We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6 Nites, Happy Gal--But Busch Gardens So Costly (Try Lowry Zoo)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island
Ranked #58 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2014

A local wedding guest--in need of R&R--I had a serene, restful stay. Enjoyed this wonderfully-located, efficient hotel, with a big pool (I enjoy this chain). On the water, with generous daily breakfasts and day-long coffee and teas. The Bahama Breeze bar & restaurant is steps away. Room was clean & quiet (4th floor). Front desk staff very helpful (although when I asked if I could cash a small check, the reply was "We don't DO that."). Housekeepers were nice, and young Marisa (Front Desk) was a doll--even before I arrived. There are 2 big malls nearby and the airport a hop away. Just across Highway 60 is the Rusty Pelican Restaurant--do NOT miss this place. Busch Gardens--on the other hand--was a FORTUNE ($17 to park, $95 admission!!!).. I simply screamed and did a U-Turn and went up the road a bit instead--and LOVED the Lowry Zoo (free parking, low prices, and a natural-habitat wonderland of animals--plus a Merry-go-round and café). Bring your umbrella EVERYWHERE---my shoes were drenched 2X by early-evening FL cloudbursts. Rented a Car from Enterprise--ask Jason for the $19.99/day Hol-Inn special. Tell him Linda sent you...

Room Tip: I like the view of the pool and waterway-view across the Highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words about your stay with us. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time here along with our pleasant staff and amenities. We hope you will visit us again soon next time you are in Tampa. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 460 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights on a recent trip to Florida's gulf coast. Reception on arrival was first class and room on 4th floor overlooking the bay was spacious and well maintained. Buffet breakfast was good with an excellent selection.

Great location for exploring Tampa and surrounding area. Had a lively couple of nights next door at Bahama Breeze.

Only criticism, there was no safe in the bedroom, but we used free facility at reception.

Would stay again.

Room Tip: 4th floor bayside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yorkshire_lad_MOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

We were so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience. We hope to see you again soon next time you are visiting the Tampa area. Thank you again for your feedback!

Junelle Samblanet, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I wanted to be close to airport and have a good free breakfast. I was happy with both. We used a lot to towels and the staff always provided more. We used the microwave and fridge in the room.
The afternoon receptionist was very nice. I checked out at 4:30am. And that girl did not greet me or thank me for staying 5 nights. I thought that was rude. Other than that it was a nice stay and good location to move around from.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trekcyclechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We apologize that you felt your business was not appreciated during your check out process. Please know we do appreciate you choosing to stay with us and we will address this issue with the appropriate departments. Once again Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again next time you are in Tampa.
Junelle Samblanet, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

If you like a nice view, I highly recommend this Holiday Inn Express if you are able to get a room on the water (not the parking lot) side of the hotel at a competitive price. Also double check to be sure your room has a nice view (a few are obstructed). The window is small, but you get a nice view of the bay with the highway crossing in the distance. The rooms meet HI Express standards as does the breakfast -- with a pancake making machine (though at times the bananas are terrible and the muffins etc are from a commercial supplier, not from a local bakery ). You are just a short distance from the airport. (If you want to save money on a rental car, have the hotel pick you up at the airport, then have the rental company pick you up at the hotel.) You are about a half hour from Clearwater beach... and much of the drive is over a causeway which is very beautiful.

Room Tip: You want a room on the bay side (not the parking lot side) if you want a nice view. Window is small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us your feedback. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and also enjoyed the beautiful view from out hotel. We hope to see you again next time you are in Tampa. Thank you again for your review.

Junelle Samblanet, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I often stay in the Tampa area and this time stayed at the holiday inn express rocky point what a fantastic location great views and so convenient for beaches, restaurants,shopping and airport without being in the middle of Tampa

The staff were so efficient and friendly and the hotel was spotlessly clean

We will certainly stay again rather than the higher priced branded hotels

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JHBtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you back next time you are in Tampa. Thank you again for your feedback!
Junelle Samblanet, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We chose this hotel because it was close to The Laser Spine Institute where my husband was slated for surgery. It is perfectly located with awesome restaurant options at our finger tips.
The hotel is in the process of renovation and our room happened to be on the 'to do' list.
Because of my husband's back issues, the beds in our room were insufficient. Not only did the staff honor our request to change out the mattresses, they actually built frames for them and did all of this with a smile. We are SO impressed and would recommend it as an option. The bay view is beautiful, the pool is clean and quiet, the staff is courteous, professional and efficient.

Room Tip: Bring a cooler..no mini fridges in the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darlene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Thank you for your review about our hotel. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. We are also glad to hear that the location was convenient for you and that our staff was able to accomidate your request. We welcome you back next time you are in Tampa and Thank you again for your feedback.

Junelle Samblanet, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

I know that this place is under renovation and it is a good thing. The property is showing its age and needs the work. We stayed on IHG rewards and the first room we were given was down the hall on the 1st floor where we had to navigate laundry carts and other service equipment. The room was dark and dingy and then we found used soap in the shower and the toilet would not flush (no water in the tank). Got moved to another room where everything worked but it was still outdated.

Stayed here because the location was close to TPA and also seemed interesting as it is on the water. View of the Hampton Inn sign and parking lot is all we got.

Two positives are: the Bahama Breeze Restaurant is right next door and the van driver was very friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share with us your feedback. We are disappointed that the first room you received was not up to your expectations. We apologize that this inconvenienced you and also that we were not able to supply you with a room with a view of the water. We are renovating the property and will be looking into the issues you have mentioned in your review. We hope you will visit us again once our renovations are complete. Thank you.

Junelle Samblanet, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa Airport Avion Park Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bay Harbor Hotel
Bay Harbor Hotel
#42 of 163 in Tampa
1,760 reviews
3.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island

Address: 3025 N Rocky Point Dr, Tampa, FL 33607-5802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range: $99 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tampa-Rocky Point Island is located 2 miles from Tampa International Airport with complimentary shuttle service from 5 AM - 12 Midnight. Centrally located on the shores of Tampa Bay we are only minutes from Tampa International Airport, Raymond James Stadium, home of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Westshore Business District and other area attractions. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tampa-Rocky Point Island features 88 guest rooms with interior corridors. We also provide a complimentary deluxe breakfast bar, 24-hour lobby coffee bar, free Internet access in every room, and free local and 1-800 telephone calls. Our guest rooms all include: two-line speaker telephones with data ports and voice mail, generous desk space with ergonomic chair, 25 inch satellite TV with free HBO, ESPN, CNN, and the Weather Channel. For your dining pleasure, the Bahama Breeze is located right next door. Our hotel also offers complimentary parking as well as a 24-hour exercise room and heated waterfront outdoor pool. Meeting facilities are also available. We warmly welcome Priority Club guests with express check-in and express check-out. Whether your travel is business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tampa-Rocky Point Island will be your smart stay of choice. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island Hotel Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa
Tampa Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing