We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop over”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island
Ranked #62 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We have used Rocky Point Holiday Inn for our pre-cruise hotel twice already and have found it to be an excellent spot for access to everything around Tampa, St. Pete and Clearwater. Staff was friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 11Traveler54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and accommodating staff. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Junelle Samblanet, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 457 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed here overnight on the front and back of our 7-day NCL cruise, and highly recommend this hotel for anyone doing the same. Took the shuttle from the airport, then to and from the cruise terminal; it was fast and prompt each time. The hot breakfast was very good; it had a good choice of items, and provides a good start to a long day of travelling. The rooms are showing their age, but they were well stocked, comfortable beds, and quiet. The kids enjoyed a quick swim in the pool, which was fairly cool, but considering we came from -30 that morning, was quite alright with them.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you for your review and taking the time to compliment us on our accommodations, amenities and helpful staff. We are grateful for your patronage and hope we can host you again when you return to Tampa in the future.
Junelle Samblanet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The hotel is located in a resort-like area with lots of cool restaurants for adults within walking distance. Bahama Breeze has a really nice atmosphere as well as Logan's Beach and Whiskey Joe's (which are all just a short walk away). Ben T. Davis Beach is a nice small private beach area that is awesome for the whole family (and also within walking distance of the hotel). Raymond James Stadium, Ybor City and The Florida Aquarium were short rides away. The staff members were very nice, friendly and attentive. Our room was spacious and well kept. The FREE but tasty full breakfast was a great money saving bonus!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ConDZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear ConDZ,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We always enjoy great feedback and hearing that our guests had a great stay. We sure hope to see you back with again very soon.

Thank you again...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We arrived two days early for our cruise and first night was a little noisy due to a National Cheerleading convention in town. Shower pressure low but Hotel staff super nice and apologetic about our complaints and second night no noise and good shower. Good variety for the free breakfast. Older hotel but pool was lovely and right on one of the intercoastal. We had shuttle pick us up from airport to hotel as well as take us to and from cruise ship. On return we spent entire day at hotel as flight was in evening but they let us use pool and computer in lobby to print our boarding pass. Price was also very reasonable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GypsyKanata_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you so much for the reviews, we LOVE them! I am please you had such a great time at our hotel and appreciate all of your feedback. We will be doing some updating. We can’t wait until you do come back and see our new look!
Junelle Samblanet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We're in Tampa to stage for an NCL cruise. We were quickly picked up at the airport by the Hotel's free shuttle. On check in we made reservations for the shuttle to the cruise terminal ($10/person). Hotel shows its age, but has the normal HIE amenities. Nice dinner next door at Bahama Breeze followed by drinks on the deck overlooking the water with live music. Nothing extraordinary but better than we expected. A pleasant stay to start our vacation. I was able to take a nice run around the bay and out the causeway.

Room Tip: Chose a suite to give the four of us a little extra room.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rowlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you for your kind words. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We will be updating our look in the near future and we can’t wait to have you join us again soon.
Junelle Samblanet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Friendly staff, clean rooms and beautiful view of the Bay.The hotel is right next door to a Bahama Breeze restaurant. The morning breakfast service has many hot items. Free wifi throughout, although the password tells you are aren't connected, then suddenly you are, so be patient. The bath supplies are Bath and Bodyworks, which was a very pleasant surprise. Close to the airport and about 15 minutes from the cruise terminal.

The ice machine and the vending machines need attention, so you might want to consider bringing your own snacks. There is a beautiful kidney shaped outdoor pool that faces the bay. I will definitely stay here again on a return trip to Tampa.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the water. The view is so pretty.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoEllen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. We are immensely proud of our team members and their ‘personalized service’. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you’ll visit us again soon.
Junelle Samblanet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We have stayed at many Holiday Inn Express hotels all over the country, and this one is in need of an update. The staff was very friendly, and even said we could leave our car parked for free whole we were on a cruise. When we first got on the elevator I noticed that the carpet was very dirty, not a huge deal but it makes you wonder why no one has taken the time to either clean it or replace it. There was mold in the tile in the bathroom and hair in the tub. We were only staying one night so we didn't complain, we were after all leaving on a cruise the next day. They do offer a shuttle to the cruise terminal for $20pp rt but the times offered were either 11 or 11:30. It isn't close to the port so we parked off-site near the port so we could be closer to I-4 and head home.
My only other issues - there were 2 towels in a double room, and at 8:30 am we had a knock on our door asing us what time we would be checking out. It wasn't awful but it wasn't great either.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the water or you look at the parking lot.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SwendyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear SwendyL,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments about your stay with us. I'm disappointed to read the comments regarding the cleanliness of your room and the lack of just the basics the way I see it. You comments about the updating is very true. I happy to let you know that we do have plans to begin our renovation after the first of the year. This will address the issues that you mentioned. I hope that you return and stay with us again once the renovations are complete so you can see all that we have done...

Thank you for recognizing the team. I'll share your comments with them as well.

Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
0.2 mi away
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
#112 of 163 in Tampa
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#45 of 163 in Tampa
720 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa Airport Avion Park Westshore
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island

Address: 3025 N Rocky Point Dr, Tampa, FL 33607-5802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range: $111 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tampa-Rocky Point Island is located 2 miles from Tampa International Airport with complimentary shuttle service from 5 AM - 12 Midnight. Centrally located on the shores of Tampa Bay we are only minutes from Tampa International Airport, Raymond James Stadium, home of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Westshore Business District and other area attractions. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tampa-Rocky Point Island features 88 guest rooms with interior corridors. We also provide a complimentary deluxe breakfast bar, 24-hour lobby coffee bar, free Internet access in every room, and free local and 1-800 telephone calls. Our guest rooms all include: two-line speaker telephones with data ports and voice mail, generous desk space with ergonomic chair, 25 inch satellite TV with free HBO, ESPN, CNN, and the Weather Channel. For your dining pleasure, the Bahama Breeze is located right next door. Our hotel also offers complimentary parking as well as a 24-hour exercise room and heated waterfront outdoor pool. Meeting facilities are also available. We warmly welcome Priority Club guests with express check-in and express check-out. Whether your travel is business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tampa-Rocky Point Island will be your smart stay of choice. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island Hotel Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa
Tampa Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing