We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal first night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island
Ranked #65 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ideal first night stay”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here the first night after flying into Tampa. It was close enough to the airport for a first night (about 10 mins drive), but far enough away from the airport noise. There are lots of parking spaces, staff were helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean and had coffee making facilities. Breakfast was adequate and re-stocked constantly. Overall, an ideal place to stay near Tampa airport.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missy301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    189
    77
    25
    25
See reviews for
150
137
27
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed here after arriving at Tampa International after a flight from the UK. The Hotel is very convenient for the airport and the complementary mini bus picked us up within 10 minutes of my telephone request. The young lady on the reception was welcoming and helpful though technically she did not acknowledge my Platinum Priority Club membership. The reception area was OK but as others have mentioned the rooms and hallways are in need of renovation. We had planned to eat at the Bahama Breeze next door but had not realised that it was Mothers Day in the US and the place was heaving. We asked reception for an alternative and a Pizza delivery business was recommended (we had not picked up are car at this point). We were also directed to a small convenience store just down the road from the hotel where we picked up a bottle of wine and some beer. The Pizza was delivered to our room with 20 minutes of ordering and it was one of the best Pizza's I have ever tasted though I would not recommend the garlic bread as I think most Europeans would consider it lacking in garlic.Next morning the breakfast was of very good quality with the elderly lady who looked after the breakfast room very attentive in ensuring the buffet was well stocked. Overall I would say that the hotel is in an excellent position in relation to the airport and the staff are very good however due to the generally poor state of the decor I personally would not stay longer than one night. If however I flow into Tampa again I would have no hesitation in staying here for one night due to its convenience and excellent staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a waterside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Empcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Empcom,

Thank you for being a Platinum member and thank you for your detailed review. We appreciate your compliments regarding our staff and location.

However, please accept our sincerest apologies if the hotel's overall aesthetics fell below your standards. We will certainly keep your comments in mind when making future renovations to our property.

As a Platinum member, your patronage to our hotel is very important and we all hope that you will give us the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauconda, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Nice location by the water, friendly staff, nice breakfast. Shuttle bus was prompt and very friendly drivers. I agree with others that aesthetically it could use some help - but the room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and it was quiet. It was easy to walk next door to Bahama Breeze for dinner

Room Tip: Room 111 was at the end - so very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I am a Platinum member of Holiday Inn and I have written only 2 other reviews. I used points to pay for 2 nights (after making the reservation one hour before check-in) not expecting anything other than another hotel stay; I was wrong! Charles works the desk at night. He is genuinely friendly, greeted me, acknowledged my membership and gave me my room. I made a room change because I wanted a fridge and microwave. What prompted me to write this is that the inside of both were spotless so my radar went up looking for a reason not to write this and I couldn't find one. The free breakfast was fresh, the maids are nice and my room was very clean and neat. The great thing is that this hotel has huge halls and all that carpet absorbs the noise so it's super quite. It has a great view of Tampa Bay too...enjoy and tell Charles hello!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a 'fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Staff: was excellent and very helpful. They answered all the questions I had about the area and the shuttle service.

View of water: Excellent.

Value: For the price this place is not bad.

Renovations Recommendation: Please start with changing the carpet. That will make a HUGE difference. The carpet looked dirty. The place itself was fine but it just had this dingy look. The bathroom will be next. Even though the whole bathroom was ok, part of the shower tub looked very worn and not very welcoming.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I can't say enough great things about our stay. I do agree with the other guests who have mentioned that aesthetically the property could use some updates. BUT, the dated furnishings in no way influenced or diminished the quality of our overall stay. My family & I have stayed in hotels across the United States. I can say without ANY reservation that the level of customer service we received from the manager, Scott Waggoner and the front desk agent, Desiree Vasquez met and exceeded the level of customer service I have received at some 5 star hotels. The entire staff was extremely helpful with EVERYTHING pertaining to our stay. But, Desiree went over and beyond the call of duty to help us navigate through Tampa and find reasonable restaurants, inexpensive local attractions, and most importantly Walmart! The hotel is inexpensive. The complimentary breakfast each morning includes such a large assortment of foods any guest should find something to accommodate their diet. The hotel is conveniently located to everything. The ONLY negative thing I can say about the hotel is that there isn't a fridge or microwave in the room. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Tampa. I will certainly book this hotel whenever I'm in the area.

Room Tip: I enjoyed having a room overlooking the water. It was beautiful to fall asleep and wake up to that v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nytosha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Hotel was a little dated but room was clean and booked hotel for one night because I had an early flight in the morning and was able to leave my car there for a week and take the hotel shuttle to and from the airport. Breakfast was fine and would book again to use the fly park and stay rates that the hotel offers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank GerryP55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
0.2 mi away
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
#111 of 163 in Tampa
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#40 of 163 in Tampa
704 reviews
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
0.5 mi away
Bay Harbor Hotel
Bay Harbor Hotel
#75 of 163 in Tampa
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island

Property: Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island
Address: 3025 N Rocky Point Dr, Tampa, FL 33607-5802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tampa-Rocky Point Island is located 2 miles from Tampa International Airport with complimentary shuttle service from 5 AM - 12 Midnight. Centrally located on the shores of Tampa Bay we are only minutes from Tampa International Airport, Raymond James Stadium, home of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Westshore Business District and other area attractions. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tampa-Rocky Point Island features 88 guest rooms with interior corridors. We also provide a complimentary deluxe breakfast bar, 24-hour lobby coffee bar, free Internet access in every room, and free local and 1-800 telephone calls. Our guest rooms all include: two-line speaker telephones with data ports and voice mail, generous desk space with ergonomic chair, 25 inch satellite TV with free HBO, ESPN, CNN, and the Weather Channel. For your dining pleasure, the Bahama Breeze is located right next door. Our hotel also offers complimentary parking as well as a 24-hour exercise room and heated waterfront outdoor pool. Meeting facilities are also available. We warmly welcome Priority Club guests with express check-in and express check-out. Whether your travel is business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tampa-Rocky Point Island will be your smart stay of choice. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island Hotel Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa
Tampa Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing