We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Jewish Deli in Tampa Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of TooJay's - CLOSED

TooJay's
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Tampa
Level Contributor
226 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Best Jewish Deli in Tampa Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

Huge corned beef sandwiches, Incredible motzoh ball soup, potato pancakes that are crispy and delicious. A bagel & lox platter that is awe inspiring. If you long for food from a Jewish Deli, you can't go wrong with Too Jays.

The service is sometimes slow. So slow, you wonder if they forgot about you. But, I've never had a complaint about the delicious food.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank TVDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    17
    16
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin Square, New York
Level Contributor
111 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Great location, not as busy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stopped in because all the other restaurants nearby had a waiting list. The food was good. Shared the pastrami and corned beef sandwich. Inside was quiet.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank zack728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Dessert at Great Prices!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

The food is great, especially the desserts - got to try The Killer, Black and White Cookies and Banana Cream Cake.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rishu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great New York Style Sandwiches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

Typical New York style Deli/restaurant with great sandwiches. The pastrami is like New York and the turkey is real turkey.
However the rye bread, as good as it is, is too small to hold the meat. It gives the illusion of an over stuffed sandwich.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gerald s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“:(”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

I love deli food and I really love sandwiches. Toojay's has a huge variety of sandwiches but they were 'out of' the first several I chose....leads me to think the sandwiches arrive at the restaurant prepackaged or are made days in advance. The one that was finally available was not tasty...dryish bread, dryish meat and cheese, minimal flavor. And the key lime pie....what! I LOVE KEY LIME PIE and this is the only place on Florida's west coast that I've had bad pie. The filling and whipped cream were both dry to the point of cracking, and it was totally bland. The waitress was pleasant and there were a lot of others standing around, but even though the restaurant wasn't busy at that time (late afternoon) the food took quite a while to arrive. Go to the Earl of Sandwich instead!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cushionz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing