We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island
Ranked #61 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2009

Booked in here on the off chance, front of staff so helpful,stayed for 3 nights . Can't fault this hotel have to say would stay again ,all the staff friendly. Spot on

Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
1  Thank jpn213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 457 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2009

After booking our 10th anniversary at the Sailport Resort - which turned out to be a terrible experience --- we basically went "across the street" to the familiar Holiday Inn Express and got another room. You just can't go wrong with something familiar!!! Very nice, very clean, great view.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMPrevatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2009

Clean rooms, nice view of the bay, very accomodating front desk personnel and adequate breakfast provided. One half block from the Laser Spine Institute. Special rates for Laser Spine Institute patients (refrigerators provided). Shuttle service to and from the airport as well as to local restaurants available. We would stay there again. Good value for the price!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aloha2you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2009

An overnight stay close to the airport. Breakfast was great!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CNT475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2009

Our family of four stayed at the Holiday Inn Express - Rocky Point (3025 Rocky Point) in Tampa, Florida prior to our cruise. We stayed two nights. The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly.

The location is beautiful, the pool is gorgeous (especially when the highway is lit at night and the lights bounce on the water). Ask for a room on the pool side for best views. We overlooked a parking lot.

Breakfast was filling, free newspaper in the morning, PC in lobby for guest's to use to print Mapquest directions (etc.), great pillows on the beds, shampoo/conditioner/soap/shower cap provided. The breakfast room staff were efficient and reasonably friendly.

The room was clean, neat and tidy but seemed a bit small. The linens were plentiful and comfortable. The a/c unit worked well and was quiet.

We had a rental car so the location wasn't so bad - but there is no fast food nearby. The only restaurant within walking distance is across a major road, Crabby Bill's. The Rusty Pelican is also within a reasonable distance, by car. No convenience store nearby, either.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianefromderby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

We stayed after a week in an Orlando (top-notch) condo. The Suite was adequate, two queens with a half-wall divider and a pullout couch, mw and fridge. The room was clean, the towels were new. The rooms were stuffy, but there were no windows to open as we overlooked the water (and yes between us and the water was the freeway, so it is not a beach view. Very nice to look at though! The staff at check in was new, so they were not the polished front desk staff one normally encounters. The late night staff were very accomodating and kind. The hotel is '8 minutes' from the ariport. There is a shuttle that starts at 5am, we had a rental so did not use it. Book early, lots of guests use this! There is a nice selection of restaruants '8 minutes' away near the aiport in the International Mall (Cheesecake factory, California Pizza Kitchen, Bar Louies, Sushi, Starbucks and a few others I did not recognize). Outdoor dining, people watching. Pool at hotel is small, not as tiny as the place next door! Lots of parking. Clearwater Beach is not too far, but the traffic to get there is amazing! There is also a strip of sand to lay on across the causeway from the hotel. Save yourself a few hours of beach time and hang out there to get sun. Clearwater beach crowd was not really a family friendly group. Lots of college age, not college students, looking for action. If your destination is Clearwater beach, I would definately choose another hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelr1_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

Arrived very late into TPA airport (2:30am), called the hotel to have the shuttle pick us up and they were there within 10 minutes.

The hotel is a basic Holiday Inn Express ideally located a couple miles from the airport on a spit of land within the bay.

The breakfast was typical continental with the additions of sticky buns and waffles. The view over the pool area and water was a nice way to start our vacation.

Basic, neat and tidy rooms. Would recommend if you need a hotel close to the airport with a friendly accomodating staff.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
0.2 mi away
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
#113 of 163 in Tampa
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#45 of 163 in Tampa
719 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa Airport Avion Park Westshore
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island

Address: 3025 N Rocky Point Dr, Tampa, FL 33607-5802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range: $103 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tampa-Rocky Point Island is located 2 miles from Tampa International Airport with complimentary shuttle service from 5 AM - 12 Midnight. Centrally located on the shores of Tampa Bay we are only minutes from Tampa International Airport, Raymond James Stadium, home of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Westshore Business District and other area attractions. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tampa-Rocky Point Island features 88 guest rooms with interior corridors. We also provide a complimentary deluxe breakfast bar, 24-hour lobby coffee bar, free Internet access in every room, and free local and 1-800 telephone calls. Our guest rooms all include: two-line speaker telephones with data ports and voice mail, generous desk space with ergonomic chair, 25 inch satellite TV with free HBO, ESPN, CNN, and the Weather Channel. For your dining pleasure, the Bahama Breeze is located right next door. Our hotel also offers complimentary parking as well as a 24-hour exercise room and heated waterfront outdoor pool. Meeting facilities are also available. We warmly welcome Priority Club guests with express check-in and express check-out. Whether your travel is business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tampa-Rocky Point Island will be your smart stay of choice. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island Hotel Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa
Tampa Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing