We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island
Ranked #59 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2006

We stayed here based on TripAdvisor reviews and the proximity to Raymond James Stadium and were not disappointed. I requested a water view with my reservation and when I checked in, I was upgraded to a water view suite. The suite was very nice, which included a sitting area with a sofa and chair. The hotel is convenient and although it is close to the airport, we never heard any planes. My only complaint is that the front desk clerk in the evening was more concerned with getting off than giving good information. I requested the shuttle Saturday night to go to the game Sunday and when we went down to catch it, he had overbooked it - only taking room numbers and not the actual number of guests. Overall, the good definitely outweighed the bad and the price was very good especially with USF and the Bucs having games that weekend (but try to book at least 2 weeks in advance; the rates went up significantly with a shorter time).

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank VAPeach8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 469 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2006

We stayed one night at this hotel before we sailed on our cruise and it was perfect for what we needed and we got a great rate. Free shuttle from the airport, nice room, very good complimentary breakfast with way more than I expected, great view, and extremely close to the airport. The only downer was the lack of a sidewalk across the big highway that separated us from Landry's Seafood House (which was very good). If you need a no-frills but nice-stay hotel, don't hesitate to stay at Holiday Inn Express Rocky Point.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WaterMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2006

This was a great place to stay. We spent 3 nights here in Aug & were very happy. I emailed the hotel a weke before our stay asking for water-view & we were reminded that we were in a water-view room when we checked in. The foyer is beautiful & the woman who checked us in was the best we've ever experienced. She immediately noticed we had 6 (including small children) in our party & immediately gave us more towels/washcloths. She also gave us info on the pool hours/towels w/out us having to ask. She was very friendly & helpful.

The room was typical for this price range - 2 full beds, table, chairs, etc. It was clean & substantial. They were beginning renovations (not that I think it really needed it) while we were there.

The pool is located behind the hotel, between the building & the bay! It's a nice view & relaxing. The grounds are kept nicely all around the hotel w/ lush vegetation ... it's nice to look at!

Continental breakfast was very nice & well-stocked. The woman taking care of the breakfast was very nice & accomodating, asking those who were still eating at closing time if there was anything else they wanted before she closed up.

I liked the location of this place. It's convenient to the airport but a little further to St Pete & Clearwater. But if you're going to visit a lot of places in the vicinity I think it's a good choice. I felt safe & liked our location. It felt very "Floridian".

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ivegottafly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2006

Stayed here in August 2006. Staff was friendly and very helpfull. Large room had 2 dbl beds, sleeper sofa, microwave oven, coffee maker(complimentary coffee), small fridge, free internet. Room was clean but a bit worn. Common areas show lots of wear stained carpets scuffed walls. Vending machines and coin operated washers on each floor. Nice view from pool area. Free continental breakfast was good. Toast, muffins, some dry cereal, coffee, juice, danishes. Some restaurants near by, close to a small public beach. Overall a good place to stay. Would be excellent if they replaced carpeting and painted the walls.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank papi1096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2006

Very nice hotel. We stayed there 1 night before taking a cruise. Not much to do around there though. Bahama Breeze was very nice. If you are taking a cruise I would recommend staying downtown near the cruise terminal.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CruiseTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2006

Excellent waterside location. Particularly nice bay/sunset views. Convenient access for TPA airport but not so close as to be troubled by aircraft noise. Good rooms, clean and comfortable. Fitness room and small waterside pool. Good buffet breakfast. Excellent breakfast area staff to clean and replenish. Does get very busy midweek with business/conference trade so book ahead. Rates lower at weekends. Holiday Inn website gives lowest rates and is easy to use.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank foresterdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2005

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank phatsnake04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0 mi away
Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Veteran's Expressway
16.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island

Address: 3025 N Rocky Point Dr, Tampa, FL 33607-5802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range: $144 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tampa-Rocky Point Island is located 2 miles from Tampa International Airport with complimentary shuttle service from 5 AM - 12 Midnight. Centrally located on the shores of Tampa Bay we are only minutes from Tampa International Airport, Raymond James Stadium, home of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Westshore Business District and other area attractions. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tampa-Rocky Point Island features 88 guest rooms with interior corridors. We also provide a complimentary deluxe breakfast bar, 24-hour lobby coffee bar, free Internet access in every room, and free local and 1-800 telephone calls. Our guest rooms all include: two-line speaker telephones with data ports and voice mail, generous desk space with ergonomic chair, 25 inch satellite TV with free HBO, ESPN, CNN, and the Weather Channel. For your dining pleasure, the Bahama Breeze is located right next door. Our hotel also offers complimentary parking as well as a 24-hour exercise room and heated waterfront outdoor pool. Meeting facilities are also available. We warmly welcome Priority Club guests with express check-in and express check-out. Whether your travel is business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tampa-Rocky Point Island will be your smart stay of choice. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island Hotel Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa
Tampa Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing