We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“meat roll on bread”
Review of TooJay's - CLOSED

TooJay's
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“meat roll on bread”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I'm not sure who had the idea that deli meat rolled up like a newspaper and put onto flat pieces of bread with nothing accompanying it was a good idea but I disagree. It was awful. Will not be back. Service was meh as well.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bart2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    17
    16
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Decent sandwiches, long wait!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We ate here a couple of times. It was always crowded and had a wait, which made us pass it by the last time as the wait was out the door. Nothing special about it except it is better food than the food court offers.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FatsNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Try A Different Place at the International Mall in Tampa”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We thought we would grab a quick sandwich since we were short on time and saw Toojay's Gourmet Deli. There was a short wait to be seated and we had a good look at the to-go deli case which had very unappealing salads and spreads. This should have been our clue to find another restaurant. It took a long time for the waitress to take our order and even longer to have the beverages delivered. We waited again for our food, about 45 minutes. People who came after us were eating but the waitress never came to our table to explain the delay. Finally, we got the waitress' attention and she said there was a mix up, my husband's burger went to the wrong table and hadn't the manager come by to explain? The manager did finally deliver our meal but never once said, I'm sorry about the mix up/delay. It was strange. They did take a percentage off the bill but we are convinced our poor waitress lobbied on our behalf. The food was not very good, the steak fries limp and partially cooked. I would never visit Toojays again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Singapore_Carla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Favorite deli”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Everything is good here. Only wish that they had pickles and slaw on tables like other delis. Great chopped lover and chicken soup and don't miss the banana nut dream cake.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Clean establishment. Friendly staff. I tried their Reuben and loaded latkes app. Nothing particularly negative just nothing particularly stood out either.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 3DStiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing