We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island
Ranked #61 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location and friendly service”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Friendly staff, clean rooms and beautiful view of the Bay.The hotel is right next door to a Bahama Breeze restaurant. The morning breakfast service has many hot items. Free wifi throughout, although the password tells you are aren't connected, then suddenly you are, so be patient. The bath supplies are Bath and Bodyworks, which was a very pleasant surprise. Close to the airport and about 15 minutes from the cruise terminal.

The ice machine and the vending machines need attention, so you might want to consider bringing your own snacks. There is a beautiful kidney shaped outdoor pool that faces the bay. I will definitely stay here again on a return trip to Tampa.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the water. The view is so pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoEllen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are immensely proud of our team members and their ‘personalized service’. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you’ll visit us again soon.
Junelle Samblanet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    191
    77
    25
    25
See reviews for
151
139
28
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We have stayed at many Holiday Inn Express hotels all over the country, and this one is in need of an update. The staff was very friendly, and even said we could leave our car parked for free whole we were on a cruise. When we first got on the elevator I noticed that the carpet was very dirty, not a huge deal but it makes you wonder why no one has taken the time to either clean it or replace it. There was mold in the tile in the bathroom and hair in the tub. We were only staying one night so we didn't complain, we were after all leaving on a cruise the next day. They do offer a shuttle to the cruise terminal for $20pp rt but the times offered were either 11 or 11:30. It isn't close to the port so we parked off-site near the port so we could be closer to I-4 and head home.
My only other issues - there were 2 towels in a double room, and at 8:30 am we had a knock on our door asing us what time we would be checking out. It wasn't awful but it wasn't great either.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the water or you look at the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SwendyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear SwendyL,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments about your stay with us. I'm disappointed to read the comments regarding the cleanliness of your room and the lack of just the basics the way I see it. You comments about the updating is very true. I happy to let you know that we do have plans to begin our renovation after the first of the year. This will address the issues that you mentioned. I hope that you return and stay with us again once the renovations are complete so you can see all that we have done...

Thank you for recognizing the team. I'll share your comments with them as well.

Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This hotel has a great location easy access to shopping, airport, restaurants, and the beaches of Clearwater. The breakfast was good for our needs and was nice to look over the bay while eating. Now for the service, we came late in the evening due to poor service and cleanliness at another hotel with a false rating in my opinion....I believe the manager on was Scott he treated us very well and even got us a bay room with ease...we were well received and truly enjoyed our stay...the next time in Tampa we likely would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ReginaRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Hello ReginaRick,

Thanks so much for sharing your comments with us. It's always a pleasure to receive such great feedback! Definitely let us know when you plan to return to Tampa...it would our pleasure to Welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millburn, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Agree with recent reviews, the hotel was convenient to the airport, breakfast was better then most. There was no problem with convenient parking. The room was clean, the staff was friendly, the soap/shampoo/conditioner, and quality of towels were thankfully, a step up from other Holiday Inns.
The negatives were the ice machine was broken on the 3rd floor and the elevator did not have the best appearance, although both were not significant, and I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank theNJTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Greeting to theNJTravler,

Thank you for your review. Very glad to hear that your stay went well. Always enjoy reading the feedback. We'll hope to see you back again soon.

Thank you again and Happy Thanksgiving!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Very nice central location for us. The typical Holiday Inn breakfast, the refill, and refreshing the food was plenty. Yes, coffee 24 hrs. I didn't use the free Wi-Fi, but there is also a computer & printer in the lobby. We got a suite, plenty large enough for 3. Housekeeping came in the early morning for us, and did a wonderful job, "towels". The pool is small, and very clean, heated, also refreshing after a very long day of travel! Parking is free, I having a Handi-cap plaqued, found there aren't many spaces, so my Son-in-law would dropped me off at the door and it was fine. Front desk, was pleasant, I would stay again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgary56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear mgary56,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments. Always a pleasure to receive great feedback like this. The team and I will be looking forward to welcoming you back with us again soon...

Warm regards...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

This was the only hotel in the area that offered a decent park and fly rate.

Very friendly staff,, decent room with a view of the bay, furnishings were dated but everything was clean, comfortable and worked.

Free breakfast was better than most.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank GWMtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Overlaid,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. I agree you. Our breakfast attendants are great and our breakfast is better than most. We hear that quite a bit.

We hope to see you back with us again soon.

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Whenever in a new area I always go to the holiday inn expresses because they are always consistently clean and with good service. This place was lacking big time. Front desk was rude and delayed letting us check in until 4pm when check in time is 3pm. Said room wasn't ready. If you go here just look at the elevator carpet to see the nastiness. The beds were terribly uncomfortable and the AC unit was really noisy. The view was awesome and the outside grounds were nice but the inside was big disappointment. Will choose another hotel in the immediate area before coming here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerknos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
I'm very sorry we did not exceed your expectations. We are getting ready to undergo a complete renovation in the next few months, which should remedy the items you mentioned. I hope you will stay with us in the future and see all of the hard work we are putting into this property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
0.2 mi away
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
#111 of 163 in Tampa
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#41 of 163 in Tampa
715 reviews
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
2.0 mi away
Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island

Property: Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island
Address: 3025 N Rocky Point Dr, Tampa, FL 33607-5802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tampa-Rocky Point Island is located 2 miles from Tampa International Airport with complimentary shuttle service from 5 AM - 12 Midnight. Centrally located on the shores of Tampa Bay we are only minutes from Tampa International Airport, Raymond James Stadium, home of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Westshore Business District and other area attractions. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tampa-Rocky Point Island features 88 guest rooms with interior corridors. We also provide a complimentary deluxe breakfast bar, 24-hour lobby coffee bar, free Internet access in every room, and free local and 1-800 telephone calls. Our guest rooms all include: two-line speaker telephones with data ports and voice mail, generous desk space with ergonomic chair, 25 inch satellite TV with free HBO, ESPN, CNN, and the Weather Channel. For your dining pleasure, the Bahama Breeze is located right next door. Our hotel also offers complimentary parking as well as a 24-hour exercise room and heated waterfront outdoor pool. Meeting facilities are also available. We warmly welcome Priority Club guests with express check-in and express check-out. Whether your travel is business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tampa-Rocky Point Island will be your smart stay of choice. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island Hotel Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa
Tampa Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing