We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Clean budget hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Tampa Brandon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tampa Brandon
Ranked #79 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Clean budget hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2009

Bio:
Platinum with Marriott, Holiday Inn. Diamond with Hilton. Gold with Starwood. Average 150 nights a year. Worst year: 332 nights.

This is a Fairfield Inn - which is the Marriott Company's Budget non-suite brand. The franchisee owns several other properties immediately adjacent to this one. Their properties are generally well maintained, and I have stayed at all of them. If you are expecting a JW Marriott or Ritz Carlton for $99/night, you're going to be disappointed. If you want a clean hotel for a fair price, you'll be content.

Upon arrival, my room's air conditioning unit did not operate. I called the front desk, and the young man immediately came up, fiddled with the controls and said "it doesn't work, but I brought a key for another one just in case." He then escorted me to the new room, ensured that the air worked, and then left.

The 'suite' room appears to be the slightly larger (4 ft deeper perhaps?) than the regular room. It is separated by a semi-wall in the middle with a sofa bed, desk, tv, and stereo on the bathroom side, and a bed, closet, TV armoire on the window side. The furnishings are somewhat dated, though functional. The bed is comfortable, as are the pillows. The hotel was pretty clean - which is impressive for a budget hotel that is not new. The bathroom is functional, but clean (even the shower curtain) with good water pressure. My only complaint is the bath towels closely resemble white 60 grit sandpaper. Even budget travelers deserve soft towels. The fitness center was sub-standard. It has a good treadmill, an awkward elliptical, and a recumbent bike whose seat makes a noise with every revolution. All equipment was by Precor. The free continental breakfast is what you would expect. I chose to walk across the parking lot to the Courtyard to order from the menu. I also usually walk to the Embassy Suites for dinner or a drink when I return late. There is a fire station adjacent to the hotel, and the occasional siren is audible. Wireless internet access is reasonable. The iron contained calcified stains on the steam outlets and the steam control lever was broken off. The ironing board had no padding, and I had a grid like pattern on my clothes (the pattern quickly dissipated). (TIP: always run the iron over a towel before your clothes and use the clean button if available to remove the mineral deposits on teh towels instead of your clothing!)

Air Filter factor: 7/10 (overall clean, maybe 3 weeks of dirt)
Internet Speed: 7/10 (download 3.45MBps, upload 1.86 MBps)
Location: 7/10 (convenient to my office, not close to beach, downtown, Busch Gardens, Ybor, etc. unless you are on a budget and can't find anything closer and cheaper)
Friendliness of Staff: 7/10 ("hello" "goodbye" "thank you")
Restaurant: 7/10 (familiar breakfast buffet)
Checkin/Checkout: 10/10 (tough to screw this up)
Parking: 8/10 (lot is shared with Courtyard. Property has 2 Platinum spaces near entrance)
Bedding: 7/10
Furnishings: 7/10 (functional, dated)
Fitness Ctr: 5/10

Good value. You get what you pay for. Keep that in mind, and you shouldn't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePlatinumOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    53
    35
    22
    5
See reviews for
51
32
17
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2009

We spent one night here and the bed was really comfortable, any hotel by marriott i've noticed always have great beds. The room was clean and the free breakfast was good. Unfortunately during check in i asked the girl if by any chance there might be a room available on a higher floor other than the first and she was severely unprofessional and had no customer service manners about it. She rudely said No, and i just left it at that. When she handed us the room key i said thank you and she didn't bother to respond. This was a major turn off, they state that there are safes available in the room, there was no safe in ours. Otherwise we had a good nights sleep. Oh ... and these hotel guests were either intoxicated while parking there cars or shouldn't have a license most were taking 2 or 3 parking spaces at a time, parking is very limited since Fairfield shares parking with Courtyard which is right next door, so we drove around for a while trying to find one and ended up parking our car behind the Courtyard building.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, GA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2007

My husband and I booked a night at the Fairfield based on the review posted on this site. We paid over $140 for the night for a room with a king bed. We were paying more than we normally would since this was for my birthday celebration and we wanted above average for our experience.

To say we were disappointed does not nearly cover it.

Of course, this is not going to be a bad review, mainly because the hotel is clean, well-staffed with friendly staffers, and has a nice continental breakfast buffet (yogurt, waffles, fruits, cereals, bagels, doughnuts, microwaveable breakfast meat/cheese biscuits) and 24-hour coffee availability.

Mainly, our largest disappointment was with the room itself. Though very clean (white polyester-filled bed cover with white sheets) it was VERY SMALL. The room with the bed in it was 12x12 and contained a large chair and ottoman, the king-sized bed, one bed table, a desk, and a long dresser with a television on top. The bathroom vanity was TINY...with the coffee maker perched on top, there wasn't room for but a few small items. I had to move the coffee maker to make room. Good thing we weren't staying for a week, there just wouldn't have been room. They did provide a hair dryer and an iron/ironing board which could come in handy. Also, I noticed a suitcase rack, except there isn't much room to stash one suitcase let alone two or three if you're planning a long stay. The bathroom proper was quite large but a lot of wasted space...a normal sized bathtub and a toilet and towel rack situated far enough away that we had to place our towels on the floor to have them near when we stepped out. We really felt boxed-in in this tiny room.

The room had NO refrigerator, NO microwave, and NO TV hutch; just a TV on top of the dresser. There was NO sitting area, and the place to hang clothes was extraordinarily small. As for toiletries, there was nothing really there except what you might find at hotels charging MUCH LESS. There was an outdoor swimming pool outside the back door in the parking lot...small but clean. This hotel is definitely clean and that could be considered a plus.

For comparison, for only $10 more we stayed at Brasstown Valley in the mountains of northern Georgia (where we were greeted with a bottle of sparking wine, chocolates and strawberries) in a gigantic two-room suite with a kitchenette, gas fireplace, gorgeous furnishings, king bed with a real down comforter, a really long bathroom vanity, a closed door closet...it was almost like being in an apartment it was so big...and their "continental" breakfast was a tremendous hot and cold buffet with gourmet coffee. Now, we were NOT expecting this at the Fairfield, but come on! We were expecting better than rooms we paid less than HALF what we paid for the room at the Fairfield.

To sum up, if you want to drop the dollars, definitely look for a hotel where they give you more for the money...this room should only have cost us $70 to $80 TOPS...we expected more and were sorely disappointed.

  • Liked — Very Clean, Good Food at Breakfast Buffet
  • Disliked — The Cost of the Room for what we Got (charge too much)
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami, florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2006

The Fairfield Inn in Brandon is such a wonderful place. It has just been completely remodeled. The furnishings are beautiful. Most importantly is that the room is impeccably clean. I am so picky when it comes to cleanliness and this room was spotless. Even the shower head was spotless, which is unheard of in hotels.
The room is a cofortable size. We are a family of four and had two double beds. My daughter wanted her own bed so the hotel provided a fold away bed AT NO EXTRA CHARGE.
Our television volume would not lower but we were so happy with the rest of the room and hotel that we didn't even bother complaining about it.
The lobby has a small but nice business center, AT NO EXTRA CHARGE. You can check your email and send/receive faxes. The pool is a bit small but it did the job.
The staff is so friendly, yet not intrusive. The maid service ladies were so friendly and helpfull. The breakfast is delicious, and it is FREE. The free breakfast has everything. They have great coffee, a large variety of teas. They have bagels, breads, waffles, boiled eggs, yogurt, cereal, and they even have a microwaveable Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwich. The staff keeps the breakfast area so absolutely clean. I was amazed at how clean this hotel is.
When we first booked this hotel I was afraid because the rates were so low but this is a little secret. It's located in a booming area with lots of restaurants and commerce.
The manager, Seth, was so helpful and friendly.
We will definitely stay at this hotel again and again.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pickytraveler075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tampa
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Tampa Brandon
Courtyard Tampa Brandon
#75 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Tampa Brandon
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Brandon Regency Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa/Brandon
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Tampa Brandon
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Tampa / Brandon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Tampa Brandon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Tampa Brandon

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Tampa Brandon
Address: 10150 Palm River Road, Tampa, FL 33619
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Tampa Brandon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tampa Brandon offers newly-renovated rooms and suites and an ideal location among hotels in Brandon, just minutes from Downtown Tampa, Busch Gardens, The Florida Aquarium, and Ybor City. Our new guest rooms feature plush mattresses, flat-screen TVs with premium cable and mini-fridges. We even have free WiFi throughout the hotel. Start your day at our complimentary breakfast buffet providing a delicious selection of fruits, cereals, and Belgian waffles. Maintain your active lifestyle at our 24-hour fitness center, or take a relaxing swim in the heated outdoor pool as you soak in the Florida sun. The Fairfield Inn & Suites Tampa Brandon offers a prime location, just off I-75, and renovated amenities that make it one of the best hotels in Brandon, FL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Tampa Brandon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tampa Brandon Hotel Tampa
Fairfield Inn And Suites Tampa Brandon
Fairfield Inn Tampa
Fairfield Tampa
Tampa Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing