We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could be a nice place but....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island
Ranked #59 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2014

My husband and I are IHG platinum members and usually have nothing but good things to say about most IHG hotels, however this was awful from the start. We had booked online for a 4 night stay. Due to weather issues we didn't arrive on time, I called the hotel and advised them that we would be in at 8:00 the next morning but wanted to keep our reservation as we would be staying in the airport the night before and would want to sleep when we arrived. I was told no problem.

When we arrived there was renovations going on everywhere. Parking was very limited,as the were blocked off for some reason, windows were covered with plastic and the pool was blocked off. When we went to check in, we were told VERY quickly that check in was 3:00 and there was no room for us. I explained that I had been charged for a room starting the day before, and had called so there should be a room. After checking again, we were given a room and on our way to it passed the fitness room which was also closed due to renovations.

We asked if we could transfer our stay to another holiday inn and said we would pay any additional cost so that we could have a pool/fitness room. I was told I could only do this if I wanted to pay for another hotel and that I could call the manger on Monday and see if he would refund me for the stay. We had paid in advance so would be out 565.00 if the manager didnt do this.

I was not going to take the chance of being out that kind of money so we stayed. I wish that I had just paid and left. We arrived on Sat am and checked out on Tuesday am, in this time, our sheets were not changed and we were not given towels or even toliet paper unless we went down to the desk to ask for it.

I can understand being busy and understaffed but to not have a room cleaned for 4 days is unacceptable. We even put the trash outside the door of our room when it was to full for the room.

Would never stay here or send anyone to this hotel.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank k h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

We are sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay. We apologize for the issues you encountered with your check-in. We are currently going through a complete renovation to improve our property and hope you will consider giving us a second chance if you return to the area. I would like to speak to you personally to resolve your experience. Please contact me directly at gm@rockypoint.com or 813-287-8585 at your convenience.
Junelle Samblanet, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 460 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2014

We started our 18 night holiday in The Holiday Inn Express Rocky Point and it was our best overall stay. The desk and breakfast staff were very helpful and friendly, the rooms large and clean, the breakfast varied and well stocked, the make your own pancake machine was great, the wi fi the best of all of our hotels and whiles talk room over looking the water would have been nice the room we had at the front was quiet. Location is good for the airport and for getting around the area.

Room Tip: Top floor at the front is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrispalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Thank you for your kind words. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we can’t wait to have you join us again soon.
Junelle Samblanet, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I normally really enjoy Holiday Inn Express hotels. Never had a bad experience since the brand reinvented itself as a high end, moderately priced chain. This location, however, is in dire need of help

Room Tip: Ask if their renovation is complete
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abesinVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Thank you for writing a review about our hotel property. I apologize for not meeting your expectations. Our hotel is being completely renovated. I do hope you will give us another opportunity in the future so we can exceed your expectations when you return. Thank you for staying with us.
Junelle Samblanet, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Located in a nice location. Pleasant helpful staff. Lovely clean large room. Really good breakfast with great variety. Would really recommend this hotel. Stayed for five nights and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Overlooking the bay would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roann21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you for your review and taking the time to compliment us on our accommodations, amenities and helpful staff. We are grateful for your patronage and hope we can host you again when you return to Tampa in the future.
Junelle Samblanet,GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We have used Rocky Point Holiday Inn for our pre-cruise hotel twice already and have found it to be an excellent spot for access to everything around Tampa, St. Pete and Clearwater. Staff was friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 11Traveler54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and accommodating staff. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Junelle Samblanet, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed here overnight on the front and back of our 7-day NCL cruise, and highly recommend this hotel for anyone doing the same. Took the shuttle from the airport, then to and from the cruise terminal; it was fast and prompt each time. The hot breakfast was very good; it had a good choice of items, and provides a good start to a long day of travelling. The rooms are showing their age, but they were well stocked, comfortable beds, and quiet. The kids enjoyed a quick swim in the pool, which was fairly cool, but considering we came from -30 that morning, was quite alright with them.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you for your review and taking the time to compliment us on our accommodations, amenities and helpful staff. We are grateful for your patronage and hope we can host you again when you return to Tampa in the future.
Junelle Samblanet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The hotel is located in a resort-like area with lots of cool restaurants for adults within walking distance. Bahama Breeze has a really nice atmosphere as well as Logan's Beach and Whiskey Joe's (which are all just a short walk away). Ben T. Davis Beach is a nice small private beach area that is awesome for the whole family (and also within walking distance of the hotel). Raymond James Stadium, Ybor City and The Florida Aquarium were short rides away. The staff members were very nice, friendly and attentive. Our room was spacious and well kept. The FREE but tasty full breakfast was a great money saving bonus!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ConDZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear ConDZ,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We always enjoy great feedback and hearing that our guests had a great stay. We sure hope to see you back with again very soon.

Thank you again...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0 mi away
Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa Airport Avion Park Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bay Harbor Hotel
Bay Harbor Hotel
#40 of 164 in Tampa
1,775 reviews
3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island

Address: 3025 N Rocky Point Dr, Tampa, FL 33607-5802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range: $103 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tampa-Rocky Point Island is located 2 miles from Tampa International Airport with complimentary shuttle service from 5 AM - 12 Midnight. Centrally located on the shores of Tampa Bay we are only minutes from Tampa International Airport, Raymond James Stadium, home of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Westshore Business District and other area attractions. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tampa-Rocky Point Island features 88 guest rooms with interior corridors. We also provide a complimentary deluxe breakfast bar, 24-hour lobby coffee bar, free Internet access in every room, and free local and 1-800 telephone calls. Our guest rooms all include: two-line speaker telephones with data ports and voice mail, generous desk space with ergonomic chair, 25 inch satellite TV with free HBO, ESPN, CNN, and the Weather Channel. For your dining pleasure, the Bahama Breeze is located right next door. Our hotel also offers complimentary parking as well as a 24-hour exercise room and heated waterfront outdoor pool. Meeting facilities are also available. We warmly welcome Priority Club guests with express check-in and express check-out. Whether your travel is business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tampa-Rocky Point Island will be your smart stay of choice. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island Hotel Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa
Tampa Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing