We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Just what we needed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island
Ranked #66 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Saint Thomas, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just what we needed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We were attending a music festival at the bar/beach across the street and the Holiday Inn Express was perfect for us. Our flight arrived at noon and we immediately went to the hotel to check in knowing we were earlier than the 3pm check in. The desk staff informed us that since we were early there were no rooms made up but he would call when one became available. About 90 minutes later the call came as promised and we were able to check in early.

The room itself was just what you would expect from the HI Express - very clean and comfortable.Unfortunately we had a view of the parking lot but the other side of the hotel has a great view of the bay. The complimentary breakfast was exceptional - plenty of selection of both hot and cold items. And with a location close to the airport they even offer bagged breakfast to go for those with an early morning flight.

I would also like to compliment the hotel shuttle driver. Even though our music festival offered shuttle service to and from the beach the hotel shuttle driver offered to take me to the concert one time when he was between runs.

We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracker18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    173
    74
    25
    22
See reviews for
138
121
27
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We first arrived at the hotel 2 days before our cruise, we arrived early and the manager did his best to accomodate us before our arrival time, he allowed us to sit in the dinning area, with our luggage, and we were allowed to help ourselves to the coffee and tea that was there. This hotel allows people to smoke in certain rooms, the only problem is that they are not all segregated to one floor, I mentioned to the manager that I woke on the Sunday, day we were leaving for our cruise and the cigarette smoke in our room was terrible, he took note of this for our next visit (8 days later).
When we arrived the following week, he accomodated us again before our checkin, and ensured that I had a room that did not have a smoking room near me. Overall, I find that this hotel accomodated me very well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy182166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hartford, Ct
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights during our recent trip to Florida. We had made our reservations six months in advance, requesting a water view room if at all possible. One would think that making reservations that far in advance, that would be possible. We arrived to the hotel early evening after a long day of travel and when we got to our room, found we were overlooking the parking lot, which was very disappointing. We did not pursue the issue as we would only be there a short time. I wish now we had asked for a different room, as the room we were assigned was right next to the noisy elevator and ice machine. If we stay here again, we will pursue a better room.

The continental breakfast was very nice, with a very pleasant woman working to keep everything full, hot and fresh. The pool area was very nice, clean, however the weather was not conducive to bathing suits and pools.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the water, and away from the elevator and ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Very nice Staff and also very helpful. The rooms are comfortable but plumbing needs to be sorted out as there is a bad smell from the bathrooms, this was the only downside to this Inn.
Otherwise the breakfast was substantial and very well organised. Would stay again as it is so easy with the shuttle to and from the Airport. Good Value. Bahama Breeze two minutes walk serves food and drinks and good Staff.
There is not a lot to do on Rocky Point but if you just want to rest for the night and have a meal and glass of wine, well, this is perfect.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valbaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burien, Washington
Level Contributor
156 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I was a little nervous after reading reviews, but pretty pleased overall. It is fairly close to the airport and the cruise ship terminal. The hotel has a pretty view and our room was clean and quiet. The breakfast the next morning was actually quite good for a free hotel breakfast. The cinnamon rolls were really good. They were completely booked due to all the cruises coming in and out, but we did get to check in an hour early which really helped after flying all night from Seattle. I would definately recommend this hotel for a quick stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank supersnookers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear supersnookers,

We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed at HI rocky pointe, pre cruise before departing on saturday for the islands. Arrived early on a Thursday from our flight, the shuttles worked beautifully to hotel. Upon checking in, I knew it was wayyyy too early and the possibility of not being able to check in, but hey it didnt hurt to try. So I did. It was about 10:30 in morning the young girl at desk at first said nothing was available. We were still standing there for some reason a hotel manager said to hold up a minute and next thing you knew there was an opening for the room type requested. On top of that he reviewed the pricing I was quoted and noticed I was overcharged for the cruise package and he adjusted it to come out to about $60.00 savings. SWEET. For some reason the charge was not working so we paid cash upfront for the total and did not have to leave any incidental deposit per the manager at the time. Complimentary breakfast every day was great, the weather was beautiful. Even if it wasnt, everyone at this hotel, especially the manager was exceptional!! After reading some previous reviews prior to travel, I was worried, but I would now recommend this hotel to everyone and definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for an upper floor room/bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huercal-Overa, Spain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We were very happy with this hotel, after arriving from a long flight, we realised we were very early for the room to be available, but the receptionist was very helpful and managed to arrange one straight away so we could have a bath & chill out. The receptionist suggested that the bar/ restaurant next door ( Bahama Breeze ) was good & she was right. Didn't seem to be much else around the hotel, but as we were only staying for one night it was not a problem for us. Breakfast was complimentary, bit basic, but sufficient and fresh.
Would certainly recommend this hotel for airport nearness, friendliness and comfort.

Room Tip: Bahama Breeze restaurant next door, was convenient friendly and had a nice mix of ages in there with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Contented299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
0.5 mi away
Bay Harbor Hotel
Bay Harbor Hotel
#63 of 163 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 stars 1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
#111 of 163 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 stars 641 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#31 of 163 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 stars 621 reviews
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island

Property: Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island
Address: 3025 N Rocky Point Dr, Tampa, FL 33607-5802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tampa-Rocky Point Island is located 2 miles from Tampa International Airport with complimentary shuttle service from 5 AM - 12 Midnight. Centrally located on the shores of Tampa Bay we are only minutes from Tampa International Airport, Raymond James Stadium, home of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Westshore Business District and other area attractions. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tampa-Rocky Point Island features 88 guest rooms with interior corridors. We also provide a complimentary deluxe breakfast bar, 24-hour lobby coffee bar, free Internet access in every room, and free local and 1-800 telephone calls. Our guest rooms all include: two-line speaker telephones with data ports and voice mail, generous desk space with ergonomic chair, 25 inch satellite TV with free HBO, ESPN, CNN, and the Weather Channel. For your dining pleasure, the Bahama Breeze is located right next door. Our hotel also offers complimentary parking as well as a 24-hour exercise room and heated waterfront outdoor pool. Meeting facilities are also available. We warmly welcome Priority Club guests with express check-in and express check-out. Whether your travel is business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tampa-Rocky Point Island will be your smart stay of choice. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island Hotel Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa
Tampa Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing