone on way too long.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BoatTramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent if trying to eat and catch a show”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We travel from Sarasota and it's always difficult to try to eat before a show at the Performing Arts Center. Maestro's is the solution! Great buffet and the food is very, very good. Plus there is no hassle trying to get out to see your show. They already know that and the restaurant is located at the theatre! What more could you ask for!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank SRQ-Travelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“always excellent”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

been here over 5 times
food always top shelf,especially dessert
drinks are good,better than fair amount of alcohol and coffee is excellent
you know the price and the menu before you go in
wait staff excellent,entree never served too soon
better if not called "appetizer"buffe as cheeses,fruit,vegetables,and superb soups all excellent
relaxing in that easy to park,less traffic,and right at theater
parking is $12,but cheaper places close

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank molllly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Avoid this cynical place!”
Reviewed May 28, 2011

Call me crazy, but when I spend $100 for dinner in Tampa, I expect more than convenience. Our dinner was a real disappointment, but it was the dessert course that capped it off...it was just plain terrible! Most diners left theirs; I wish I had not bothered.

Our food was industrial, probably prepared off-site somewhere. The dessert left a chemical aftertaste that left me with a headache and indigestion.

Sure, it's an easy to go downstairs to the theatre, but Maestro's needs to step up.

Never again for me...

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank happyeaterSarasota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maestro's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Maestro's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing