We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, average rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District
Ranked #20 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
SF
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good location, average rooms”
Reviewed May 15, 2011

located directly in ybor historic district. quiet hotel with good breakfast and a nice pool and fitness area.
the rooms are large but unfortunately ours was not exactly the cleanliest of all.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    211
    88
    36
    20
See reviews for
116
213
48
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, NY
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2011

The hotel is a typical Hilton Garden Inn... if you've stayed in one, they're pretty consistent. Some of the rooms have windows that open, which has it's plusses and minuses. Stay on the even side and there is a lot of traffic noise.
The cleaning isn't as good as I've seen at other Hilton Garden Inn's... but it's not bad. They forget quite often to restock, but you just need to get supplies from the front desk.
There are a lot of restaurants and bars within walking distance, but ask the front desk. There are bad areas of the city and walking alone is not recommended at times. Ybor city used to be more popular, but the city has been hit by the ecomony and there are a lot of closed stores and restaurants.
The hotel is pricy and on top of that, they charge $9 a night for parking. Not sure its worth what you pay for a stay. We negotiated a rate because we had a group so that helped a little.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EyeSea1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

What a Truely wonderful stay at this Hilton.. They helped me with directions, places for dinner, even provided transportation when I was running late for an appointment. Breakfast in the morning better than any breakfast I could have made at home. Staff in dining area recommended the waffles and made sure they were at my table as soon as ready.. This hotel truely must have great management in place, as that is my profession, and I'm always aware of a well trained team. Keep up the good work Hilton Ybor, I'm directing all my clients and friends your way!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAYJAY4821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2010

Husband and I stayed at this hotel in October 2010 and were pleased overall with the hotel quality and location - attractive, clean, nice rooms and short walk to a lot of good restaurants in Ybor City. Our only complaint was with the new adjustable mattresses Hilton Garden Inns are using. When we decided to turn in for the night, I discovered that the mattress had deflated where I had been sitting to watch TV and read and didn't reinflate when I got up. On lying upon it, the dent became a trench and made for an uncomfortable night's sleep. By the time we left the next morning, two hours after we got up, the mattress had reinflated to the point where it looked fairly normal and I'm sure it looked okay to housekeeping. The manager was most apologetic and refunded the night's stay. I suspected at the time Hilton had been sold a bill of goods on those mattresses and a subsequent stay at another HGI confirmed my suspicion. Considering all the problems hotels have in keeping air conditioning, shower heads, drains, lamps, etc., in working order, it doesn't seem like a good idea to add yet another item that requires maintenance. Out of 7 HGIs we've stayed in with the adjustable mattresses, 2 have had "broken" mattresses and one had a mattress that "wheezed" on both sides but didn't deflate. It's probably a good idea to test the mattresses on checking in rather than waiting till late at night when you don't feel like packing up and moving, though that's an aggravation I don't need and am reconsidering the HGI brand altogether. The mattresses are okay (though not as great as advertised, we don't think) when they're working properly but miserable when they spring a leak. I have read several other complaints about the mattresses in the last couple of days.

Other than that, this was a very good hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripsforwalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for one night pre-cruise. It is very close to the cruise port and there is a free shuttle to take you there. Cost of taxi from airport to hotel was $25 and the ride was about 20 minutes, I think. I cannot say enough about this hotel. It was clean, quiet, and the hotel staff was helpful and friendly. The bed was extremely comfortable. I paid about $120 per night and booked directly with the hotel. While at this hotel, we walked to the Columbia Restaurant for lunch and I would highly recommend that experience. The front desk will also give you a menu to order from a pizza place that will deliver directly to your room. We did that too and it was good. This hotel is a gem!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2010

This is a very nice hotel. I will say that they could do something about their sound proofing. My son and I got in after midnight and their were people still milling around in the hallways. They were rather loud. and I was extremely tired. I didn't say anything to anyone but I know I should have. (After getting up in the morning I found out there was a group from New Orleans in to see the Tampa Bay / New Orleans game and unfortantly for me they were on our floor.) The beds were very nice and easy on the backs. The shower was nice but not a lot of water pressure. The hotel was very clean as was the room. The location for us was just right as we were going on a cruise the next day so we were very close to the port and they offered a free shuttle service to the port. However, please know that they do not have a shuttle service that runs from the airport to their hotel and the taxi services that run from the airport to the hotel cost my son and I $30.00. But again the price was a bit much for just a place to sleep for 8 hours. They do have a wonderful breakfast buffet that is NOT free. But it is very good. And the staff there is very nice. If you are taking a cruise and are going to be around the Tampa area for a couple of days I would suggest this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2010

Here for conference at Tampa Convention center- complementary shuttle and nearby trolley- helped with transportation. Great staff!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katlady050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Historic Ybor
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Tampa
#18 of 163 in Tampa
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District
Address: 1700 East 9th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605-3802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Historic Ybor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#22 Business Hotel in Tampa
#32 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District Hotel Tampa
Hilton Tampa
Tampa Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing